volkswagen touareg Problems

volkswagen touareg 2005 Complaints

SEATS:FRONT ASSEMBLY:SEAT HEATER/COOLER

just bought my 2005 vw jetta gls tdi diesel (turbo) model car from local dealership in columbus, ga. my wife and i drove off the lot (literally) and she immediately turned on her new driver's side heated seat (black leather seat) to test it (lucky she did). the seat would not work at first, then it got hot, and hotter, and started burning her. she cut off the heat switch for the seat, and the seat remained hot. the switch started getting too hot to touch and smelled of smoke, so we turned around and brought the car back that same day/minute. the dealer said it was just the switch. they replaced the switch and when i picked it up,but it then it took about 5 minutes to get warm, but the switch wasn't smoking or extremely hot as before. the next day, the heated seat on the driver's side stopped working all together. our third day of ownership, we had to schedule a service for the following monday and do without the heated seat all together. the vw service advisor advised me he might have to replace the heating element in the seat itself although he commented "he knew nothing of such problems as this"-?. anyway, here we sit with a loaner awaiting the verdict, and it appears we might be inheriting a problem from way back. my issue is that the switch got extremely hot, and the seat was hot enough to cause a burn or a car fire. yes, i know..keep the switch off -but, we had it off and the seat still kept getting hotter (during the first incident). i'm afraid these things are going to go bad and someone will have a little diesel car burning up around them with a faulty seatbelt trapping them in a fire! help, and please get engineering on this one ( re: # pe 03052)*jb

Reported in: BOX SPRINGS GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3VWSR69M95M

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:PADS

the brakes in my 2005 jetta gli make a very loud noise when i back up. it was a recall and they told me the first day that they had taken care of it, and that if i keep on hearing the noise take it back. well the noise its pretty bad, so i took the car back and they said they couldnt do anything about it, but i don't think they even looked at the car, because when i picked it up it was exactly how i left it and usually they wash you car or put plastic when they see it.

Reported in: BRISTOW VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3VWSE69M65M

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK

while driving home from church i saw a beautiful shiny prius and i was not able to stop in time with my vw jetta. the brakes would not hold. *jb

Reported in: MASSAPEQUA NY || Crash: N || VIN #:

EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HEADLIGHTS

volkswagen toureg,2005, headlights go off for no apparent reason. they stay off for several seconds and come back on. on other occasions, only one headlight has gone off and come back on several seconds later. this happens intermittently. *jb

Reported in: HINGHAM MA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGMM77L95D

TIRES:TREAD/BELT

dissatisfaction with the wear of oem tires. only 6/10 of tread after 6,000 miles. *nm

Reported in: HERRIMAN UT || Crash: N || VIN #:

TIRES

oem grandtrek tires are a disgrace. 1 side-wall tear, 1 internal shredding, and 3 blow outs within 15,000. replaced soon thereafter. *jb

Reported in: OLIVEBRIDGE NY || Crash: N || VIN #:

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:PADS

i own a 2005 vw touareg and the brakes squeal at slow speeds. the dealership says this is normal for brakes to squeal on a heavy suv. the car is practically brand new, and even though the dealership changed the brake pads due to a tsb from vw, the brakes still squeal. it appears vw knows its a design defect because they've announced that "larger brakes" will be added to the new 2007 touareg's in the future. *nm

Reported in: RESTON VA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGZG77L05D

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS:LATCH

inside door handles "stick" open, and when you close the car door they pop back open since they can't catch the lock. i have had the door lock handles malfunction on two different cars of the same make and model. on one occasion while closing the door more gently, it wasn't noticed that the door didn't actually catch. when i went to drive away, then stop... the door flew open narrowly missing a pedestrian. the door flew open so quickly i actually checked the car for frame damage since i was sure the door would be bent. it was actually ok. when reported to my dealer the door lock was fixed under warranty, but not cited as a known hazard or recall. *jb

Reported in: WESTON FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

TIRES

6700 miles and my front tires are already bare!! *jb

Reported in: WESTON FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

SEAT BELTS:REAR

we purchased a vw touareg 2005, in may 2005, the rear center seat belt is jammed and can not lift up rear seat without cutting the seat belt. vw service has had to cut the seat belt to be able to put the seat back up. this has occurred three times 3/1/06, 4/10/06 & 6/9/06. this occurs every time we put our seats down to load the back with stuff, and then try to put the seat back up into sitting position. *nm updated *jb

Reported in: HAYWARD CA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGCM77L65D

AIR BAGS

my 2005 touareg has been in for service on 5 out of the 8 air bags in the car. the driver side airbag had to be replaced because if was defective, than after it was replaced it came disconnected. the 2 front windshield airbag covers had to be placed. the 2 back covers had to be replaced. seat belt cover had to be replaced and another has locked up and can not be moved. *nm

Reported in: VIRGINIA BEACH VA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGMM77L75D

TIRES:TREAD/BELT

the tires on my 2005 toureg have excessive wear due to the weight of the vehicle and the pirelli tire used. this was fixed on the 2006 touregs however the 2004 and 2005 have the wrong tires spec and the tires could blow out prematurely causing a person to lose control and roll their vehicle. i have contacted vw and pirelli with no success in getting my tires replaced under any type of warranty claim because they are original equipment tires. i only have approx 20,000 miles on these tires. i was also instructed today that i could pay for the entire replacement of all four tires and then i would receive a warranty on them. *nm

Reported in: WEST BEND WI || Crash: N || VIN #:

STEERING

my 05 vw touareg v8 has had a failed air bag sensor, sunroof insulation, steering wheel shake at varied speeds, and a serious alignment issue since the first day of ownership. after 6 different trips back to the dealership, they can't seem to fix the shaking and the alignment problem. there are many forums and blogs on the net regarding a genuine defect in design of this vehicle which doesn't allow it to drive straight. all of the loaner touaregs model years 06/07 have had similar alignment problems, so i don't think it is just my vehicle it is a great number of these vehicles with the same problems. vw needs to step up to the plate and take care of their customers. this is not a cheap vehicle and the support is worst then any company i've ever dealt with. the customer service representatives answer to my problem is "i recommend you keep taking the vehicle back to any dealership of your choice until the issue is resolved under the manufacturer's warranty period". this means that for the next five years i have to take this vehicle back to them on a weekly basis for them to try to fix a problem in their design. i just don't think it is fair to a consumer who coughs up big bucks to purchase a vehicle and the vehicle is flawed from the first day. *nm

Reported in: WOODRIDGE IL || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGMM77L35D

SUSPENSION

front tires wear at 8-10,000 miles, first set replaced and given a new alignment however now second set worn as well. volkswagen refuses to remedy even though they know of the numerous complaints involving tire wear. *jb

Reported in: VIRGINIA BEACH VA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L35D

TIRES

front tires wear at 8-10,000 miles, first set replaced and given a new alignment however now second set worn as well. volkswagen refuses to remedy even though they know of the numerous complaints involving tire wear. *jb

Reported in: VIRGINIA BEACH VA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L35D

STRUCTURE:BODY:HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE:HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

july 6, 2006 i opened the hatchback trunk to put a bag in. i was standing to the left side of the car close enough to lean into trunk. the trunk door open as usual, i leaned in to place my bag and the trunk door dropped on my head leaving me quite dazed and blood running down my face. the air shock on the trunk failed leaving an 1 inch wide and deep hole in the right corner of my fore head. i was taken to emergency where they put staples in my head and sent me home with instructions to take care of a concussion. vw was notified and the car was taken in. the car was there for 3 days. i picked it up and 3 days after that the door failed again. "thank goodness i was still being cautious or it could have happened again. i then traded the car in, not wanting to wait for another failure. *jb

Reported in: YUCAIPA CA || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2005 vw toureg, lots of electrical failures, had 04 also traded on lemon deal--said kinks were worked out not true our suv has been in the shop so many times for long periods of time i have lost count. *jb

Reported in: FORT WORTH TX || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGLG77L05D

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

i currently own a 2005 v-6 volkswagen touareg. the vehicle has less than 15,000 miles. approximately 3 months after owning vehicle, the vehicle exemplified obvious shifting concerns as well as poor gas mileage. the transmission was replaced in hopes to correct the issues described above, however, it has not improved. i was asked to drive the vehicle for at least another 6 months to a year, to break it in. in this time, my car has worsened. the shifting is more erratic, losing power, jumping gears, and nearly stalling when taking off from a stop and at intersections. as a result of the erratic shifting, i have been nearly rear-ended. my car has been in 5 times for 3 to 8 days at a time. the dealership has not been able to duplicate this issue, since it has replaced the transmission. the only service the manufacturer has done to my vehicle in hopes to correct the poor shifting and poor gas mileage (11-12 mpg) is computer software updates. none of which have ever fixed the problems. in addition, with each month that passes, new mechanical problems arise. the seat adjustments fail, along with the radio, the trunk hatch, the airbag, etc. the car overheats and smoke comes from the tires & wheels, of which the manufacturer took notice to, but could not determine the cause. the service department at volkswagen has had 5-6 attempts to service the multiple problems since may 2005 and it is now january 07 and my car is still in the shop for the same problems. in addition, the tires (w/ pads/rotors (sp?) are completely worn, and the vehicle has only 12k miles. *jb

Reported in: HENDERSON NV || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L05D

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

i currently own a 2005 v-6 volkswagen touareg. the vehicle has less than 15,000 miles. approximately 3 months after owning vehicle, the vehicle exemplified obvious shifting concerns as well as poor gas mileage. the transmission was replaced in hopes to correct the issues described above, however, it has not improved. i was asked to drive the vehicle for at least another 6 months to a year, to break it in. in this time, my car has worsened. the shifting is more erratic, losing power, jumping gears, and nearly stalling when taking off from a stop and at intersections. as a result of the erratic shifting, i have been nearly rear-ended. my car has been in 5 times for 3 to 8 days at a time. the dealership has not been able to duplicate this issue, since it has replaced the transmission. the only service the manufacturer has done to my vehicle in hopes to correct the poor shifting and poor gas mileage (11-12 mpg) is computer software updates. none of which have ever fixed the problems. in addition, with each month that passes, new mechanical problems arise. the seat adjustments fail, along with the radio, the trunk hatch, the airbag, etc. the car overheats and smoke comes from the tires & wheels, of which the manufacturer took notice to, but could not determine the cause. the service department at volkswagen has had 5-6 attempts to service the multiple problems since may 2005 and it is now january 07 and my car is still in the shop for the same problems. in addition, the tires (w/ pads/rotors (sp?) are completely worn, and the vehicle has only 12k miles. *jb

Reported in: HENDERSON NV || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L05D

SEATS:FRONT ASSEMBLY:POWER ADJUST

i currently own a 2005 v-6 volkswagen touareg. the vehicle has less than 15,000 miles. approximately 3 months after owning vehicle, the vehicle exemplified obvious shifting concerns as well as poor gas mileage. the transmission was replaced in hopes to correct the issues described above, however, it has not improved. i was asked to drive the vehicle for at least another 6 months to a year, to break it in. in this time, my car has worsened. the shifting is more erratic, losing power, jumping gears, and nearly stalling when taking off from a stop and at intersections. as a result of the erratic shifting, i have been nearly rear-ended. my car has been in 5 times for 3 to 8 days at a time. the dealership has not been able to duplicate this issue, since it has replaced the transmission. the only service the manufacturer has done to my vehicle in hopes to correct the poor shifting and poor gas mileage (11-12 mpg) is computer software updates. none of which have ever fixed the problems. in addition, with each month that passes, new mechanical problems arise. the seat adjustments fail, along with the radio, the trunk hatch, the airbag, etc. the car overheats and smoke comes from the tires & wheels, of which the manufacturer took notice to, but could not determine the cause. the service department at volkswagen has had 5-6 attempts to service the multiple problems since may 2005 and it is now january 07 and my car is still in the shop for the same problems. in addition, the tires (w/ pads/rotors (sp?) are completely worn, and the vehicle has only 12k miles. *jb

Reported in: HENDERSON NV || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L05D

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

i currently own a 2005 v-6 volkswagen touareg. the vehicle has less than 15,000 miles. approximately 3 months after owning vehicle, the vehicle exemplified obvious shifting concerns as well as poor gas mileage. the transmission was replaced in hopes to correct the issues described above, however, it has not improved. i was asked to drive the vehicle for at least another 6 months to a year, to break it in. in this time, my car has worsened. the shifting is more erratic, losing power, jumping gears, and nearly stalling when taking off from a stop and at intersections. as a result of the erratic shifting, i have been nearly rear-ended. my car has been in 5 times for 3 to 8 days at a time. the dealership has not been able to duplicate this issue, since it has replaced the transmission. the only service the manufacturer has done to my vehicle in hopes to correct the poor shifting and poor gas mileage (11-12 mpg) is computer software updates. none of which have ever fixed the problems. in addition, with each month that passes, new mechanical problems arise. the seat adjustments fail, along with the radio, the trunk hatch, the airbag, etc. the car overheats and smoke comes from the tires & wheels, of which the manufacturer took notice to, but could not determine the cause. the service department at volkswagen has had 5-6 attempts to service the multiple problems since may 2005 and it is now january 07 and my car is still in the shop for the same problems. in addition, the tires (w/ pads/rotors (sp?) are completely worn, and the vehicle has only 12k miles. *jb

Reported in: HENDERSON NV || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L05D

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i currently own a 2005 v-6 volkswagen touareg. the vehicle has less than 15,000 miles. approximately 3 months after owning vehicle, the vehicle exemplified obvious shifting concerns as well as poor gas mileage. the transmission was replaced in hopes to correct the issues described above, however, it has not improved. i was asked to drive the vehicle for at least another 6 months to a year, to break it in. in this time, my car has worsened. the shifting is more erratic, losing power, jumping gears, and nearly stalling when taking off from a stop and at intersections. as a result of the erratic shifting, i have been nearly rear-ended. my car has been in 5 times for 3 to 8 days at a time. the dealership has not been able to duplicate this issue, since it has replaced the transmission. the only service the manufacturer has done to my vehicle in hopes to correct the poor shifting and poor gas mileage (11-12 mpg) is computer software updates. none of which have ever fixed the problems. in addition, with each month that passes, new mechanical problems arise. the seat adjustments fail, along with the radio, the trunk hatch, the airbag, etc. the car overheats and smoke comes from the tires & wheels, of which the manufacturer took notice to, but could not determine the cause. the service department at volkswagen has had 5-6 attempts to service the multiple problems since may 2005 and it is now january 07 and my car is still in the shop for the same problems. in addition, the tires (w/ pads/rotors (sp?) are completely worn, and the vehicle has only 12k miles. *jb

Reported in: HENDERSON NV || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L05D

AIR BAGS

i currently own a 2005 v-6 volkswagen touareg. the vehicle has less than 15,000 miles. approximately 3 months after owning vehicle, the vehicle exemplified obvious shifting concerns as well as poor gas mileage. the transmission was replaced in hopes to correct the issues described above, however, it has not improved. i was asked to drive the vehicle for at least another 6 months to a year, to break it in. in this time, my car has worsened. the shifting is more erratic, losing power, jumping gears, and nearly stalling when taking off from a stop and at intersections. as a result of the erratic shifting, i have been nearly rear-ended. my car has been in 5 times for 3 to 8 days at a time. the dealership has not been able to duplicate this issue, since it has replaced the transmission. the only service the manufacturer has done to my vehicle in hopes to correct the poor shifting and poor gas mileage (11-12 mpg) is computer software updates. none of which have ever fixed the problems. in addition, with each month that passes, new mechanical problems arise. the seat adjustments fail, along with the radio, the trunk hatch, the airbag, etc. the car overheats and smoke comes from the tires & wheels, of which the manufacturer took notice to, but could not determine the cause. the service department at volkswagen has had 5-6 attempts to service the multiple problems since may 2005 and it is now january 07 and my car is still in the shop for the same problems. in addition, the tires (w/ pads/rotors (sp?) are completely worn, and the vehicle has only 12k miles. *jb

Reported in: HENDERSON NV || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L05D

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:ROTOR

i currently own a 2005 v-6 volkswagen touareg. the vehicle has less than 15,000 miles. approximately 3 months after owning vehicle, the vehicle exemplified obvious shifting concerns as well as poor gas mileage. the transmission was replaced in hopes to correct the issues described above, however, it has not improved. i was asked to drive the vehicle for at least another 6 months to a year, to break it in. in this time, my car has worsened. the shifting is more erratic, losing power, jumping gears, and nearly stalling when taking off from a stop and at intersections. as a result of the erratic shifting, i have been nearly rear-ended. my car has been in 5 times for 3 to 8 days at a time. the dealership has not been able to duplicate this issue, since it has replaced the transmission. the only service the manufacturer has done to my vehicle in hopes to correct the poor shifting and poor gas mileage (11-12 mpg) is computer software updates. none of which have ever fixed the problems. in addition, with each month that passes, new mechanical problems arise. the seat adjustments fail, along with the radio, the trunk hatch, the airbag, etc. the car overheats and smoke comes from the tires & wheels, of which the manufacturer took notice to, but could not determine the cause. the service department at volkswagen has had 5-6 attempts to service the multiple problems since may 2005 and it is now january 07 and my car is still in the shop for the same problems. in addition, the tires (w/ pads/rotors (sp?) are completely worn, and the vehicle has only 12k miles. *jb

Reported in: HENDERSON NV || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L05D

TIRES

i currently own a 2005 v-6 volkswagen touareg. the vehicle has less than 15,000 miles. approximately 3 months after owning vehicle, the vehicle exemplified obvious shifting concerns as well as poor gas mileage. the transmission was replaced in hopes to correct the issues described above, however, it has not improved. i was asked to drive the vehicle for at least another 6 months to a year, to break it in. in this time, my car has worsened. the shifting is more erratic, losing power, jumping gears, and nearly stalling when taking off from a stop and at intersections. as a result of the erratic shifting, i have been nearly rear-ended. my car has been in 5 times for 3 to 8 days at a time. the dealership has not been able to duplicate this issue, since it has replaced the transmission. the only service the manufacturer has done to my vehicle in hopes to correct the poor shifting and poor gas mileage (11-12 mpg) is computer software updates. none of which have ever fixed the problems. in addition, with each month that passes, new mechanical problems arise. the seat adjustments fail, along with the radio, the trunk hatch, the airbag, etc. the car overheats and smoke comes from the tires & wheels, of which the manufacturer took notice to, but could not determine the cause. the service department at volkswagen has had 5-6 attempts to service the multiple problems since may 2005 and it is now january 07 and my car is still in the shop for the same problems. in addition, the tires (w/ pads/rotors (sp?) are completely worn, and the vehicle has only 12k miles. *jb

Reported in: HENDERSON NV || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L05D

SUSPENSION:FRONT

tl*- the contact owns a 2005 volkswagen touareg. the contact explained that the vehiclewas constantly pulling to the right when driving at any speed. he took the vehicle to the dealer several times for an alignment; they have installed an eccentric bolt to make sure the vehicle was up to specification. the contact stated that the tires have worn unevenly and had to be replaced, but vehicle still continued to have the alignment problem. *ak

Reported in: CORVALLIS OR || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGMM77L35D

AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

the drivers side airbag will only work for 2 months at any given time then stops working. i purchased this vehicle new. every couple of months the censor that indicates that the airbag is not working comes on. i take the vehicle in to the dealer, they reset the censor, they tell me my airbag is fixed, insisting that this time they have identified and corrected the problem. and 2 months later the censor is on again indicating the airbag is not working. i thought this was similar to the check engine light, when it is on the car still runs, with the dealership a 200 mile trip, i was not in any hurry to rush in every time the light came on. after 2 years of this recurring problem the dealer ship told me that when that censor indicates the airbag is not working, the airbag is truly not working, and if my vehicle were to get into a accident the airbag would not deploy. this is a very serious safety issue and vw has been very insensitive and frankly hard to deal with in regards to this horrendous safety issue. with my warranty running out in 5000 miles and they have had my car in the shop for 3 full weeks working on a fix/repair, and once again they have come to me and said that it is fixed, they will not extend the warranty for the airbag. the only reason the company will not stand behind their fix is that it is not fixed and they know it.

Reported in: WEST YELLOWSTONE MT || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGMM77LX5D

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

2005 v w toureg stalled many times, while making a turn at intersections at lower speeds, especially when i am trying to accelerate it stalls or hesitates. i came very close to getting killed at least 5 times, i took it to my local dealer to check this problem, but always came out empty. they say they have found no problem. i think it is very serious problem, and it should be addressed promptly before people loose their lives. i have talked to others who are driving this kind of vehicle; at least half of them had the same kind of problem, and were getting no help from their dealers.

Reported in: FORT WAYNE IN || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGZG77L55D

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

our 2005 volkswagen jetta broke down due to the computer needing reprogramming. it did not give warning it just had no power and wouldn't go in the middle of an interstate. this was a service bulletin with volkswagen i believe this is a safety issue because there is no warning and the brakes don't work and the car doesn't go and could potentially cause an accident.

Reported in: HAVELOCK NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 3VWSF71K05M

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

fuel supply line separated at a connection between hose and fitting that is secured by a pressure crimp. location is directly adjacent to and above engine block. my engine was cool enough that a fire was not started, but had the engine been hot it certainly would have been disastrous.

Reported in: SANDY HOOK CT || Crash: N || VIN #:

TIRES

i lease a 2005 touareg v6 and all tires of the car are worm out after 8k miles. maker refuses to deal with the problem. one of the tires also has a deep crack. the lease vehicle return final inspection came out with 150$ charge for each tire.

Reported in: MIAMI FL || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGZG77L85D

VISIBILITY

tl*the contact owns a 2005 volkswagen touareg. the air bag indicator illuminates and the vehicle was taken to the dealer four times to have the sensor module reset. in addition, the sun roof leaks whenever it rains. the dealer stated that the vehicle was designed in that manner and repaired the failure approximately two or three times. all of the remaining vehicles on the lot are experiencing the same failure with the sunroof. the issue continues to occur and the contact was advised to bring the vehicle back for repair. the vin was unknown. the failure mileage was 30,000 and current mileage was 42,500.

Reported in: TORRANCE CA || Crash: N || VIN #:

AIR BAGS

tl*the contact owns a 2005 volkswagen touareg. the air bag indicator illuminates and the vehicle was taken to the dealer four times to have the sensor module reset. in addition, the sun roof leaks whenever it rains. the dealer stated that the vehicle was designed in that manner and repaired the failure approximately two or three times. all of the remaining vehicles on the lot are experiencing the same failure with the sunroof. the issue continues to occur and the contact was advised to bring the vehicle back for repair. the vin was unknown. the failure mileage was 30,000 and current mileage was 42,500.

Reported in: TORRANCE CA || Crash: N || VIN #:

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

i purchased a used 2005 v-6 volkswagen touareg in april '08. it had 64,000 miles on it. the dealer who serviced it for the original owner said it was lovingly maintained and not to worry about this car. among many problems i've had to tend to in eight months of owning it, the most concerning is one i just read at mycarstats.com that other owners are also having; that is, obvious shifting concerns, i.e., nearly stalling when taking off from a stop and at intersections, nearly being rear-ended. i was charged $90 and told they couldn't duplicate the problem. this is not one specific problem. it happens randomly, and always at low speeds, usually at intersections. it acts like it died but then catches and goes.

Reported in: ST. CLOUD MN || Crash: N || VIN #:

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

this 2005 touareg has given me problems since i got. first it was always the headlights that gave me trouble, then the tires wore out way before the time, the braking system had to be replaced all the way around at about 30,000, now the transmission is slipping or jumping , the coating on the door and on the heating vents is peeling off, i had to have the lock on the door fixed cause that never worked. this truck has been a serious problem since i got it and i feel like it is a lemon.

Reported in: ELYRIA OH || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77LX5D

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

this 2005 touareg has given me problems since i got. first it was always the headlights that gave me trouble, then the tires wore out way before the time, the braking system had to be replaced all the way around at about 30,000, now the transmission is slipping or jumping , the coating on the door and on the heating vents is peeling off, i had to have the lock on the door fixed cause that never worked. this truck has been a serious problem since i got it and i feel like it is a lemon.

Reported in: ELYRIA OH || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77LX5D

TIRES

this 2005 touareg has given me problems since i got. first it was always the headlights that gave me trouble, then the tires wore out way before the time, the braking system had to be replaced all the way around at about 30,000, now the transmission is slipping or jumping , the coating on the door and on the heating vents is peeling off, i had to have the lock on the door fixed cause that never worked. this truck has been a serious problem since i got it and i feel like it is a lemon.

Reported in: ELYRIA OH || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77LX5D

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

this 2005 touareg has given me problems since i got. first it was always the headlights that gave me trouble, then the tires wore out way before the time, the braking system had to be replaced all the way around at about 30,000, now the transmission is slipping or jumping , the coating on the door and on the heating vents is peeling off, i had to have the lock on the door fixed cause that never worked. this truck has been a serious problem since i got it and i feel like it is a lemon.

Reported in: ELYRIA OH || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77LX5D

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl*the contact owns a 2005 volkswagen touareg. the contact stated that he experienced an electrical failure. the check engine light and the headlights warning light illuminated intermittently. he took the vehicle to the dealer 6 to 8 times and when the dealer performed the diagnostics test, no codes were produced. he called the manufacturer and was told that they would repair the defect between july and september 2010 free of charge. the vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. the current mileage was approximately 78,000. the failure mileage was approximately 52,000.

Reported in: ELGIN SC || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGMM77L05D

SEAT BELTS

i have 2005 vw touareg. the rear middle seat belt locked up and jammed when i flipped the rear seat down to load things into the trunk. the only way to repair this defect is by cutting the entire seatbelt in order to put the seat back up. this is the first time i've had to repair the middle seat belt, however it isn't the first time i've had a problem with the rear seat.

Reported in: SAN FRANCISCO CA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGZM77L75D

POWER TRAIN

i have a 2005 touareg with 74,000 miles. i had to replace the drive shaft after because of a faulty ball bearing which produced a high pitched noise.

Reported in: MANASSAS VA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGZG77L45D

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

tl*the contact owns a 2005 volkswagen touareg. while driving at 35 mph, the contact heard an unusual rattling noise. the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where a defect was found in the driveshaft. the contact called the manufacturer who confirmed their knowledge of the failure but would provide no assistance. the vehicle was repaired at the contacts expense. in addition, the transmission valves were defective. the vehicle was currently at the dealership awaiting repairs. the current and failure mileages were approximately 70,000.

Reported in: FALLEN MO || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGZG77L75D

POWER TRAIN:DRIVELINE:DRIVESHAFT

tl*the contact owns a 2005 volkswagen touareg. while driving at 35 mph, the contact heard an unusual rattling noise. the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where a defect was found in the driveshaft. the contact called the manufacturer who confirmed their knowledge of the failure but would provide no assistance. the vehicle was repaired at the contacts expense. in addition, the transmission valves were defective. the vehicle was currently at the dealership awaiting repairs. the current and failure mileages were approximately 70,000.

Reported in: FALLEN MO || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGZG77L75D

TIRES:PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

i have a 2005 volkswagen touareg it has been in the shop for repairs and or problems and re-calls since day one. but my biggest problem seems to be the stepper motor problem which has been tearing my tires to threads. since day one we have taken this vehicle to the vw dealer and complained about the tires skipping and chugging on the pavement as you turn at slow speeds. this is apparently from what i found out to be caused by this stepper motor. but i did not find that out through any of the service people or mechanics from vw dealerships. apparently there is a simple fix of some software update. but no dealerships have a working cd for this so-called software update. this vehicle has been parked in my garage and i do not use it often as i cant afford to keep replacing my tires. the skipping of the tires when u turn is cupping them and making the tires very loud while you drive. all i have been told from vw dealers from new jersey to maine is that this vehicle is suppose to do that. that's what i have been told since i bought this vehicle new. it wasn't till i joined a club called club touareg that i then found all this information about the problems with my 2005 vw touareg. i also have this vehicle aligned every 2-3 even 4 times a year because of the problems with this vehicle. my thought are that this is a very un safe vehicle to drive and someone needs to stand up and help us consumers out. how can a vehicle manufacture be able to produce and sell a vehicle with this amount of problems? do we have to wait for someone to die? before something is done. vw should be made to have to recall all these lemon vehicle that the so poorly made and that our great government has allowed them to sell. but guess your to busy with the economy, the oil spill and yeah toyota and don't forget that last one. so do something people stand up for us. there are many people out there with this same volkswagen touareg problem who unlike me don't no why there tires are being chewed off.

Reported in: VIENNA ME || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L95D

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

i have a 2005 volkswagen touareg it has been in the shop for repairs and or problems and re-calls since day one. but my biggest problem seems to be the stepper motor problem which has been tearing my tires to threads. since day one we have taken this vehicle to the vw dealer and complained about the tires skipping and chugging on the pavement as you turn at slow speeds. this is apparently from what i found out to be caused by this stepper motor. but i did not find that out through any of the service people or mechanics from vw dealerships. apparently there is a simple fix of some software update. but no dealerships have a working cd for this so-called software update. this vehicle has been parked in my garage and i do not use it often as i cant afford to keep replacing my tires. the skipping of the tires when u turn is cupping them and making the tires very loud while you drive. all i have been told from vw dealers from new jersey to maine is that this vehicle is suppose to do that. that's what i have been told since i bought this vehicle new. it wasn't till i joined a club called club touareg that i then found all this information about the problems with my 2005 vw touareg. i also have this vehicle aligned every 2-3 even 4 times a year because of the problems with this vehicle. my thought are that this is a very un safe vehicle to drive and someone needs to stand up and help us consumers out. how can a vehicle manufacture be able to produce and sell a vehicle with this amount of problems? do we have to wait for someone to die? before something is done. vw should be made to have to recall all these lemon vehicle that the so poorly made and that our great government has allowed them to sell. but guess your to busy with the economy, the oil spill and yeah toyota and don't forget that last one. so do something people stand up for us. there are many people out there with this same volkswagen touareg problem who unlike me don't no why there tires are being chewed off.

Reported in: VIENNA ME || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L95D

SEAT BELTS

when laying the rear seat down in my 2005 vw touareg, the seat belt becomes locked in place, preventing the middle seat from coming back up. have taken to the dealer numerous times for fix and even replaced the seat belt 15 months ago and the incident has happened twice since then, the only two times we lowered the rear seat. the dealer unbolted the seat belt, so i could drive it until we got a resolution on the costs associated with the belt. i called vw to log a complaint and they indicated that the responsibility for fixing is mine. this is a huge safety issue and feel that they should be more pro-active on fixing rather than passing the cost on to the consumer. also, looked on a toureg forum site and there are several people with the same issue.

Reported in: CHANTILLY VA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L95D

POWER TRAIN:DRIVELINE

heard thumping noise coming from underneath vehicle and i pulled over thinking i had a flat tire. got out of vehicle and looked under car did not see anything hanging and did not have a flat tire. it only happens when i accelerate and it takes me awhile to get my vehicle going. i took my vehicle to dealership and it was my driveshaft that was making this noise. it was my bearing that needed to be replace but they do not sell it separate, i have to buy a brand new driveshaft. i have not gotten it done because warranty have expired and i do not have that kind of money to get it fix right now.

Reported in: MILWAUKEE WI || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGZG77L05D

AIR BAGS

air bag light continues to come on. started when first purchased. 64 miles 2-24-05 and said that 2 wires were repaired invoice 913036. invoice 962683 on 8-14-07 light was on again with a description of driver/pass side airbags and replace pass side wiring 1660 wv03 (recall) mileage 37233. 5-24-2010 inv 663865 air bag light on again, went to foreign auto shop in wenatchee to have checked out. driver side air bag has igniter problem with intermittent signal loss. 7-6-2010 mileage 60364 air bag light on again invoice 663865. invoice states that they did not hear from vw on help for air bag light, no further work at this time although they did reset the light and not put it on the invoice. when queried on what had happened or why it was reset they would give no indication or whether the air bags would work or not. this is becoming worrisome as i have heard that when the light comes on the airbag system doesn't function. i know that if this was a seat belt the problem would have been fixed long ago but since it is a airbag it isn't their problem. are not the airbags in a car designed to work with the seat belts in preventing injuries and are they not also a integral part of the safety design of the vehicle. if so since we have had problems since we bought the car is it so hard to it fixed as it has been documented that we had the problem since we purchased this car.

Reported in: OMAK WA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGBG77L05D

STRUCTURE

tl* the contact owns a 2005 volkswagen touareg. the contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the rear spoiler detached from the vehicle. the vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. an authorized dealer was notified and informed the contact that the failure was not covered under warranty. the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. the failure mileage was 78,000.

Reported in: CAVE CREEK AZ || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGCM77L65D

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2005 volkswagen touareg. consumer states when he inserts the key into the ignition to start the vehicle, it does not start. the consumer stated if he removed the key, pressed the lock button and then the unlock the button on the key fob, then try again, the vehicle generally started up. when the vehicle did not start, the vehicle would have to be towed, as the transmission would not shift out of park. the consumer stated the vehicle has been to the dealer 12 times to correct the same issue. to date, the access/start module was replaced four times, the steering column was replaced three times, the ignition switch was replaced twice, the j519 vehicle electrical control unit and battery were also replaced. *jb

Reported in: ATLANTA GA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGMM77L95D

STEERING:COLUMN

2005 volkswagen touareg. consumer states when he inserts the key into the ignition to start the vehicle, it does not start. the consumer stated if he removed the key, pressed the lock button and then the unlock the button on the key fob, then try again, the vehicle generally started up. when the vehicle did not start, the vehicle would have to be towed, as the transmission would not shift out of park. the consumer stated the vehicle has been to the dealer 12 times to correct the same issue. to date, the access/start module was replaced four times, the steering column was replaced three times, the ignition switch was replaced twice, the j519 vehicle electrical control unit and battery were also replaced. *jb

Reported in: ATLANTA GA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGMM77L95D

SEAT BELTS

tl* the contact owns a 2005 volkswagen touareg. the contact stated that the middle row seat was reclined for utilization of the trunk. the contact attempted to put the seat back into an upright position, but the seat would not budge. the contact discovered that the seat belt latch was locked and would not allow the seat to be returned upright. the vehicle was taken to the dealer where the dealer advised that the seat belt assembly would need replacing. the vehicle was not repaired. the manufacturer was contacted and advised that the vehicle was not included in nhtsa campaign id number: 04v592000 (seat belts). the failure mileage was 93,700 and the current mileage was 94,000.

Reported in: SILVER LAKE ID || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGMM77L85D

SEAT BELTS

i manually lowered the rear seat back to allow increased cargo area. after removing the cargo, i could not raise the rear seat back to it's upright position. the center seat belt had locked it self in a way holding the seat back down not allowing the seat back to be raised to an upright position. a recall was issued 3-28-2005 regarding this dangerous seat belt malfunction problem effecting 50483 vehicles but fell short in failing to include the center rear seat belt in the recall. neither the manufacturer nor the dealer are legally obliged to fix this situation at their cost. at this time my only option is to pay the dealer to un-bolt all three rear seat belts from the frame, remove and disassemble the entire rear seat, remove the center seat belt from inside the seat back, install a new and working seat belt assembly and finally, put the car back together all to the tune of their hourly rate plus parts. in the mean time, my 5 passenger car is a 2 passenger car. hope to have a response soon. thank you for your attention in this frustrating situation.

Reported in: CUYAHOGA FALLS OH || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGMM77L85D

SEATS

i manually lowered the rear seat back to allow increased cargo area. after removing the cargo, i could not raise the rear seat back to it's upright position. the center seat belt had locked it self in a way holding the seat back down not allowing the seat back to be raised to an upright position. a recall was issued 3-28-2005 regarding this dangerous seat belt malfunction problem effecting 50483 vehicles but fell short in failing to include the center rear seat belt in the recall. neither the manufacturer nor the dealer are legally obliged to fix this situation at their cost. at this time my only option is to pay the dealer to un-bolt all three rear seat belts from the frame, remove and disassemble the entire rear seat, remove the center seat belt from inside the seat back, install a new and working seat belt assembly and finally, put the car back together all to the tune of their hourly rate plus parts. in the mean time, my 5 passenger car is a 2 passenger car. hope to have a response soon. thank you for your attention in this frustrating situation.

Reported in: CUYAHOGA FALLS OH || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGMM77L85D

VISIBILITY:SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

sun roof glass exploded on its own. no reason found. vw says part is not available... anywhere. glass is tempered: millions of sharp fragments all over interior and driver. laminated glass would be a wiser design. *js

Reported in: FRANKLIN NJ || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGMM77L65D

STEERING

the steering lock and was unable to open or move.

Reported in: PELHAM NY || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGMM77L05D

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

vehicle has been emitting an odor of gas for some time. upon investigation, i found that the fuel filter (accessed under the rear seat but part of the fuel tank) had a 1/8" crack in the top of the filter assembly. this crack would leak gasoline while the engine was running and even after the engine stopped (likely due to the fuel system still being pressurized). leaked gasoline was found throughout the top of the gas tank observed through two ports under the rear bench seat. i did some research on a popular touareg website and found that 1 or 2 other people have experienced the same problem. i suspect this is a fire hazard given the amount of fuel that has been leaked. and others have experienced a leak emanating from the same location.

Reported in: FOREST VA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGZM77L65D

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

smell of gas after refueling -- apparently similar to mercede benz --dealer reports the gaskets at the top of the fuel tank have failed for a repair cost of $8-900.00: water cooled alternator failure requiring $8-900.00

Reported in: LA QUINTA CA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGCM77L55D

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

smell of gas after refueling -- apparently similar to mercede benz --dealer reports the gaskets at the top of the fuel tank have failed for a repair cost of $8-900.00: water cooled alternator failure requiring $8-900.00

Reported in: LA QUINTA CA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGCM77L55D

ENGINE

sign consistently appears saying "oil pressure problem stop engine now" especially when you try to exit the freeway. according to volkswagen dealer, this could damage the engine beyond repair. this is a factory defect that is happening to many volkswagen brands. this is something volkswagen knew about and should do something about it. volkswagen corporation should recall all vehicle with this problem and fix it without current owners suffering for it. let me add that i have changed the switch, flushed engine, changed oil, changed catalytic converter, changed oil pump that connects the oil pan with the engine, the problem would stop for a while and comes back again.

Reported in: CANOGA PARK CA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGZG77L55D

POWER TRAIN

tl* the contact owns a 2005 volkswagen touareg. the contact stated that the drive shaft failed and was repaired under the contact┐s warranty. the failure recurred recently and the contact stated that the failure recurred less than 30,000 miles later. the vehicle was repaired. the failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 80,000. the vin was not available.

Reported in: IRVINE CA || Crash: N || VIN #:

AIR BAGS

air bag default light came on indicating passenger air bag will not deploy during a crash. the other problem with this is if one air bag is indicated none of the air bags will deploy in a crash. this is a known problem with this vehicle which volkswagen has known about, because in 2005 it was found that the air bag connection plug located under the passenger seat was to short and would come disconnected causing the default air bag warning light to come. i believe in 2005 a flash program was issued for another problem with the air bags, the flash program was to fix the problem with when the key was placed into the ignition and the passenger seat is moved within 10 seconds after the key was in the ignition this would cause the default air bag warning light to come on. before a mass complaint could come out volkswagen drop the flash programming and left it up to the consumer to deal with the problem. i have brought this up with my volkswagen dealership whom i brought the truck from and continue to have all maintenance done by them, the dealership tells me the sensor has to be replaced, and this will cost big bucks for the consumer because of a bad designed product. this problem manifested after the alarm siren started to go out, and to find out later that the alarm siren has rechargeable watch type batteries, which goes bad and leaks acid then corrodes causing short in the electrical system, because the batteries are charged by the cars battery. this poor design will cause you the consumer $2000.00 to replace air bag sensor, alarm siren and your main car battery. this is an expensive vehicle and i love my truck but hate when problems arise and no one have any answers and when it comes to a safety devices, like "air bags" the dealership should jump on a resolution instead of running away, because air bags kill more people than a crash itself.

Reported in: LONG BEACH CA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGZG77L15D

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

tl* the contact owns a 2005 volkswagen touareg. the contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the fuel gauge displayed an inaccurate reading. in addition, the fuel tank leaked gasoline continuously. the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis, who recommended that the vehicle be inspected by an authorized dealer. the vehicle was not inspected by an authorized dealer nor repaired. the manufacturer was notified of the problem. the approximate failure mileage was 141,323.

Reported in: NORFOLK VA || Crash: N || VIN #: WVGZM77L75D

POWER TRAIN

this is a well documented problem all over the web yet vw and to date the nhts refuse to address the issue. maybe there is a requirement that at least 13 people die (gm) before anyone does something about it. problem is with transmission which causes car to jolt forward as if it is getting rammed in the rear of the vehicle. can cause loss of control, whip lash, rear ending, etc...

Reported in: STAMFORD CT || Crash: N || VIN #: