pontiac sunfire Problems

pontiac sunfire 2005 Complaints

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:IGNITION

fatal flaw. the vehicle i am speaking of is a pontiac sunfire possibly 2005 model year. i had rented it from a rental company and used it for about a month. during the use there were a couple of incidents where i would remove the key from the ignition thinking the car was off but come back an hour later to find out that the engine was still running. i didn't really care about this but i was watching on news and found out that an entire family of 6 had died because of carbon monoxide poisoning. so this simple possible defect of the pontiac could be fatal. i don't know if it is a defect for all pontiac sunfires but it should be checked out because of the possibility of death. *jb

Reported in: MIAMI FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

EXTERIOR LIGHTING:TURN SIGNAL

the rear turn lights on our 2003 pontiac sunfire continue to fail leaving us without turn signals. we have taken the vehicle back to the dealer, including under a safety recall, but the fix (put "grease" on the bulb) has not ended the problem.

Reported in: MAINEVILLE OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 1G2JB12F637

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL:CRUISE CONTROL

while driving with cruise control on in a remote area of utah (between milford and minersville) i ran over a cattle guard running across the road. immediately, my gas pedal dropped to the floor and attempted to gain maximum speed. several steps on the brake pedal finally disengaged the cruise control. if this had happened in a high volume traffic area, or in the nearby s-turns going through the canyon, this could have caused a very serious accident or worse. fortunately the event only lasted a few seconds and managed to scare the crap out of me. i know i had no part in causing this because at the moment i was resting my feet and neither foot was on the brakes or gas pedal. unknown if this would happen again because i refused to use the cruise control any more during my trip. this was a rental car with apx 27,500 miles on it. *nm

Reported in: TOOELE UT || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F75S

SUSPENSION

clunking noise in front and rear of car when braking during turning and on uneven or rough roads. had to shop 4 days and no results.

Reported in: SAINT ANSGAR IA || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2005 pontiac sunfire continuously stalling. has been back to dealer four times, going back for fifth. they cannot find a problem. this creates a very dangerous situation, and nearly resulted in accidents when it stalled as i attempted to clear intersections. pontiac hq in canada of no assistance whatsoever, dealer unable to resolve problem. a total lack of caring about resolving the issue, or the fact that this is a defective, unsafe vehicle from all levels of this company. *jb

Reported in: VANCOUVER 00 || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

date: 5/2/07 sunfire 2005 was purchased brand new in 9/05 investment purpose in a new car for safety, reliability, gas mileage, non-repair and price of vehicle. at 26,000 miles, $900 of repairs were placed on the car in upgrades to keep the vehicle running, to-date, counting 10 failures, first date of failure requiring car repair 12/27/06. (not including vehicle maintenance) repairs demand at a minimum 3hrs of time at each repair visit. repairs on vehicle demand just a few more hundred dollars in cash payments and cost of a car rental while vehicle is down. incidences of failure on vehicle remain unresolved due to pontiac's denial and refusal to fix the vehicle. supportive documents will show price gouging, harassment and a defective vehicle. the following failures have occurred on the gmc/pontiac sunfire 05 vehicle: trunk latch failure, no crank - battery failure, all four tires failed warped, cracked, frayed apart, brake pad failure. following are failures occurring on the vehicle left unresolved: brakes squeak, maneuvering in turning vehicle makes noise, vehicle bounces/rocks forward when parking and stopping, vehicle bounces/rocks backward at stop. these failures are just a few and counting.

Reported in: DEERFIELD BEACH FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

POWER TRAIN

date: 5/2/07 sunfire 2005 was purchased brand new in 9/05 investment purpose in a new car for safety, reliability, gas mileage, non-repair and price of vehicle. at 26,000 miles, $900 of repairs were placed on the car in upgrades to keep the vehicle running, to-date, counting 10 failures, first date of failure requiring car repair 12/27/06. (not including vehicle maintenance) repairs demand at a minimum 3hrs of time at each repair visit. repairs on vehicle demand just a few more hundred dollars in cash payments and cost of a car rental while vehicle is down. incidences of failure on vehicle remain unresolved due to pontiac's denial and refusal to fix the vehicle. supportive documents will show price gouging, harassment and a defective vehicle. the following failures have occurred on the gmc/pontiac sunfire 05 vehicle: trunk latch failure, no crank - battery failure, all four tires failed warped, cracked, frayed apart, brake pad failure. following are failures occurring on the vehicle left unresolved: brakes squeak, maneuvering in turning vehicle makes noise, vehicle bounces/rocks forward when parking and stopping, vehicle bounces/rocks backward at stop. these failures are just a few and counting.

Reported in: DEERFIELD BEACH FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

STEERING

date: 5/2/07 sunfire 2005 was purchased brand new in 9/05 investment purpose in a new car for safety, reliability, gas mileage, non-repair and price of vehicle. at 26,000 miles, $900 of repairs were placed on the car in upgrades to keep the vehicle running, to-date, counting 10 failures, first date of failure requiring car repair 12/27/06. (not including vehicle maintenance) repairs demand at a minimum 3hrs of time at each repair visit. repairs on vehicle demand just a few more hundred dollars in cash payments and cost of a car rental while vehicle is down. incidences of failure on vehicle remain unresolved due to pontiac's denial and refusal to fix the vehicle. supportive documents will show price gouging, harassment and a defective vehicle. the following failures have occurred on the gmc/pontiac sunfire 05 vehicle: trunk latch failure, no crank - battery failure, all four tires failed warped, cracked, frayed apart, brake pad failure. following are failures occurring on the vehicle left unresolved: brakes squeak, maneuvering in turning vehicle makes noise, vehicle bounces/rocks forward when parking and stopping, vehicle bounces/rocks backward at stop. these failures are just a few and counting.

Reported in: DEERFIELD BEACH FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

TIRES

date: 5/2/07 sunfire 2005 was purchased brand new in 9/05 investment purpose in a new car for safety, reliability, gas mileage, non-repair and price of vehicle. at 26,000 miles, $900 of repairs were placed on the car in upgrades to keep the vehicle running, to-date, counting 10 failures, first date of failure requiring car repair 12/27/06. (not including vehicle maintenance) repairs demand at a minimum 3hrs of time at each repair visit. repairs on vehicle demand just a few more hundred dollars in cash payments and cost of a car rental while vehicle is down. incidences of failure on vehicle remain unresolved due to pontiac's denial and refusal to fix the vehicle. supportive documents will show price gouging, harassment and a defective vehicle. the following failures have occurred on the gmc/pontiac sunfire 05 vehicle: trunk latch failure, no crank - battery failure, all four tires failed warped, cracked, frayed apart, brake pad failure. following are failures occurring on the vehicle left unresolved: brakes squeak, maneuvering in turning vehicle makes noise, vehicle bounces/rocks forward when parking and stopping, vehicle bounces/rocks backward at stop. these failures are just a few and counting.

Reported in: DEERFIELD BEACH FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

SUSPENSION

date: 5/2/07 sunfire 2005 was purchased brand new in 9/05 investment purpose in a new car for safety, reliability, gas mileage, non-repair and price of vehicle. at 26,000 miles, $900 of repairs were placed on the car in upgrades to keep the vehicle running, to-date, counting 10 failures, first date of failure requiring car repair 12/27/06. (not including vehicle maintenance) repairs demand at a minimum 3hrs of time at each repair visit. repairs on vehicle demand just a few more hundred dollars in cash payments and cost of a car rental while vehicle is down. incidences of failure on vehicle remain unresolved due to pontiac's denial and refusal to fix the vehicle. supportive documents will show price gouging, harassment and a defective vehicle. the following failures have occurred on the gmc/pontiac sunfire 05 vehicle: trunk latch failure, no crank - battery failure, all four tires failed warped, cracked, frayed apart, brake pad failure. following are failures occurring on the vehicle left unresolved: brakes squeak, maneuvering in turning vehicle makes noise, vehicle bounces/rocks forward when parking and stopping, vehicle bounces/rocks backward at stop. these failures are just a few and counting.

Reported in: DEERFIELD BEACH FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

date: 5/2/07 sunfire 2005 was purchased brand new in 9/05 investment purpose in a new car for safety, reliability, gas mileage, non-repair and price of vehicle. at 26,000 miles, $900 of repairs were placed on the car in upgrades to keep the vehicle running, to-date, counting 10 failures, first date of failure requiring car repair 12/27/06. (not including vehicle maintenance) repairs demand at a minimum 3hrs of time at each repair visit. repairs on vehicle demand just a few more hundred dollars in cash payments and cost of a car rental while vehicle is down. incidences of failure on vehicle remain unresolved due to pontiac's denial and refusal to fix the vehicle. supportive documents will show price gouging, harassment and a defective vehicle. the following failures have occurred on the gmc/pontiac sunfire 05 vehicle: trunk latch failure, no crank - battery failure, all four tires failed warped, cracked, frayed apart, brake pad failure. following are failures occurring on the vehicle left unresolved: brakes squeak, maneuvering in turning vehicle makes noise, vehicle bounces/rocks forward when parking and stopping, vehicle bounces/rocks backward at stop. these failures are just a few and counting.

Reported in: DEERFIELD BEACH FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:TRUNK LID:LOCK

date: 5/2/07 sunfire 2005 was purchased brand new in 9/05 investment purpose in a new car for safety, reliability, gas mileage, non-repair and price of vehicle. at 26,000 miles, $900 of repairs were placed on the car in upgrades to keep the vehicle running, to-date, counting 10 failures, first date of failure requiring car repair 12/27/06. (not including vehicle maintenance) repairs demand at a minimum 3hrs of time at each repair visit. repairs on vehicle demand just a few more hundred dollars in cash payments and cost of a car rental while vehicle is down. incidences of failure on vehicle remain unresolved due to pontiac's denial and refusal to fix the vehicle. supportive documents will show price gouging, harassment and a defective vehicle. the following failures have occurred on the gmc/pontiac sunfire 05 vehicle: trunk latch failure, no crank - battery failure, all four tires failed warped, cracked, frayed apart, brake pad failure. following are failures occurring on the vehicle left unresolved: brakes squeak, maneuvering in turning vehicle makes noise, vehicle bounces/rocks forward when parking and stopping, vehicle bounces/rocks backward at stop. these failures are just a few and counting.

Reported in: DEERFIELD BEACH FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS

2005 pontiac sunfire with 27,000 miles. rear brake retaining spring broke while driving. broken parts fell into the drum causing noise and excessive heating of the drum. had to pay for the part and fix it after waiting three days to get the part from the dealer. old part is available.

Reported in: BURLINGTON KY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F55S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i have 2005 sunfire and about 37,000 miles the speedometer doesn't work right the fuel gage stopped working if your stopped after after driving for a while speedometer say your doing 110mph and it stay there?

Reported in: DAYTON TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F05S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

speedometer failure- one day, i was driving to work on a residential road about 35 mph and noticed that my speedometer was registering 80 mph. this came to a great shock to me. i attempted to shut off the ignition to see if the speedometer would reset and it didn't. also, the speedometer would not return to 0 mph- it only dropped to about 65mph. i searched 2005 pontiac sunfire speedometer and 2005 chevrolet cavalier speedometer in google and have found many blog postings on automotive websites about the same issue with an inaccurate speedometer and/or gauge cluster malfunction. this issue also seems to extend beyond the sunfire/cavalier models to other gm vehicles back to 1993. my car has approximately 50,000 miles on it and while i have been out of the warranty based on the mileage for some time, if i had not exceeded the mileage restriction, i would have just passed the 3 year mark on dec. 12, 2007. it seems that many other sunfire/cavalier and gm product owners experiencing the same issue first experienced the issue just outside of the 3 year warranty period. there are currently law suits pending against gm to pay for speedometer repairs. one poster on the car blog said that when he saw his speedometer read 65 mph on a residential street he quickly hit his brakes and if anyone had been behind him, it would have caused a crash. for this reason, i believe that this defective speedometer issue could cause a safety hazard.

Reported in: DOVER FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F05S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl*the contact owns a 2005 pontiac sunfire. while driving 35 mph, the vehicle suddenly began to decelerate and the air conditioner began blowing warm air followed by a burning smell. prior to the failure, whenever the contact would drive the vehicle with the air conditioner activated at any speed, she could hear a rattling sound coming from the air conditioner unit. the vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. updated 09/17/08. *lj the consumer was told if she turned the vehicle off, it would not start again. updated 09/24/08. b*jb

Reported in: VIRGINIA BEACH VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

the gas gauge and the tachometer on my car both are not working properly. when i fill up the car, the gas gauge doesn't reset and often falls over into the speedometer. the tack hasn't worked in over a year. warranty expired on the car. mechanics said i'd have to replace the entire panel, giving my car an incorrect read on the mileage.

Reported in: TUCSON AZ || Crash: N || VIN #:

VISIBILITY:DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

rear defrost would not work for two days and on the thrid day tried if again, then a few minutes later, my rear glass exploded.

Reported in: CENTRAL CITY KY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F25S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

all gauges on the dash have failed: temp, tach, speedometer and fuel.

Reported in: GREENVILLE SC || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

all dash gauges have ultimately failed. first, speedometer was erratic. then tachometer failed. now all dash gauges are inoperative. requires full replacement of gauge module.

Reported in: ROCKWALL TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F65S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

only routine driving preceded this incident. the tachometer and speedometer on my 2005 pontiac sunfire began to act erratic prior to 33,000 miles. at ~34,500 miles the tachometer completely failed in a position which prevented the speedometer from functioning (the speedometer needle was held down by the tachometer needle). this was a tremendous safety concern especially since my teenage daughter was driving the vehicle. this appears to be an all too common problem for several late model gm vehicles and should be considered a safety concern since it prevents the proper operation of the vehicle and can distract the driver. i canŅt imagine that a speedometer failure would not represent a safety defect and warrant action. i have had the instrument panel replaced at the dealer. i contacted pontiac customer service and they appear to only log complaints. i was informed that recalls of this nature were based on consumer complaints regardless of how many of the specific part they know they have replaced. that is crazy Ņ if they know that a large number of a certain part is failing they should replace it without waiting for the issue to manifest itself in an accident. in addition, the driver side electric window is also not functioning properly - which also appears to be occurring in several gm models. this is also a safety concern because it could prevent the occupants of the vehicle from exiting it in an emergency. gm is aware that this is a workmanship/material quality issue.

Reported in: FARMINGTON AR || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F25S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

the speedometer and tachometer failed on my 2005 pontiac sunfire while driving down i-4 in florida. this causes a serve safety hazard not knowing how fast you are gong. from research done on the internet, this is an all to common problem with this vehicle. it seems to occur just after the vehicle comes out of warranty.

Reported in: DAVENPORT FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F55S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

2005 pontiac sunfire speedometer & tachometer quit in rush hour traffic. gauges ran into each other - no other problems just occurred out of the blue. only 33,000 miles on vehicle.

Reported in: MT. STERLING OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F95S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

at first my speedometer would just stick occasionally, but now it never works at all. it is always either at 0 or stuck on some random number. i have been looking online and many other people with 2005 sunfire's have had the same problem and it is incredibly frustrating. i have yet to find someone who was willing to look at my car and attempt to pull the dash apart to fix it.

Reported in: BELLEVILLE IL || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

speedometer stops working during driving.

Reported in: ALEXANDRIA VA || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

tl*the contact owns a 2005 pontiac sunfire. while driving at an unknown speed, the tachometer was not working properly. the meter would rise and fall without the vehicle changing speed. in addition, all of the other gauges were malfunctioning. the vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. the current and failure mileages were 83,000.

Reported in: PAHRUMP NV || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F05S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2005 pontiac sunfire gas gauge & speedometer has finally stopped working, after many sporadic failures. can't tell how fast car is going - can't judge when car may run out of gas. driving in inclement weather makes this all the more dangerous. had this happen on the 2003 model and had to replace full component. this is obviously a dangerous and ongoing defect in sunfires and pontiac needs to recall & correct. to continue to have this problem in models shows a total lack of safety concern on the auto makers part. please investigate.

Reported in: JAMESTOWN OH || Crash: N || VIN #:

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

the gas gauge is having major problems especially when it is really hot or cold outside. the gas gauge will go the opposite direction into the speedometer. now it is stuck on the dash and will not move. i also had problems with the speedometer getting stuck. it was telling me i was doing 100mph while i was stopped. this is extremely frustrating because i am not able to tell how much gas i have in my tank and how fast i am going. this item really needs to be recalled.

Reported in: OCOEE FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

the gas gauge is having major problems especially when it is really hot or cold outside. the gas gauge will go the opposite direction into the speedometer. now it is stuck on the dash and will not move. i also had problems with the speedometer getting stuck. it was telling me i was doing 100mph while i was stopped. this is extremely frustrating because i am not able to tell how much gas i have in my tank and how fast i am going. this item really needs to be recalled.

Reported in: OCOEE FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

2005 pontiac sunfire, 36000 miles, mfg date 2-2005 beginning approximately 2 months ago, the speedometer has become increasingly unreliable to the point of total failure. the problem seems to be compounded by higher temperatures as it is worse when car gets hot from sitting in sun and less so when ambient temps are cooler as in the morning. as a lot of my driving is done in city and in lower speed limit areas, this presents a safety issue not only for myself but for others.

Reported in: NEW BRAUNFELS TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F95S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2005 pontiac sunfire..instrument gauges erratic....temp gauge pegs all the way to rpm gauge and sometimes rpm gauge does not work.

Reported in: DEBARY FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

tl*the contact owns a 2005 pontiac sunfire. while driving 35 - 40 mph she heard a noise in the dashboard. she stated that the speedometer, temperature, gas gauge all stopped working properly. she stated the entire instrument cluster was malfunctioning. the failure has been on going for two months. the vehicle has not been taken to the dealer for the failure. the vehicle was purchase used in 2009. the failure mileage was 78,000 and the current mileage was 82,334.

Reported in: PORTLAND TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2005 pontiac sunfire 2 door coupe; serious electrical failure...all dash components do not work and shops that we take car to try to fix problems with speedometer, tach, and temp gauges...not fixed; then ac goes off and on sometimes works/sometimes does not. have spent over 2k in repairs, still not fixed and now the trunk latch has malfunctioned and has to be replaced. car dies in extreme heat. shops say electrical system malfunctions a lot on this model.

Reported in: MALAKOFF TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F15S

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

2005 pontiac sunfire 2 door coupe; serious electrical failure...all dash components do not work and shops that we take car to try to fix problems with speedometer, tach, and temp gauges...not fixed; then ac goes off and on sometimes works/sometimes does not. have spent over 2k in repairs, still not fixed and now the trunk latch has malfunctioned and has to be replaced. car dies in extreme heat. shops say electrical system malfunctions a lot on this model.

Reported in: MALAKOFF TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F15S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

my husband and i purchased a 2005 pontiac sunfire in 2006. it had 13,000 miles at that time and had been a really reliable car. my husband has changed the oil and filter on a regular schedule as well as the air filter. it still gets 33 mpg on the freeway and the mileage was about 68,000 when the instrument cluster started to go bad. if the gauges hadn't started to malfunction about 6-8 months ago i would have no complaints. the vehicle's temperature gauge started climbing off the charts one day when we were about forty miles from home. we we driving 65 mph. on the freeway when it started. we pulled off as soon as we could to check the motor and found that it was not overheated at all and we had no leaks in sight. i feel very blesses that no one was injured. with in a month the gauge eventually spun all the way around and started effecting the tachometer. now the speedometer is not working properly because of the tachometer. if the cluster had been designed with a bumper pin to stop the gauges from making a complete 360 rotation, it might have not burned out so soon. our temperature gauge has made about 3 or 4 revolutions so far making the other gauges even more inaccurate. the tachometer is on it's second trip around the gauge so we know the speedometer is not far behind. we are very disappointed with our choice at this time and are considering a different manufacture for our next vehicle. my father was a diesel mechanic for fifty years and he always instilled on me to buy american when it came to my cars. i always have and don't plan to change that but, i will do more research next time. this problem was posted on every web sight i found and has been happening for years. it's time to be more cautious.

Reported in: STOCKTON CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F55S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

purchase a 2005 pontiac sunfire in 2006. vehicle was purchased as a program car. the speedometer started malfunctioning during the winter times when it was cold outside. after the car had warmed up the speedometer would ,again, function as intended. this month, november 2010, the vehicle's fuel gauge, speedometer, and tachometer have all malfunctioned and are not correcting after the vehicle warms. the failures have not corrected and are still malfunctioning today, november 27,2010. gmc has class action settlement qualifies certain owners for a special coverage adjustment (special policy adjustment 07187a) to their standard warranty for allegedly defective speedometers. the common cause for all these issues is a faulty stepper motor (xc5.168). the motor was used throughout general motorŅs entire production line from 2003 to 2007. for those with a technical bent, this includes the gmt800, k20, gm360, and gmx380 platforms. models effected include : * buick lesabre * buick rendezvous * chevy avalanche * chevy silverado * chevy suburban * chevy tahoe * chevy impala * chevy trailblazer * chevy monte carlo * gmc yukon * gmc yukon xl * gmc sierra * gmc envoy * gmc denali * cadillac escalade * cadillac escalade esv * cadillac escalade ext * hummer h2 * pontiac sunfire on november 7, 2008, the u.s. district court in seattle granted final approval of a class action settlement for owners and lessees of certain 2003 to 2005 general motors vehicles with allegedly defective speedometers. those certain vehicles did not include all of the vehicles with this problem. why not! those included include: chevrolet avalanche, chevrolet silverado ,chevrolet suburban, chevrolet tahoe, gmc yukon, gmc yukon xl, gmc sierra, cadillac escalade, cadillac escalade esv,cadillac escalade ext . something should be done to include all vehicles affected due to faulty manufacturing!

Reported in: DEVILLE LA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F95S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

tl* the contact owns a 2005 pontiac sunfire coupe. the contact was driving 55 mph when the temperature gauge spiked into the red zone. the contact moved off the roadway and turned the vehicle off. once the vehicle was restarted, all gauges on the instrument panel were inoperable. the dealer advised her that the instrument panel could be replaced but could not guarantee that the repair would remedy the failure. the manufacturer advised the contact that the repair would be at her expense yet they also could not guarantee that the repair would rectify the failure. the vehicle was not repaired. the failure mileage was 68,000. updated 03/16/11

Reported in: OSCEOLA IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F05S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

speedometer was not steady during acceleration or deceleration then it just stopped at 55 to 60 mph. next time i drove the vehicle it did not work at all until the car got warm and all of my other gauges started having problems. my fuel gauge and temperature gauge went all the way around and just stopped and my rpm does not work at all. i took the vehicle to the dealership and they put it on the computer and said that it just needs to be reset and that i needed a new battery, after i got that fixed i took it home and 2 days later it started all over again. i took the vehicle back to the dealership and they said that it might be a gauge cluster they were not sure and that it would be $500. i could not afford it at the time so i decided not to get it fixed since they could not guarantee me that was the problem. my speedometer does work as long as it is warm outside. i looked online for any information on the problem and found out that it is not only my vehicle make, model or year that has the exact same problem and that there is now a class action suit against gm for the issue.

Reported in: RAYMORE MO || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F85S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

odometer and speedometer malfunction and failure pontiac sunfire 2005.

Reported in: BROOKLYN MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F55S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl*the contact owns a 2005 pontiac sunfire. the contact stated that the all of the gauges on the instrument panel have failed and are misreading. the vehicle had not been inspected by a dealer, but when she called them they informed her that there would be a fee for diagnostic testing. the vehicle was not repaired. the failure mileage was approximately 35,000. the vin was unavailable.

Reported in: JACKSONVILLE FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl*the contact owns a 2005 pontiac sunfire. while driving at an unknown speed, the contact noticed that the instrument cluster and none of the gauges were working. the vehicle was not taken to the dealer nor a local mechanic to diagnose the failure. the failure had been ongoing for three months. the approximate failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was unknown.

Reported in: ESCONDIDO CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F25S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

i have a 2005 pontiac sunfire. the gauges on the dashboard have completely gone bad. i cannot even acquire a proper speed reading.

Reported in: LEVITTOWN PA || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

tl*the contact owns a 2005 pontiac sunfire. while driving approximately 35 mph, the contact noticed that the instrument cluster was not functioning properly. the rpms and speedometer gauges were touching one another and preventing both from moving. the contact could not determine the speed at which she was driving due to the defective speedometer. the vehicle was taken to several local mechanics who stated that the instrument cluster was defective. the vehicle had not been repaired. the failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage is 48,909. updated 5/24/11 *cn updated 06/20/11

Reported in: LANCASTER OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F15S

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

i purchased my 2005 pontiac sunfire in september of 2005. i bought an extended warranty which expired at 75000 miles. my speedometer goes down to zero when driving. the speedometer will start working again after the car sits for a few hours; however, now the speedometer will not work at all if the car has been sitting outside in the heat. it is very dangerous to be driving and not know what speed you are going. for the last three days after working all day, i go out and start my car and the speedometer is stuck below zero so i have to drive home on the freeway not knowing what speed i am driving. this is a huge safety concern and gm should be made to fix this problem. after researching on the internet i have found out that this problem has been going on for several years. i traded in a foreign car to buy my sunfire and now i am regretting that decision. i no longer have faith in gm vehicles. i have not taken the car into a dealer because i have been off work for 3 months due to back surgery so i do not have the money to pay for repairs that gm should be taking care of anyway.

Reported in: INDIANAPOLIS IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F35S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

own a 2005 sunfire and the instrument cluster is malfunctioning. the gas gauge has stopped working altogether and the temp and rpm gauge work erratically. this is definitely a recall issue and has nothing to do with the maintenance of the vehicle. gm wants me to have a dealer check the vehicle when they are well aware of this issue as there are multiple posting from owners of this issue online.

Reported in: BERWICK PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F85S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

own a 2005 pontiac sunfire and the instrument cluster is failing. it started a month after my vehicle went out of warranty. i took it to the dealership and they said, "oh your car is not really overheating and it will cost too much to fix it, estimating over $800"--there suggestion was to just leave it because i should know when my car is really overheating. since then both the gas gauge and temperature gauge will get stuck in extremely hot weather or erratically go around in circles like the hands on a clock. this is definitely a safety hazard and gm should really consider fixing it considering all the testimonies that are listed on the internet of people having the same issue. it is a manufacturing problem not the buyers.

Reported in: HOPEWELL VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F95S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl* the contact owns a 2005 pontiac sunfire. while driving approximately 35-65 mph, the contact noticed the entire instrument panel failed to function including the speed odometer and fuel gauge. the failure occurred during extremely hot or cold weather temperatures. the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated the failure was related to a faulty instrument cluster. the vehicle was not repaired. the manufacturer was notified of the defect. the approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

Reported in: BERWICK PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F85S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i have a 2005 pontiac sunfire 4 door, vin [xxx] . i have been generally happy with the car. starting in early december of 2010, my entire intrument panel cluster stopped working. it started with the fuel gauge showing out of the range of the gauge and then the temperature gauge started malfunctioning and reading artificially high. i brought it to scherer chevrolet, buick, gmc in kitchener, [xxx] where i work. i asked if there were any hidden or secret warranties on this as i didn't feel this was something that should go on a car. they said there wasn't. they did extend me a "goodwill" discount but even with that it cost me $635.55 parts and labour to replace the instrument cluster. i intend to write to gm canada and include copies of these other reports and try and negotiate a refund as i think this repair should be covered. *kb information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u.s.c. 552(b)(6) *kb

Reported in: ONTARIO, N1H 2R7 00 || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB52FX5S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

i have a 2005 pontiac sunfire 4 door, vin [xxx] . i have been generally happy with the car. starting in early december of 2010, my entire intrument panel cluster stopped working. it started with the fuel gauge showing out of the range of the gauge and then the temperature gauge started malfunctioning and reading artificially high. i brought it to scherer chevrolet, buick, gmc in kitchener, [xxx] where i work. i asked if there were any hidden or secret warranties on this as i didn't feel this was something that should go on a car. they said there wasn't. they did extend me a "goodwill" discount but even with that it cost me $635.55 parts and labour to replace the instrument cluster. i intend to write to gm canada and include copies of these other reports and try and negotiate a refund as i think this repair should be covered. *kb information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u.s.c. 552(b)(6) *kb

Reported in: ONTARIO, N1H 2R7 00 || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB52FX5S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

the instrument panel, driving along and all of a sudden all gauges are lost including speedometer. this happens intermittently, with no rhyme or reason then comes back on own and goes out again. includes all gauges on instrument panel. stays out for up to half hour or more.

Reported in: PLEASANT VALLEY NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F95S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

we have a 2005 pontiac sunfire with 50000 miles on it. the other day the speedometer started fluctuating erratically. it is now stuck on 50mph. after reading several forums on the internet, it is very apparent that this is a common problem with the sunfire and cavalier vehicles. the instrument panel cluster is defective on these vehicles and it also affects the other gauges. gm has not issued a recall despite the numerous complaints and it is a 500 to 800 dollar repair bill to replace the instrument cluster. to me this is a serious safety issue. not knowing the correct speed of the vehicle at any given time is an issue. there are several instances on car complaints.com where people have been driving causing panic when their speedometer starts jumping around. to me the car manufacturers are depending on unreliable electronics to do vital tasks that used to be done by more reliable and safer mechanical means. example being the toyota throttle problem. it is my hope that if enough complaints are filed, a forced gm recall could be obtained. we are already paying for gm's mistakes through the government bailout. it's time they paid for theirs. *kb

Reported in: OREGON OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F65S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

we have a 2005 pontiac sunfire with 50000 miles on it. the other day the speedometer started fluctuating erratically. it is now stuck on 50mph. after reading several forums on the internet, it is very apparent that this is a common problem with the sunfire and cavalier vehicles. the instrument panel cluster is defective on these vehicles and it also affects the other gauges. gm has not issued a recall despite the numerous complaints and it is a 500 to 800 dollar repair bill to replace the instrument cluster. to me this is a serious safety issue. not knowing the correct speed of the vehicle at any given time is an issue. there are several instances on car complaints.com where people have been driving causing panic when their speedometer starts jumping around. to me the car manufacturers are depending on unreliable electronics to do vital tasks that used to be done by more reliable and safer mechanical means. example being the toyota throttle problem. it is my hope that if enough complaints are filed, a forced gm recall could be obtained. we are already paying for gm's mistakes through the government bailout. it's time they paid for theirs. *kb

Reported in: OREGON OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F65S

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

in looking up what the problem with my car i have found that several other cars seem be having the same problems. the instrument panel cluster works when it feels like it. most days the only instrument that is working is the speedometer. generally i use a garmin to make sure that i am at the correct speed. the temperature gauge and the tachometer is no longer working. recently i have notice that the lights in the radio are not all lighting up. seems that this should be a recall issue that the dealer should be handling for the amount of complaints i am finding on this vehicle. this problem seems to be a common problem with the 2005 pontiac sunfire.

Reported in: CONESUS NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

in looking up what the problem with my car i have found that several other cars seem be having the same problems. the instrument panel cluster works when it feels like it. most days the only instrument that is working is the speedometer. generally i use a garmin to make sure that i am at the correct speed. the temperature gauge and the tachometer is no longer working. recently i have notice that the lights in the radio are not all lighting up. seems that this should be a recall issue that the dealer should be handling for the amount of complaints i am finding on this vehicle. this problem seems to be a common problem with the 2005 pontiac sunfire.

Reported in: CONESUS NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

in looking up what the problem with my car i have found that several other cars seem be having the same problems. the instrument panel cluster works when it feels like it. most days the only instrument that is working is the speedometer. generally i use a garmin to make sure that i am at the correct speed. the temperature gauge and the tachometer is no longer working. recently i have notice that the lights in the radio are not all lighting up. seems that this should be a recall issue that the dealer should be handling for the amount of complaints i am finding on this vehicle. this problem seems to be a common problem with the 2005 pontiac sunfire.

Reported in: CONESUS NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

the speedometer varies in it's position. it's sometimes ok, then it will freeze at maybe 50 mph, then go up to over a hundred mph. next time it may freeze at 20 mph, etc. i don't know how fast i'm going, and don't want to get a ticket for speeding. i'm trying to use my odometer, but distracts me to try and figure it out. i don't see a recall, but i know there are many complaints on this issue. i think it's time gm owns up to it's responsibility to fix this, not, at the owners cost. my research shows me that there are thousands of complaints on this speedometer failure. i am told by my dealer that it is the cluster, which is extremely expensive to repair. i am retired and love this car, but don't have the money make it safe to drive.

Reported in: PERRYSBURG OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F75S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

at first the speedometer would freeze and not work. sometimes it would; however, i did not know if it was accurate. then the fuel gauge and other gauges would randomly go on and off. this car was intended for my 16 year old daughter, but i cannot let her drive it due to safety issues. i have read all the complaints on this car and mine is just like theirs. when is gm going to do something about this?

Reported in: TIFTON GA || Crash: N || VIN #:

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

the fuel gauge show different amount of fuel in it, erratic shows full then half then you out of gas. right electric window goes down but only goes up an inch at a time, and it takes along time.

Reported in: STRUTHERS OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F95S

VISIBILITY:POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

the fuel gauge show different amount of fuel in it, erratic shows full then half then you out of gas. right electric window goes down but only goes up an inch at a time, and it takes along time.

Reported in: STRUTHERS OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F95S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

the fuel gauge show different amount of fuel in it, erratic shows full then half then you out of gas. right electric window goes down but only goes up an inch at a time, and it takes along time.

Reported in: STRUTHERS OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F95S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

speedometer is stuck at 85-90 mph. *js

Reported in: ATLANTA GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F45S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

tl*the contact owns a 2005 pontiac sunfire. while parked, the contact noticed that the fuel gauge would not display a reading. a few weeks later the temperature gauge and the speedometer also failed. the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. the technician stated that the instrument panel would have to be replaced. the vehicle was not repaired. the approximate failure mileage was 80,000. updated 11/13/12 *cn updated 12/03/12

Reported in: ANDERSON CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F85S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl*the contact owns a 2005 pontiac sunfire. while parked, the contact noticed that the fuel gauge would not display a reading. a few weeks later the temperature gauge and the speedometer also failed. the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. the technician stated that the instrument panel would have to be replaced. the vehicle was not repaired. the approximate failure mileage was 80,000. updated 11/13/12 *cn updated 12/03/12

Reported in: ANDERSON CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F85S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

i bought this car in 2007 with 27,000 miles. a little over a year later, the gauges started quitting one by one. it's been almost three years since any of my gauges worked in any capacity. after reading so many complaints about this, i really feel its a defect that needs to be taken care of by the manufacturer. mine quit before i hit 50,000 miles!

Reported in: WINTER PARK FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

the entire instrument panel (i.e. speedometer, gas gauge, temp gauge, rpm gauge) ceased to function one by one.

Reported in: ALBUQUERQUE NM || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl* the contact owns a 2005 pontiac sunfire. the contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the instrument panel failed. the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was advised that the instrument panel needed to be replaced. the vehicle was not repaired. the manufacturer was notified of the failure. the approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

Reported in: JACKSON HEIGHTS NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F55S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i had just bought the car in december 2007 and the cigarette lighter next to driving wheel was not working. car was in storage for over a year and around may 2010 the drivers window stopped "rolling up" so we got the window motor changed as they said it was burnt. window worked for about a week and then it turned out to be another electrical issue having to do with the switch controlling the windows. around april 2011 a new issue, high beams stopped working on and off. they eventually stopped working and leading to no beams at all, not signals and no light in dashboard. another part had to be replaced. may 2013 - stereo light is not working, but stereo is operating. july 2013 - trunk will not lock.

Reported in: SANTA NELLA CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F35S

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

i had just bought the car in december 2007 and the cigarette lighter next to driving wheel was not working. car was in storage for over a year and around may 2010 the drivers window stopped "rolling up" so we got the window motor changed as they said it was burnt. window worked for about a week and then it turned out to be another electrical issue having to do with the switch controlling the windows. around april 2011 a new issue, high beams stopped working on and off. they eventually stopped working and leading to no beams at all, not signals and no light in dashboard. another part had to be replaced. may 2013 - stereo light is not working, but stereo is operating. july 2013 - trunk will not lock.

Reported in: SANTA NELLA CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F35S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

instrumentclusterinop,speedometer,&temperaturegaugefailing.rpmgaugefailing,ranintospeedometer&effectingthespeedofthecar.veryunsafe,multiplecomplaintsondefectiveinstrumentcluster.www.carcomplaints.com.$500.00repair,pontiac/gmhasnorecallsontheissue.multipleownersofthevehicehavesamecomplaintsofthissameproblem.dontknowthetemperatureofthevehicle,dontknowthespeedi'mdriving.speedometerisglitching.problem&defectisapparently,problemwithsteppermotersarefailingincluster.

Reported in: PINEHILL NJ || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F95S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

speedometer is stuck at 60mph will go up from that but not down. i see a bunch of other people with same issue! can gm see there is a problem that needs taken care of !!

Reported in: CLIVE IA || Crash: N || VIN #:

SERVICE BRAKES

my son was driving down road car shut off and everything locked up and had no power. afraid it could happen while driving at faster speed and could cause an accident.

Reported in: NORWOOD NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F45S

STEERING

my son was driving down road car shut off and everything locked up and had no power. afraid it could happen while driving at faster speed and could cause an accident.

Reported in: NORWOOD NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F45S

ENGINE

my son was driving down road car shut off and everything locked up and had no power. afraid it could happen while driving at faster speed and could cause an accident.

Reported in: NORWOOD NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F45S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

all gauges in the vehicle have stopped working (i.e. speedometer, tachometer, fuel, and temp gauges). told that this is a known issue with pontiac sunfire models from years 2003-2005. also, with the chevrolet cavalier 2003-2005, which is basically the same car. gm changed suppliers for the instrument cluster for these years. instrument failure is caused by the inferior parts used by gm, and it is a safety issue. one can not blame instrument failure on a lack of maintenance of the vehicle on the owner. especially on a vehicle that travels roughly 5,000 miles a year. such an issue is the fault of the manufacturer, and their use of sub-par materials. have checked fuses, and had the electrical system checked (i.e. it's not a short to ground problem). these are not the result of the gauges failing. told the cost would be over $500 for a new instrument gauge cluster. there should be a recall by gm for this known safety issue.

Reported in: ALLISON PARK PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F75S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

daughter called during late night drive from university, temp gauge has gone too high! had to get off freeway and drive through bad part of town back to university detroit mercy. call for ride home. make arrangements to have towed to shop. temp gauge not working at all now. shop says that the whole gauge panel needs replacement!

Reported in: CANTON MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12F75S

VISIBILITY/WIPER

tl* the contact owns a 2005 pontiac sunfire. the contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the odometer and fuel gauges fluctuated. the contact also mentioned that the driver's front window failed to open or close. the vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the instrument panel assembly would need to be replaced. the vehicle had not been repaired. the manufacturer was notified of the problem. the approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

Reported in: PLATTSBURGH NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl* the contact owns a 2005 pontiac sunfire. the contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the odometer and fuel gauges fluctuated. the contact also mentioned that the driver's front window failed to open or close. the vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the instrument panel assembly would need to be replaced. the vehicle had not been repaired. the manufacturer was notified of the problem. the approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

Reported in: PLATTSBURGH NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB12FX5S

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

the electrical system goes out and the car will not start, the horn will not work the care claim to run hot when that isnít the case. the window stop working, the engine say that it need checking however when i take it to be service they always says this model has a lot of electrical problems. i have had wires replaced, new starter, new alternator, new motor in the left window. and i have had all this done to fine out that there is electrical issue with this model. i have wasted hundreds when all you had to do is admit there was an issue and submit a recall.

Reported in: LITHONIA GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB14F95S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

the electrical system goes out and the car will not start, the horn will not work the care claim to run hot when that isnít the case. the window stop working, the engine say that it need checking however when i take it to be service they always says this model has a lot of electrical problems. i have had wires replaced, new starter, new alternator, new motor in the left window. and i have had all this done to fine out that there is electrical issue with this model. i have wasted hundreds when all you had to do is admit there was an issue and submit a recall.

Reported in: LITHONIA GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB14F95S

ENGINE

the electrical system goes out and the car will not start, the horn will not work the care claim to run hot when that isnít the case. the window stop working, the engine say that it need checking however when i take it to be service they always says this model has a lot of electrical problems. i have had wires replaced, new starter, new alternator, new motor in the left window. and i have had all this done to fine out that there is electrical issue with this model. i have wasted hundreds when all you had to do is admit there was an issue and submit a recall.

Reported in: LITHONIA GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G2JB14F95S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

while driving i noticed that my tachometer gauge indicator was all the way over to the right under my speedometer indicator. then a few hours later while going to the sotre, i noticed that my temperature gauge was showing hot and not accurate also. this was discussed with my mechanic who informs me that this is a known problem and the cost to fix??? in the neighborhood of $500 -- i am a single mother with a handicapped child and do not live in that neighborhood. i think gm should fix this issue before someone is hurt-- why wait that long? because if it is me or my chilod-- i promise it will not be good for them!

Reported in: SHREVEPORT LA || Crash: N || VIN #: