subaru outback Problems

subaru outback 2012 Complaints

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

tl* the contact owns a 2012 subaru outback. the contact received notification of nhtsa campaign id number: 11v562000 (service brakes, hydraulic:pedals and linkages) and had the vehicle repaired by an authorized dealer. after the repairs, the vehicle would exhibit an abnormal clicking noise when applying the brakes. the dealer was notified of the failure, but denied any assistance with repair to the vehicle. the manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. the vehicle was not repaired. the failure mileage was 1,464 and the current mileage was 1,500.

Reported in: WESTERVILLE OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCKC8E3

STEERING

while driving the car on a major highway the car was out of control. we had only 2 inches of snow during the day, the hwy. was mostly clear except for some packed snow because of cold temps. but it was mostly clear. we could not keep the car going straight, it was constantly swerving. we could not go more than 45 mph. all the other traffic was going at normal speed. nobody was swerving or spinning out. we were definitely a safety hazard on the hwy because everybody had to slam on the brakes behind us and then go around. we had to exit at the next off ramp. even when coasting down hill the car was swerving out of control. i have never operated a vehicle like this before, we are very lucky that nobody rear-ended us or that we put the car in a ditch. this is a very severe problem. also i mentioned this to 3 separate employees at the dealership, 2 are managers and 1 is a service tech and all 3 said they never heard of "ghostwalking". what a pile of crap!

Reported in: GRAFTON WI || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCAC7C3

SUSPENSION

while driving the car on a major highway the car was out of control. we had only 2 inches of snow during the day, the hwy. was mostly clear except for some packed snow because of cold temps. but it was mostly clear. we could not keep the car going straight, it was constantly swerving. we could not go more than 45 mph. all the other traffic was going at normal speed. nobody was swerving or spinning out. we were definitely a safety hazard on the hwy because everybody had to slam on the brakes behind us and then go around. we had to exit at the next off ramp. even when coasting down hill the car was swerving out of control. i have never operated a vehicle like this before, we are very lucky that nobody rear-ended us or that we put the car in a ditch. this is a very severe problem. also i mentioned this to 3 separate employees at the dealership, 2 are managers and 1 is a service tech and all 3 said they never heard of "ghostwalking". what a pile of crap!

Reported in: GRAFTON WI || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCAC7C3

POWER TRAIN

i was setting the homelink mirror on my car to recognize a particular garage door opener. the mirror is powered so i needed to leave the car idling. i put the car in neutral and began the programming process. the last step in the process is to engage the garage door opener from the motor head. to prepare to do this, i exited the car and moved on foot into the garage to look for a step ladder. as i was searching for a step ladder and after a period of at least one full minute, the automatic transmission slipped into "drive" at which point the unoccupied car drove into the garage and hit the rear wall.

Reported in: MILWAUKEE WI || Crash: Y || VIN #: 4S4BRCCC3C3

WHEELS

when driving on the highway the vehicle exhibits very poor straight line stability. vehicle wanders within the lane and requires excessive steering wheel correction to maintain straight direction. vehicle 500 miles on it (350 driven by owner) but is now sitting in driveway for fear of personal safety if emergency maneuver is necessary on the highway.

Reported in: MALDEN MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBCC6C3

SUSPENSION

when driving on the highway the vehicle exhibits very poor straight line stability. vehicle wanders within the lane and requires excessive steering wheel correction to maintain straight direction. vehicle 500 miles on it (350 driven by owner) but is now sitting in driveway for fear of personal safety if emergency maneuver is necessary on the highway.

Reported in: MALDEN MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBCC6C3

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

when driving on the highway the vehicle exhibits very poor straight line stability. vehicle wanders within the lane and requires excessive steering wheel correction to maintain straight direction. vehicle 500 miles on it (350 driven by owner) but is now sitting in driveway for fear of personal safety if emergency maneuver is necessary on the highway.

Reported in: MALDEN MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBCC6C3

STEERING

wanders, very difficult to hold straight line at highway speeds. dangerous, very touchy stering.

Reported in: ELIZABETH CO || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCFC7C3

AIR BAGS

drove the car for approximately 45 minutes, made a quick stop with car turn off, when restarting car, air bag warning light came on and also the passenger side air bag light said it was off even thought their was an adult passenger on that side of the car. light stayed on even after restarting car, readjusting seatbelts, etc. drove with warning light on for about an hour, stopped for a minute, turned off car and when starting car, the warning light was off and the passenger side air bag said it was on. took to dealer next day, got code dtc29. occupancy detection system got recalibrated and zeroed and did not come back on. *tt

Reported in: LANCASTER PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBKC8B3

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

tl* the contact owns a 2012 subaru outback. the contact stated that while driving 65 mph, all the lights on the instrument panel and the headlights failed to illuminate. the driver then turned the light switch to off and all the lights on the instrument panel illuminated. the contact pulled into his driveway with the switch still turned to the off option and all of the lights illuminated. the manufacturer was notified and advised the contact to take the vehicle to the dealer. the vehicle had not been repaired. the failure and current mileages were 4,100. updated 08/01/12*lj the subaru technicians stated the consumer ma have accidentally turned off the dashboard lights, which was located on the left side, behind the steering wheel. updated 08/02/12

Reported in: MCKEEES ROCKS PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBCC9C3

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

vehicle stopped cruise control & flashed brakes & no traction control unexpectedly. came close to a wreck shutting the vehicle down on the side of the road hitting various tire recaps & debris on the side. of the road. not told that this is a regular occurrence with this vehicle.

Reported in: OKLAHOMA CITY OK || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRDKCXC2

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

vehicle stopped cruise control & flashed brakes & no traction control unexpectedly. came close to a wreck shutting the vehicle down on the side of the road hitting various tire recaps & debris on the side. of the road. not told that this is a regular occurrence with this vehicle.

Reported in: OKLAHOMA CITY OK || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRDKCXC2

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

in early december of 2011 my wife and i purchased a 2012 subaru outback with a 4 cylinder engine, cvt transmission. we had to wait a day for our outback because it was being repaired do to a brake system recall. ever since purchasing the outback we have had a serious issue when using the paddle shifters to slow down for a stop. when the tach slows to about 1100 rpm in first or second gear the engine then accelerates to up to 2500 rpm, slowing down and then speeding up again then repeating the cycle over even if you apply the brakes. sometimes it would just run at 2500 rpm until you braked to a stop. i took the outback to our dealer and the subaru service advisor was very surprised when i drove it to demonstrate the very serious issue. it did exactly as i have described and even stayed at 2500 rpm. the service advisor and who i presume was the overall manager of the dealership took it for a drive without me. when they returned i was told that the way it operated was the way it was supposed to operate because of the engine needing to be more environmentally friendly. i stated i did not really believe that excuse and left. since that first visit, the outback has started doing the very serious acceleration issue also in automatic drive at low speeds. i returned on july 19, 2012 to get my first service done. i left the car for the service and tested an exact (except for color) 2012 outback. this outback had none of the very serious acceleration issues that my outback has. when returning to pickup my outback i told the service advisor of this outcome and he stated i would have to contact subaru of america to elevate the issue. respond as soon as possible as to where i can take the outback for repair of this very serious acceleration issue. my wife and i will be traveling via the outback very soon and need this very serious issue resolved before we leave.

Reported in: LAMPE MO || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCKC8C3

POWER TRAIN

in early december of 2011 my wife and i purchased a 2012 subaru outback with a 4 cylinder engine, cvt transmission. we had to wait a day for our outback because it was being repaired do to a brake system recall. ever since purchasing the outback we have had a serious issue when using the paddle shifters to slow down for a stop. when the tach slows to about 1100 rpm in first or second gear the engine then accelerates to up to 2500 rpm, slowing down and then speeding up again then repeating the cycle over even if you apply the brakes. sometimes it would just run at 2500 rpm until you braked to a stop. i took the outback to our dealer and the subaru service advisor was very surprised when i drove it to demonstrate the very serious issue. it did exactly as i have described and even stayed at 2500 rpm. the service advisor and who i presume was the overall manager of the dealership took it for a drive without me. when they returned i was told that the way it operated was the way it was supposed to operate because of the engine needing to be more environmentally friendly. i stated i did not really believe that excuse and left. since that first visit, the outback has started doing the very serious acceleration issue also in automatic drive at low speeds. i returned on july 19, 2012 to get my first service done. i left the car for the service and tested an exact (except for color) 2012 outback. this outback had none of the very serious acceleration issues that my outback has. when returning to pickup my outback i told the service advisor of this outcome and he stated i would have to contact subaru of america to elevate the issue. respond as soon as possible as to where i can take the outback for repair of this very serious acceleration issue. my wife and i will be traveling via the outback very soon and need this very serious issue resolved before we leave.

Reported in: LAMPE MO || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCKC8C3

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

in early december of 2011 my wife and i purchased a 2012 subaru outback with a 4 cylinder engine, cvt transmission. we had to wait a day for our outback because it was being repaired do to a brake system recall. ever since purchasing the outback we have had a serious issue when using the paddle shifters to slow down for a stop. when the tach slows to about 1100 rpm in first or second gear the engine then accelerates to up to 2500 rpm, slowing down and then speeding up again then repeating the cycle over even if you apply the brakes. sometimes it would just run at 2500 rpm until you braked to a stop. i took the outback to our dealer and the subaru service advisor was very surprised when i drove it to demonstrate the very serious issue. it did exactly as i have described and even stayed at 2500 rpm. the service advisor and who i presume was the overall manager of the dealership took it for a drive without me. when they returned i was told that the way it operated was the way it was supposed to operate because of the engine needing to be more environmentally friendly. i stated i did not really believe that excuse and left. since that first visit, the outback has started doing the very serious acceleration issue also in automatic drive at low speeds. i returned on july 19, 2012 to get my first service done. i left the car for the service and tested an exact (except for color) 2012 outback. this outback had none of the very serious acceleration issues that my outback has. when returning to pickup my outback i told the service advisor of this outcome and he stated i would have to contact subaru of america to elevate the issue. respond as soon as possible as to where i can take the outback for repair of this very serious acceleration issue. my wife and i will be traveling via the outback very soon and need this very serious issue resolved before we leave.

Reported in: LAMPE MO || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCKC8C3

ENGINE

in early december of 2011 my wife and i purchased a 2012 subaru outback with a 4 cylinder engine, cvt transmission. we had to wait a day for our outback because it was being repaired do to a brake system recall. ever since purchasing the outback we have had a serious issue when using the paddle shifters to slow down for a stop. when the tach slows to about 1100 rpm in first or second gear the engine then accelerates to up to 2500 rpm, slowing down and then speeding up again then repeating the cycle over even if you apply the brakes. sometimes it would just run at 2500 rpm until you braked to a stop. i took the outback to our dealer and the subaru service advisor was very surprised when i drove it to demonstrate the very serious issue. it did exactly as i have described and even stayed at 2500 rpm. the service advisor and who i presume was the overall manager of the dealership took it for a drive without me. when they returned i was told that the way it operated was the way it was supposed to operate because of the engine needing to be more environmentally friendly. i stated i did not really believe that excuse and left. since that first visit, the outback has started doing the very serious acceleration issue also in automatic drive at low speeds. i returned on july 19, 2012 to get my first service done. i left the car for the service and tested an exact (except for color) 2012 outback. this outback had none of the very serious acceleration issues that my outback has. when returning to pickup my outback i told the service advisor of this outcome and he stated i would have to contact subaru of america to elevate the issue. respond as soon as possible as to where i can take the outback for repair of this very serious acceleration issue. my wife and i will be traveling via the outback very soon and need this very serious issue resolved before we leave.

Reported in: LAMPE MO || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCKC8C3

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

situation: traveling at 60mph up a steep hill on i70 west bound in left passing lane. cars following close, and cars in the right lane. for the first time (new car) i used the downshift paddle on the left side of the steering wheel to downshift to accelerate. i tapped it to downshift one gear. it instantly dropped to 1st gear. the engine rpms went to red line or above. the car decelerated dramatically, and i was tossed forward. i attempted to upshift using the right paddle but there was no response, and the car remained in first gear. the car behind nearly hit me. the only useful control that i had was the steering wheel (brakes or accelerator useless). further, i assumed the brake lights were not lit. due to the alertness of the driver behind and the drivers to my right as i slowed dramatically and got off the highway to the right shoulder, a serious accident was avoided. dashboard lights were lit, brake light flashing, etc. car was towed to flatirons subaru in boulder, co. there the computer data logging confirmed both my speed and the rpms at redline or above. they were unable either to reproduce this behavior, or to determine the cause. i understand that they were told by subaru that this was the first time this had been known to happen, and then told to reinitialize the "adaptive" portion of the computer, which i believe they did. overall, i was told that "this couldn't happen because there were safety locks to prevent it". when the recorded data confirmed my description, i think the mechanics were very surprised, and did try hard to understand this. i wouldn't accept the vehicle back because i am of the opinion that if you don't know why something happened, you can't be sure it won't happen again.

Reported in: BOULDER CO || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRDKC0C2

POWER TRAIN

situation: traveling at 60mph up a steep hill on i70 west bound in left passing lane. cars following close, and cars in the right lane. for the first time (new car) i used the downshift paddle on the left side of the steering wheel to downshift to accelerate. i tapped it to downshift one gear. it instantly dropped to 1st gear. the engine rpms went to red line or above. the car decelerated dramatically, and i was tossed forward. i attempted to upshift using the right paddle but there was no response, and the car remained in first gear. the car behind nearly hit me. the only useful control that i had was the steering wheel (brakes or accelerator useless). further, i assumed the brake lights were not lit. due to the alertness of the driver behind and the drivers to my right as i slowed dramatically and got off the highway to the right shoulder, a serious accident was avoided. dashboard lights were lit, brake light flashing, etc. car was towed to flatirons subaru in boulder, co. there the computer data logging confirmed both my speed and the rpms at redline or above. they were unable either to reproduce this behavior, or to determine the cause. i understand that they were told by subaru that this was the first time this had been known to happen, and then told to reinitialize the "adaptive" portion of the computer, which i believe they did. overall, i was told that "this couldn't happen because there were safety locks to prevent it". when the recorded data confirmed my description, i think the mechanics were very surprised, and did try hard to understand this. i wouldn't accept the vehicle back because i am of the opinion that if you don't know why something happened, you can't be sure it won't happen again.

Reported in: BOULDER CO || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRDKC0C2

POWER TRAIN

driving straight at 40mph, no acceleration or deceleration. car without warning suddenly stopped, as if it had shifted into first gear and i had slammed on the brakes. when i pressed on gas the car would not move but did make revving sounds. i looked at gear shift and it was no longer in drive. i think it was in manual. i doubt i had accidentally moved the gear shift because i was not moving around in my seat and i was driving straight, not turning the steering wheel. this car is an automatic (cvt). i've only driven two miles since but it seems to be working fine now.

Reported in: LOUISVILLE CO || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCFC0C3

STEERING

tl* the contact owns a 2012 subaru outback. the contact stated that while driving 50 mph, while driving over a bump the steering wheel would shake violently. the vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that there was nothing abnormal. the vehicle was not repaired. the manufacturer was made aware of the failure who decided to send a technician to test drive the vehicle. the technician stated that the vehicle was fine. the failure mileage was 100.

Reported in: THOUSAND OAKS CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBHC3C3

AIR BAGS

tl*the contact owns a 2012 subaru outback. the contact stated that while driving 25 mph, another vehicle crashed into the contact's vehicle. the air bags did not deploy. the entire front end of the vehicle sustained extensive damage, causing injuries to the contact's chest. the contact was transported to the hospital via ambulance. the police were notified and a report was filed. the vehicle was towed to a body shop. the manufacturer was notified of the failure and advised the contact to take the vehicle to an authorized dealer to have the air bag failure diagnosed. the vehicle was not repaired. the failure mileage was 12,000.

Reported in: FLOYDS KNOBS IN || Crash: Y || VIN #: 4S4BRCAC7C3

STEERING

i was driving on a interstate highway when the rear of the car started to wander from right to left, it acted like it was floating on the highway. i took the next exit to check for a tire losing air pressure or loose lug nuts. they were fine. i slowed down to 50 -55 mph for the rest of the trip. every bridge and overpass i slowed down to 50 mph and yet the rear of the vehicle would jump side ways. the highway was wet from a recent snowfall, apparently there was some ice on the road. other cars/trucks were going at 65 mph+. . i have never felt that "floating" in my 45 years of driving thru snow and ice.

Reported in: TOMAH WI || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCCC1C3

SUSPENSION

i was driving on a interstate highway when the rear of the car started to wander from right to left, it acted like it was floating on the highway. i took the next exit to check for a tire losing air pressure or loose lug nuts. they were fine. i slowed down to 50 -55 mph for the rest of the trip. every bridge and overpass i slowed down to 50 mph and yet the rear of the vehicle would jump side ways. the highway was wet from a recent snowfall, apparently there was some ice on the road. other cars/trucks were going at 65 mph+. . i have never felt that "floating" in my 45 years of driving thru snow and ice.

Reported in: TOMAH WI || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCCC1C3

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

tl* the contact owns a 2012 subaru outback. the contact stated that the low beam headlight projector bulb was not shielded. when the light was illuminated, the beam appeared to be vertical which caused the driver┐s vision to be obscured. the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. they were unable to so and the contact was driving around with duct tape over the light to prevent glare. the manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. the failure mileage was approximately 4,000. the current mileage was approximately 6,000.

Reported in: DILLON CO || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCFC7C3

STEERING

this 2012 vehicle presented issues from the first day of ownership. after 4 repair attempts i worked out a replacement with subaru of north america by sharing the depreciation loss out of desperation. we replace it with a 2013 outback identical to the 2012 except for color.. the problem with the steering in the 2012 and the 2013 is that both the vehicle wander all over the road. you need to keep all your attention on keeping it following the road causing extreme fatigue. it is described by me as heavy, does not return to center and in even slight turns the car suddenly pulls in the direction you are traveling which is startling like hitting black ice. taking your eyes to even the side mirrors for lane changes offers the vehicle to invite itself into oncoming traffic. this replacement 2013 i now have started presenting these symptoms after about the first 500 miles. there is a thread on the matter on the subaruoutback.org forum with over 450 replies on the matter. http://www.subaruoutback.org/forums/104-gen-4-2010-present/31638-ob-lane-wandering.html the responses on page 45 describe the problem pretty well. my responses are under joem. one response #442 was "and now, at 17 months & 25k mis, we still have a 'new' car that steers like a drunk pushing a shopping cart with a bad wheel..." how sad is that? please, look into the matter because if someone didn't get hurt already someone will. the last 60 mile drive was unbelievably exhausting. this is now my third subaru so i am not new to subaru and/or awd. or first was a 2006 forester and after 5.5 years and 60,000 it was flawless but we out grew its size. i offer your organization the opportunity to inspect and drive my vehicle to personally experience what i am describing. i can afford to trade this car at anytime but i do not want to see anyone to get hurt of lose their life. thank you

Reported in: MILFORD NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBKC0C3

SERVICE BRAKES

drove down a short hill under icy road conditions. vehicle accelerated toward the bottom of the hill. applied brakes but the anti-lock system did not work to stop the car. luckily, did not crash into the approaching barrier. had two (2) children with me. no one was injured. told dealer about this and that there was a service bulletin. was told that they did not receive one from nhtsa.

Reported in: MIDDLETOWN CT || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRDKC9C2

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

radio frequency interference is affecting the security system on the car. imagine if the rfid interference could affect steering and braking controls, this is just the start. the key fab does not work in certain area, and you have to manually unlock the car which sets off the security system. we have tried two different key fabs and they work in many areas but when standing right next to the car in a certain area the doors will not unlock, and or lock. this is a safety issue this seriously needs to be addressed with subaru. we are taking the car to the dealership to have the keys reprogrammed, but it is very worrisome to know that rfid interference is affecting the security feature on the car which becomes a safety issue, if the keys do not work, and you are stranded outside this is not safe. the security feature was built in during production from subaru. this could lead to another massive recall like toyota, subaru engineers need to ensure measures are in place as not to allow rfid interference happen in their vehicles. the dealer has not encountered this issue. we will see if this gets fixed.

Reported in: WILLOUGHBY OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRDKCXC2

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

update i took the 2012 subaru outback to the dealer, about the key fob not working in a certain area. never had a problem with the key fob until recently. the key fob will not work in one particular area where it did work before with no problem. i took the car to the dealer for evaluation and this person said he was with subaru corporate and he informed on april 16 2013, that rfid interference does happen with these vehicles and there is nothing they can do. he informed me that though the key fob may not work in one area. this is crazy, never heard that subaru cars should be subject to rfid interference. though this does happen according corporate rep at the dealership. so now my subaru outback 2012 is now subjected to rfid interference and the corporate rep says there is nothing they can do. this is a safety issue.

Reported in: WILLOUGHBY OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRDKCXC2

SEATS

we owned the car only 2 days and was out for our first drive owning our first brand new car. things seemed all good until we stopped at a bank and i put my left foot on the foot rest and pressed my back into the seat to release the tension in my pants so i could pull out my wallet when all the sudden catching me by total surprise the seat gave way. a shock went up and down my spine as i got out of the car in awe of what just happened an the condition i was in i had to sit in the passenger seat to see if it was just a fluke or is this a real problem and i just got the worst of it. with a little pressure leaning back in the seat for a few moments and snap all these seats can be broken. i was doing great and now everyday i have nerve problems and back issues i have never experienced in my life. i am height weight proportional and actually a little on the thin side. the dealership and subaru of america swore this never happened before. google and youtube "subaru outback lumbar support broke" i found problems going back to 2008!! i asked them to buy the car back but they "bent the clip a little extra" as a fix and insisted i take it home. it broke again while just driving 40mph down the road normally so i convinced them by talking to the owner to give me a trade up to the electric seat. little to know the passenger seat is the same seat as in the basic model. i own the premium now and i will do a report on it as well as i have owned many foreign cars and not one seat has ever broke on me. toyota seat holds up to anything i put it through and i have 300k miles on it!!! same with my honda civic. both bought used... please make them fix this problem! i beg you. i hope no one else ever has to deal with the pains i have had from this along with stress explaining the situation to the dealer and due to such a simple little clip and stupidity.

Reported in: ALLYN WA || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBAC9C3

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2012 subaru outback. consumer writes in regards to a high pitch squeal in vehicle while driving about 20 mph. *smd the consumer stated the noise only occurred when the temperature dropped into the 40's and lower. subaru of america declared the noise as normal without even examining the vehicle. the dealer, however, did hear the noise, but it was difficult to pinpoint the location. the consumer believed the problem was the automatic transmission or the drive mechanism.

Reported in: WESTPORT MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBCC8C3

STRUCTURE

2012 subaru outback. consumer writes in regards to a high pitch squeal in vehicle while driving about 20 mph. *smd the consumer stated the noise only occurred when the temperature dropped into the 40's and lower. subaru of america declared the noise as normal without even examining the vehicle. the dealer, however, did hear the noise, but it was difficult to pinpoint the location. the consumer believed the problem was the automatic transmission or the drive mechanism.

Reported in: WESTPORT MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBCC8C3

POWER TRAIN

the 2012 outback with an automatic transmission shifted from drive to 1st gear without moving the gear lever from drive to manual. this has occurred 10 times in 18 months, the first incident occurred about 2 months after purchasing this vehicle new. the problem has always occurred after coming to a stop at a stop sign, then, as i accelerate from the stop, the transmission goes into 1st gear and the car immediately stops accelerating because it is stuck in 1st gear. the gear lever is always in drive when this occurs, but the dash displays that the transmission is in 1st gear. to resolve it, i have moved the gear lever from drive to manual and then back to drive which puts the transmission back into drive. on one occasion, leaving a stop sign to enter a freeway ramp, the transmission went into 2nd gear. again, the gear lever was in the drive position. i immediately applied the breaks and just before coming to a complete stop on the side of the freeway on-ramp, i witnessed the "2" on the dash display change to "d" and the car was in drive again - without touching the gear lever. subaru first said that this was impossible, now they say they cannot verify it. this is a very intermittent problem and so far cannot be made to occur. this is also a potentially very dangerous problem should another driver not see that my car has suddenly stopped accelerating and collide with my vehicle.

Reported in: SEIAD VALLEY CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBCC0C3

SERVICE BRAKES

i have had the car a little over a year and have had trouble with the brakes since the beginning. several times upon cold startup the brakes barely work. not always but frequently. i have to use both feet to push the pedal down to the floor and it travels several feet before stopping. i have brought it to the dealers attention several times, this last time, pushing them to keep the car to duplicate the results. they told me they could not find any problems with it and suggest that i warm the car up before moving it. i was not satisfied with that answer, t it is a safety issue, and suggest they take it higher up the chain. they kept it for a few more days and was able to duplicate the problem with my car and several on their lot. they tell me it is not a safety issue and it is just the way the car handles. the subaru national tech was out of the state and they told me they could not keep my car any longer to wait on the tech.they are closing the order and told me to come pick up my car at my convenience. i told them i was not satisfied and that i considered it a safety concern. they said i could pay extra and have some other brake options but on, but that the way it performs now is the way it is designed. just in my driveway i could easily go over the hillside or hurt someone if the car would behave that way at an inopportune moment.

Reported in: EVERGREEN CO || Crash: N || VIN #: 4SBRDKC8C22

VISIBILITY:DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

since i bought this car, while driving for 15-60 minutes with the windows rolled up and depending on conditions, myself and/or another passenger will begin to feel very light headed, irritated eyes, hard to focus, and nearly pass out. it's a forced situation like being put in a choke hold or suffocated gently not just feeling relaxed or comfy. the effects last for some time depending on exposure too. we could be lively with good energy, but using the car as said will kill it. it also occurs faster the more you breathe. the only cure is fresh air. i thought it was the hvac system first, but the fan speed doesn't seem to affect it so i'd guess it's something else. my best guess is it has something to do with the rear tail gate seal not sealing right sucking in exhaust. the reason we can't readily identify a smell is probably because it's a pzev system, and it really doesn't have a typical exhaust odor. subaru refused to help and said "it smells fine". after a month of trying they finally agreed to do a ride along for just 30 minutes. after completion one said "i don't feel anymore tired than usual" and the other agreed. they also told me at one point auto nation's subaru regional rep said "you can put your mouth on the tail pipe and suck on it and you'll be fine"... in the end i just traded it in for a 2013 outback but someone else will own this car soon. this car needs a real inspection before someone actually dies from it. i'm lucky enough to have survived because prolonged use over a few weeks makes the effects worse but if driven someone who isn't very alert probably will fall asleep and crash. i almost did a few times and why i spent this summer without ac except in my tests, all bad. again, i'm not the only person to have experienced this, other passengers have too. my new outback doesn't have this issue either. please keep me updated.

Reported in: PHOENIX AZ || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBHC4C1

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

since i bought this car, while driving for 15-60 minutes with the windows rolled up and depending on conditions, myself and/or another passenger will begin to feel very light headed, irritated eyes, hard to focus, and nearly pass out. it's a forced situation like being put in a choke hold or suffocated gently not just feeling relaxed or comfy. the effects last for some time depending on exposure too. we could be lively with good energy, but using the car as said will kill it. it also occurs faster the more you breathe. the only cure is fresh air. i thought it was the hvac system first, but the fan speed doesn't seem to affect it so i'd guess it's something else. my best guess is it has something to do with the rear tail gate seal not sealing right sucking in exhaust. the reason we can't readily identify a smell is probably because it's a pzev system, and it really doesn't have a typical exhaust odor. subaru refused to help and said "it smells fine". after a month of trying they finally agreed to do a ride along for just 30 minutes. after completion one said "i don't feel anymore tired than usual" and the other agreed. they also told me at one point auto nation's subaru regional rep said "you can put your mouth on the tail pipe and suck on it and you'll be fine"... in the end i just traded it in for a 2013 outback but someone else will own this car soon. this car needs a real inspection before someone actually dies from it. i'm lucky enough to have survived because prolonged use over a few weeks makes the effects worse but if driven someone who isn't very alert probably will fall asleep and crash. i almost did a few times and why i spent this summer without ac except in my tests, all bad. again, i'm not the only person to have experienced this, other passengers have too. my new outback doesn't have this issue either. please keep me updated.

Reported in: PHOENIX AZ || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBHC4C1

STEERING

stiff/tight steering without much feel, and lane wandering, and trouble keeping the car centered in the lane due to bad center feel.

Reported in: GREENFIELD MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBCC1C3

POWER TRAIN

this vehicle has one owner, which is me, and the transmission, downshifts and skips a gear when cold and almost caused an accident. people were almost injured and someone could have been killed. when the transmission is cold, and on a freeway and than exiting, and slowing down to 35 to 45 mph on exit the car transmission kicks and like someone is hitting you in the back, and skips a gear. subaru has a problem with this car and they need to address. took it to the dealer they reprogrammed the transmission did not work. i will be filing lemon law in my next two visits if it is not fixed.

Reported in: PAINESVILLE OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRDKCXC2

POWER TRAIN

the car was running for about 20 to 30 minutes, the outside temperature was about 35 degrees and windy. went and parked the car, return to the car, at night while it was still cold, started up and started driving the car for about a half hour and that is when it happened again. when exiting the freeway and the car goes from 60 mph to 45 mph and it is cold the transmission jerks and freezes and locks, and it feels like someone hit you in the back with a baseball bat. this has now happened several times. this can cause serious injury especially when the transmission locks up, and it can lead to a false sense of breaking and can deploy air bags.

Reported in: PAINESVILLE OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRDKCXC2

POWER TRAIN

when the car is cold the transmission locks up when exiting the freeway from 60 mph to about 45 mph it is like the scar skipped a gear and you feel a big clunk during the exiting and like someone hit you in the back with a baseball bat. this can cause serious back injury and false sense of breaking. it does not do this all the time extremely intermittently and only when the car is cold and under certain conditions. other subaru people are having the same issues from what i understand. this needs to be addressed by subaru corporate of america. also the dealer tried to reprogram the car and it did not work and the first incident occurred around nov 27, 2013. computer reprogramming of the transmission did not fix this problem. note to nhtsa, this is a very dangerous situation.

Reported in: PAINESVILLE OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRDKCXC2

POWER TRAIN

when the car is cold and just started for the first time in the morning, when exiting a freeway from 60 mph the transmission very intermittently will almost freeze and it feels like someone hit you in the back with a baseball bat. this is exiting or during the de acceleration process and it feels like someone hit you in the back with a baseball bat. this can cause whip lash and cause serious back injury and give a person a false sense of braking on exiting the highway as the transmission freezes for the split second this is very dangerous and subaru of america has not addressed this issue. from subaru of america call center told me there are several technical bulletins regarding power train issues and was not sure if any were applied to my car. took car into dealer they tried to reprogram the transmission and still have intermittent issues with the transmission locking up for a split second and shaking the whole, car, we are now afraid to drive this car because of these issues and we are afraid that we might end up going through the windshield. this is a very serious issues that only happens once in awhile and there is no way to predict, how, when or why this is happening and it is very scary to drive this car. we wish subaru would address this issue and do a recall or technical bulletin.

Reported in: PAINESVILLE OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRDKCXC2

POWER TRAIN

when the car is cold and just started for the first time in the morning, when exiting a freeway from 60 mph the transmission very intermittently will almost freeze and it feels like someone hit you in the back with a baseball bat. this is exiting or during the de acceleration process and it feels like someone hit you in the back with a baseball bat. this can cause whip lash and cause serious back injury and give a person a false sense of braking on exiting the highway as the transmission freezes for the split second this is very dangerous and subaru of america has not addressed this issue. from subaru of america call center told me there are several technical bulletins regarding power train issues and was not sure if any were applied to my car. took car into dealer they tried to reprogram the transmission and still have intermittent issues with the transmission locking up for a split second and shaking the whole, car, we are now afraid to drive this car because of these issues and we are afraid that we might end up going through the windshield. this is a very serious issues that only happens once in awhile and there is no way to predict, how, when or why this is happening and it is very scary to drive this car. we wish subaru would address this issue and do a recall or technical bulletin dealer tried reprogramming transmission control and it still has issues and these are extremely intermittent issues with these incidents.

Reported in: PAINESVILLE OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRDKCXC2

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

the headlights of my outback have burned out at least 4 times. the dealer claims there is no issue with the electrical system.

Reported in: MONTICELLO MN || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i was driving into work on the morning of 3/3/14 when i notice a smoke/burning odor. i discounted it but kept alert waiting for a engine light to come on. it became evident that it was from my outback. i got the car parked. shortly after flames erupted from underneath the hood. i was able to reach a fire extinguisher and put the fire out. based on conversations with fire department and insurance investigators it appears that the source was from wind shield wiper motor.

Reported in: SPOKANE WA || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCLC6C3

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

on may 2, 2014, attempted to move the subject vehicle from the garage and the car would not move forward or reverse, as the brakes where totally locked. the car was moved to lee subaru, fort walton beach, fl by car transport, where i was told the parking brake module was defective due to damage and was not covered by warranty. in may 2012, i was forced to drive over a tire tread in order to avoid an accident at 70 mph. the tread bounced off the under carriage of the car. the brakes worked for 24 months after this incident without problem until may 2, 2014. there had been heavy rain in the area at this time (april 29-30, 2014) and possibly water had entered the module causing the problem. i consider this a problem due to subaru locating a delicate electronic component controlling brake function in a location subject to all normal road hazards, rocks, ice, snow, rain, debris, etc., especially so despite marketing images of a "rugged outdoors off road auto" cross country in australia, driving over riverbed rocks and gravel, snow, ice, etc. this component should be located within the auto envelope, under the seat not exposed under the auto, protected by a piece of "dollar store" plastic. i have been informed by the lee subaru service manager that this module affects only the parking/emergency brake. i cannot verify this claim without a detailed schematic. never the less, i have reservations concerning the brakes being applied with no driver input with a potentially disastrous effect.

Reported in: GULF BREEZE FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCJC5C3

STEERING

steering wheel locked-up while attempting to turn left in an intersection. the light turned green and my wife pulled forward about 10 to 15 feet and began turning the wheel for a left turn. however, the wheel would not budge to the left. she screamed out (to me) that the car would not turn left and we found ourselves perilously in the center of the intersection with cars blowing their horns. she did move the wheel to the right and we sort of circled in the intersection. following this the car did resume normal steering and the problem did not repeat since. the next day (monday) the car went to the garage where subaru said they looked it over completely but could not find a cause or the problem. despite my concerns they insisted all is well and to return if this occurs again.

Reported in: CLEVELAND HTS OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCKC2C3

AIR BAGS

my subaru was hit head on driver's side by another car going 35-40 mph. my subaru's airbags did not deploy. extensive damage in 13k range to frame and left front of car. i had extensive damage to right hand and shoulder in attempt to brace myself. other car's airbags deployed. other driver fled scene. other car's insured, called car in, as stolen to police. other party's insurance is denying coverage for accident to me, as driver/insured lied to police..... updated 08/05/14 *bf updated 08/19/2014 *js

Reported in: MOBILE AL || Crash: Y || VIN #: 4S4BRDJC7C2

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

coolant light then check engine light on. after driving 2 1/2 hours coolant appeared to be leaking so filled coolant to top with water.. 12 minutes later, while driving, lights back on/engine rev/engine dies/ smoke. lifted hood/many flames from center /slammed hood shut and ran far away. several small explosions as car burned. voluntary fire dept. finally arrived but car almost totally gone. only back tires left usable.

Reported in: HUNTERTOWN IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCCC4C3

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL:CRUISE CONTROL

tl* the contact owns a 2012 subaru outback. the contact stated that the cruise control switch malfunctioned. the vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. the vehicle was not repaired. the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. the failure mileage was 10 and the current mileage was 21,000.

Reported in: SYCAMORE IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRCAC3C3

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl* the contact owns a 2012 subaru outback. when the vehicle was taken to the dealer for a routine inspection, the mechanic discovered that all four brakes were rusted and needed to be replaced. the vehicle was taken to three other mechanics who did not indicate that the brakes needed replacing. while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled and was towed to a mechanic. the mechanic stated that someone unplugged and misplaced the wiring under the hood and the clip was fractured. the contact was informed that the clip needed to be replaced and the wires re-adjusted. the vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. the approximate failure mileage was 44,000.

Reported in: WOLCOTT VT || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBACXC3

SERVICE BRAKES

tl* the contact owns a 2012 subaru outback. when the vehicle was taken to the dealer for a routine inspection, the mechanic discovered that all four brakes were rusted and needed to be replaced. the vehicle was taken to three other mechanics who did not indicate that the brakes needed replacing. while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled and was towed to a mechanic. the mechanic stated that someone unplugged and misplaced the wiring under the hood and the clip was fractured. the contact was informed that the clip needed to be replaced and the wires re-adjusted. the vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. the approximate failure mileage was 44,000.

Reported in: WOLCOTT VT || Crash: N || VIN #: 4S4BRBACXC3