hummer h3 Problems

hummer h3 2008 Complaints

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FLUID

2008 hummer h3 alpha numerous problems within the first 30-days of ownership. alignment repair 3 times, leaking brake fluid repair, 2 times, belt replaced 2 times.

Reported in: SAN JOSE CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13L788

STEERING:COLUMN

i own a brand new base model 2008 hummer h3 not even done 300kms on the meter and i hear and feel a rattling sound under the gas and brake pedal when the car travels 10 miles or so or when its very hot, i live in the middle east dubai and its always hot here... so please address this issue i think its the steering shaft,,,, and find a solution thanks.

Reported in: DUBAI 00 || Crash: N || VIN #: ADMDN13E984

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

traction failed, service stab sys, service 4wd, traction light constantly lit, 4wd light no longer lit on transfer case. i have owned the vehicle for 11 weeks, and the vehicle has already been back to the dealership twice (april and may) for these problems which happen while driving in rain. onstar says that the abs/traction is not working properly and vehicle now has to go back to dealership again (june) for the same problem. the vehicle is now on the third 4wd switch and i only have 1344 miles on it!

Reported in: LINDENWOLD NJ || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13L788

COMMUNICATIONS:HORN ASSEMBLY

i was cut off by another driver in rush hour traffic and the horn failed to operate when pressed. after this incident, i discovered that the horn does not work after the vehicle is driven every few miles! the vehicle was in the shop for hours of diagnosis, and finally it was discovered by the technician that the vehicle has a bad "sir coil". the "sir coil" is on special order.

Reported in: LINDENWOLD NJ || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13L788

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

the harness wire located between body and rear bumper rubbed through on body causing right rear tail lamp bulb and fuse to blow -- this occurred at mileage 8146 on my 2008 hummer h3. hummer states on the paperwork "repaired harness wire and reposition harness; replaced bulb and fuse."

Reported in: LINDENWOLD NJ || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13L788

SUSPENSION:FRONT

i have a 2008 hummer h-3. on november 3rd 2009 while driving about 30 miles an hour on a sharp left curve, there was a loud clunk in the front end and the truck pulled hard to the right making the vehicle go down into the ditch. several week before this incident while in a parking lot making a sharp left turn( less than a mile per hour) there was a real loud clunk in the front passengers side, this happen twice including a week before the failure. when i checked under the front end i did not see anything. the vehicle was taken to the hummer dealer but they could not tell if anything failed. something failed! this causes me great concern because if it happened on a main highway and the vehicle went into traffic, that would not have been good. please help me find out what went wrong as i don't think hummer is going to help!

Reported in: NORTH EAST MD || Crash: Y || VIN #: 5GTEN13E588

STEERING

i have a 2008 hummer h-3. on november 3rd 2009 while driving about 30 miles an hour on a sharp left curve, there was a loud clunk in the front end and the truck pulled hard to the right making the vehicle go down into the ditch. several week before this incident while in a parking lot making a sharp left turn( less than a mile per hour) there was a real loud clunk in the front passengers side, this happen twice including a week before the failure. when i checked under the front end i did not see anything. the vehicle was taken to the hummer dealer but they could not tell if anything failed. something failed! this causes me great concern because if it happened on a main highway and the vehicle went into traffic, that would not have been good. please help me find out what went wrong as i don't think hummer is going to help!

Reported in: NORTH EAST MD || Crash: Y || VIN #: 5GTEN13E588

STRUCTURE:BODY

tl*the contact owns a 2008 hummer h3. the front windshield had spots and bubbles which doesn't allow the contact to see through the windshield clearly. the contact also noticed that the driver side seat was cracked along the base of the seat. the contact stated that rust spots completely covered the exterior of the vehicle. the vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership. the current and failure mileages were 37550.

Reported in: LATROBE PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTDN13E778

SEATS

tl*the contact owns a 2008 hummer h3. the front windshield had spots and bubbles which doesn't allow the contact to see through the windshield clearly. the contact also noticed that the driver side seat was cracked along the base of the seat. the contact stated that rust spots completely covered the exterior of the vehicle. the vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership. the current and failure mileages were 37550.

Reported in: LATROBE PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTDN13E778

VISIBILITY:WINDSHIELD

tl*the contact owns a 2008 hummer h3. the front windshield had spots and bubbles which doesn't allow the contact to see through the windshield clearly. the contact also noticed that the driver side seat was cracked along the base of the seat. the contact stated that rust spots completely covered the exterior of the vehicle. the vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership. the current and failure mileages were 37550.

Reported in: LATROBE PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTDN13E778

AIR BAGS:SIDE/WINDOW

driving 08 hummer h3 down city road, hit section dug up and covered with dirt/gravel; medium pothole sizes. going 20 mph; side air bags deployed. gm says it was supposed to do that.

Reported in: NEW ORLEANS LA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13L288

AIR BAGS:SIDE/WINDOW

side air bags deployed without contact with anything.

Reported in: WORTHINGTON PA || Crash: N || VIN #:

EQUIPMENT:ELECTRICAL:AIR CONDITIONER

tl* the contact owns a 2008 hummer h3. when the contact attempted to engage the air conditioner, it would not function. the dealer replaced the resistor to correct the failure. there were no prior warnings. the current and failure mileage was 17,000. updated 08/06/10*jb

Reported in: FORT WORTH TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E288

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

my brakes went out and i almost had 3 wrecks. i went to have the brakes checked and they found no problems. but i am now worried that they will go out again for no reason and i might not be as lucky next time.

Reported in: CANTON TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13L788

AIR BAGS:SIDE/WINDOW

i own a 2008 hummer h3 alpha. yesterday, 9-18-2010 the side curtain airbags deployed for no reason. i have a bruise on the side of my face, a cut on my neck, and my ear is still ringing. there are several reports of this happening on hummer h3's posted on the internet, and from what i'm reading, gm is not replacing the airbags.

Reported in: GIG HARBOR WA || Crash: N || VIN #:

STRUCTURE:FRAME AND MEMBERS

nothing lead to the failure. second occurrence in 11 month period of time. first occurrence 12/3/2009 and now another repair needed 11/4/2010. sunroof channels clogging and leaking water into vehicle. hazard when driving in rain when water pour through the vehicle dousing and distracting the driver which could result in a possible jerk of the wheel or wreck. front windshield also begins to fog to do moisture and impedes view of road. water pouring into vehicle causing mold in carpet, seats and electrical components.

Reported in: HOUSTON TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E788

STRUCTURE:BODY

nothing lead to the failure. second occurrence in 11 month period of time. first occurrence 12/3/2009 and now another repair needed 11/4/2010. sunroof channels clogging and leaking water into vehicle. hazard when driving in rain when water pour through the vehicle dousing and distracting the driver which could result in a possible jerk of the wheel or wreck. front windshield also begins to fog to do moisture and impedes view of road. water pouring into vehicle causing mold in carpet, seats and electrical components.

Reported in: HOUSTON TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E788

AIR BAGS:SIDE/WINDOW

tl*the contact owns a 2008 hummer h3. while stopped, both front side air bags deployed; the driver was injured as a result. the vehicle was taken to a local repair shop but the failure could not be diagnosed. the air bags were repaired. the failure mileage was 28,329 and the current mileage was approximately 30,000.

Reported in: VALLEY CENTER CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13LX88

SEATS

i own a 2008 hummer h3 alpha. the problem is everytime time i close the door the heated seat switch turns on. took it to the dealership and they put a new screw in the seat panel but of coarse it did not fix the problem. what to do..

Reported in: DANIA BEACH FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

AIR BAGS

curtain airbags deploy without reason going down interstate 64. only the curtain airbags deploy. my hummer h3 is at the hall chevrolet chesapeake va where they run a full diagnostic check and check for any damage to my hummer. no damage found other then the curtain airbags deployed and the diagnostic check came back showing no errors.

Reported in: NORFOLK VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E488

STRUCTURE:BODY

problem: rear passenger doors when driving in wet mud,slush freeze rear passenger doors shut in freezing weather... you can not get doors open from inside or out.... children or adults will be trapped inside rear passenger seat with really no way out... there is no rear cargo manual door release either... most adults could not get over seat front or rear seat to try and exit vehicle anyway.... this door freezing has happened to me (3) times when driving on wet slush or muddy roads in freezing weather......the rear doors take in these elements because of poor designed rear door seals... when i say frozen shut, i mean really frozen.... these elements also make it into the sides of the rear seats.... i will report this condition to gm hummer but i believe i'll only get a run around.... i feel this could be a death trap for children or anyone... thank you for your time.... if you can please do something about this issue.....

Reported in: DALLAS PA || Crash: N || VIN #:

EQUIPMENT:ELECTRICAL:AIR CONDITIONER

tl* the contact owns a 2008 hummer h3. the contact stated that when driving the vehicle at any speed and utilizing the air conditioner, smoke would emit from under the hood and caused the contact to have trouble breathing. the manufacturer was not notified of the issue. the vehicle was not taken for inspection or repairs. the vin was not available. the failure and the current mileage was 44,000.

Reported in: TACUMSEH MI || Crash: N || VIN #:

AIR BAGS

tl* the contact owns a 2008 hummer h3. the contact stated while driving 9 mph the driver and passenger side curtain air bags deployed. the passenger suffered neck injuries including a chipped bone. the vehicle was not taken to the dealer. the failure and current mileages was 41,000.

Reported in: BEAUMONT CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E088

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

smell of burning plastic and the a/c stopped blowing. the a/c works on the lower speeds. burnt/melted plug on the a/c resistor plug. from what i have found online this is a very common problem with h3's at about 40-60k miles. why wont gm do a recall if this is a daily problem with h3 owners. how many h3's have caught fire from this ? it was over a 110 degrees when mine went out. what if i had young child or an elderly person in the vehicle at that temp ?

Reported in: AGOURA HILLS CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E088

VISIBILITY:DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

smell of burning plastic and the a/c stopped blowing. the a/c works on the lower speeds. burnt/melted plug on the a/c resistor plug. from what i have found online this is a very common problem with h3's at about 40-60k miles. why wont gm do a recall if this is a daily problem with h3 owners. how many h3's have caught fire from this ? it was over a 110 degrees when mine went out. what if i had young child or an elderly person in the vehicle at that temp ?

Reported in: AGOURA HILLS CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E088

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

i have a 08 hummer h3 and just found out that i have a cracked radiator. the vehicle only has 52,891 miles on it. this seems to be happening alot to the 07 and 08 hummer h3. i think we need a recall on this. all of the forums i have seen have had theirs crack in the same place. all on top of the radiators. this is something you might want to look into. i know personally i am tired of something going wrong on this. first was the rack and pinion with only 50,844 miles and now this. come on its time for a recall.

Reported in: KNOXVILLE TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E788

STEERING:RACK AND PINION

i have a 08 hummer h3 and just found out that i have a cracked radiator. the vehicle only has 52,891 miles on it. this seems to be happening alot to the 07 and 08 hummer h3. i think we need a recall on this. all of the forums i have seen have had theirs crack in the same place. all on top of the radiators. this is something you might want to look into. i know personally i am tired of something going wrong on this. first was the rack and pinion with only 50,844 miles and now this. come on its time for a recall.

Reported in: KNOXVILLE TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E788

ENGINE

radiator has cracked due to manufactures defect.

Reported in: SULLIVAN MO || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN43E488

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

crack in the radiator, had it replaced at a independent shop not knowing that this is an on going problem with this modal hummer. definatly a flaw somewhere on gms part.

Reported in: BELTON TX || Crash: N || VIN #:

VISIBILITY:DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM:WINDSHIELD:BLOWER

i looked on the internet to find out why my heater blower was not working and there were lots of complaints about the wiring harness and resistor burning out. i checked mine and sure enough mine was burnt on the wiring harness all the way through the plastic. gm needs to figure out why it would cause it to malfunction like that cause it could cause a fire.

Reported in: REDVALE CO || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E788

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i looked on the internet to find out why my heater blower was not working and there were lots of complaints about the wiring harness and resistor burning out. i checked mine and sure enough mine was burnt on the wiring harness all the way through the plastic. gm needs to figure out why it would cause it to malfunction like that cause it could cause a fire.

Reported in: REDVALE CO || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E788

AIR BAGS

i was driving in very thick fog which was a white out. i was going through a turn and was lost in the fog quickly and i ended up off the side of the road struck a speed limit sign and a utility pole on my drivers side door because i seen it at the last moment and tried to avoid hitting it. but at the point of impact my driver side airbag never deployed at all causing me to suffer numerous broken ribs and loss of work for over 2 months time. i wasn't driving fast at all actually was going under the allotted speed limit. but due to my injuries the had to extracate me from the vehicle causing it to be a total loss because they had to cut it apart running my vehicle completely. i was not happy about this at all.

Reported in: TOWER CITY PA || Crash: Y || VIN #:

VISIBILITY/WIPER

tl* the contact owns a 2008 hummer h3. the contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph, he noticed a burning smell. the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing and the technician stated that the blower resistor had to be replaced. the contact purchased the part and performed the repair himself. after the vehicle was repaired, the failure recurred approximately eight months later. the vehicle was not repaired. the approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

Reported in: NORTH RICHLAND HILLS TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E188

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

tl* the contact owns a 2008 hummer h3. the contact stated that the check engine warning light was illuminated while stopped at a traffic stop. in addition, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. the mechanic stated that the throttle sensor would have to be replaced. there was a manufacturer's recall for the throttle sensor however, the contact┐s vin was not included in the manufacturer's recall. the vehicle was not repaired. the vin was not available. the approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

Reported in: AURORA IL || Crash: N || VIN #:

AIR BAGS

my 22 year old daughter & a passenger was driving westbound on airport freeway, going straight, no turning, nopot holes, etc. all side airbags deployed for no reason what so ever!

Reported in: IRVING TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E388

ENGINE

i bought a 2008 hummer h3 four months ago at 49,956 miles, when last week i noticed i had a bad coolant leak causing the fluids to remain on the top of the engine, the fan shroud, etc. had it towed back to the dealership where i bought it from because its a 48 miles drive and didn't want to take the chance of anything overheating. took it in on friday morning got it back monday afternoon when i was told the radiator was cracked. after looking on the internet seems like everyone seems to be having this problem. the mileage when the dealership received it on friday was 52,547.

Reported in: PIQUA OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E288

ENGINE

the radiator had a crack in it when we bought the hh3,in 6-2011 which was replaced with a new factory radiator. it is now march 0f 2013 and we have another crack in the radiator. we contacted" savvy" goodyear in long beach ,new york who replaced the first one and they said it is not covered. really does a radiator only last 2 years. they indicated that gmc would not cover the replacement. i see that this has happened to several vehicles shouldn't there be a recall?

Reported in: WINCHESTER VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E888

AIR BAGS

casually driving down the freaking road when all side airbags deployed for no reason! me and my friend both suffered brusing on our faces!

Reported in: COLORADO SPRINGS CO || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E088

VISIBILITY/WIPER

radiator end tank ruptured releasing coolant on everything under the hood and getting on the windshield. research of this finds that there is a defect in the design of the factory radiator which gm refuses to take action on. had this happened at higher speeds, this could have been a much worse situation.

Reported in: LOUISVILLE KY || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13EX88

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

radiator end tank ruptured releasing coolant on everything under the hood and getting on the windshield. research of this finds that there is a defect in the design of the factory radiator which gm refuses to take action on. had this happened at higher speeds, this could have been a much worse situation.

Reported in: LOUISVILLE KY || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13EX88

ENGINE

radiator end tank ruptured releasing coolant on everything under the hood and getting on the windshield. research of this finds that there is a defect in the design of the factory radiator which gm refuses to take action on. had this happened at higher speeds, this could have been a much worse situation.

Reported in: LOUISVILLE KY || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13EX88

VISIBILITY:SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

sunroof drains collect water and there is moisture inside the vehicle. based on the dealership review it is due to a faulty design of the drains due to the restrictions at both front and rear.

Reported in: MILL CREEK WA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13L188

STRUCTURE

sunroof drains collect water and there is moisture inside the vehicle. based on the dealership review it is due to a faulty design of the drains due to the restrictions at both front and rear.

Reported in: MILL CREEK WA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13L188

AIR BAGS

we practiced winching techniques with sno cty search and rescue. my vehicle was being winched up a hill. when we finished our practice, i notice the airbag warning light on the dash was illuminated. i took the vehicle to a gm dealership who sold hummers and had the vehicle diagnosed. they stated that the rollover sensor had indicated deployment. the vehicle did not roll, nor did the srs system deploy. they recommended replacement of the rollover sensor. i had them fully test the system to be certain that the $500.00 part would solve the problem. i had them replace the sensor with gm approved parts bought from the dealership. after the repair, the mechanic stated that he thought there was an electrical fault with the sensor - but had no way of testing the circuits; nor the willingness to try a part he fixed because it could deploy the system. the light is on again (the repair was completed june 11, 2013). i took the vehicle back to the dealership, where they pulled the entire dash apart and tested all the circuits. they did not find a definite cause. they recommended that we use dielectric grease on the connections. they indicated that if that did not solve the problem, the next "repair" would be replace the airbag itself (roughly $800.00). this is where i am at today - the light is illuminated again; gm has basically washed their hands of the vehicle (there is no warranty so all of this is coming out of my pocket); and they want to "try" to replace the airbag. i'm now concerned that the rollover sensor was not at fault; rather, there is an electrical problem with the srs system. i think the dealership has done the best they can - but without gm's participation in the solution; i think i will be continually throwing parts and still not finding the problem. gm can test these parts; they have the schematics; charts; and ip to allow them to find the issue.

Reported in: WOODINVILLE WA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13L788

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

my radiator cracked and i was told and have read this is a very common problem with the h3 hummers and chevy colorado .

Reported in: AGOURA HILLS CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E088

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i have the same issue as hundreds of others with gm's faulty blower motor resistor. the blower motor resistor and wiring harness have failed 2 times now. melting to each other. luckily no fire, yet. these are expensive vehicles, and gm should own up to the design flaw and issue a recall, and or offer a repair kit that truly fixes the flaw that owners can install as the location is fairly easy to get to and work on it. the purchasers of these vehicles should not have to put up with this quality flaw, and risk themselves, family and friends. gm - do the right thing and avoid major lawsuits.

Reported in: BIG LAKE MN || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E588

VISIBILITY:DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM:WINDSHIELD:BLOWER

i have the same issue as hundreds of others with gm's faulty blower motor resistor. the blower motor resistor and wiring harness have failed 2 times now. melting to each other. luckily no fire, yet. these are expensive vehicles, and gm should own up to the design flaw and issue a recall, and or offer a repair kit that truly fixes the flaw that owners can install as the location is fairly easy to get to and work on it. the purchasers of these vehicles should not have to put up with this quality flaw, and risk themselves, family and friends. gm - do the right thing and avoid major lawsuits.

Reported in: BIG LAKE MN || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E588

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl* the contact owns a 2008 hummer h3. the contact stated while attempting to turn the vehicle off the key became stuck inside the ignition switch and the contact was unable to turn the vehicle off. the vehicle was taken to the dealer but the defect could not be duplicated and no repairs were performed. the contact stated that the defect continued to occur. the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. the failure mileage was 38,000.

Reported in: HAWTHORNE NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E588

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl* the contact owns a 2008 hummer h3. the contact stated that the engine would not start. the contact indicated that the problem was intermittent and that the security sensor light illuminated. the failure mileage was 52,000.

Reported in: PITTSBURG PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN33E388

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i was driving along and there was smoke coming fro below passenger side under the glove box. pull over and saw it was a resistor with two screws. it was burnt, i unplugged and drove home. then searched internet and there are hundreds of people with the same problem. this needs to be a recall asap, befpre someone dies in a fire

Reported in: ELK GROVE CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13L988

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

as many have explained before, my blower motor all of a sudden went out i started to read online what it might be and found that everyone complained of resistor harness wire burning out or the plastic melting. and just as everyone said i pulled out the harness and it was burn completely out. gm this really needs to be addressed, how many people need complain, or something possibly happen to someone before your company takes action, with all the recalls going on with your company you would think you guys would learn.

Reported in: SPRING TX || Crash: N || VIN #:

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2008 hummer h3 alpha with factory tow package trailer routed between sharp body panel and bumper causing vehicle motion to rub the wires. the exposed wires short to the body and cause high current melting interior wiring. this problem has been imntermittent for about 1 year and have had gm dealer troubleshoot the failure of trailer brakes and lights with no solution. i discovered problem by removing rear bumper. problem can be avoided by shielding wiring and smoothing the sharp metal edges it crosses.

Reported in: MANCHESTER NH || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2008 hummer h3 alpha with factory tow package trailer routed between sharp body panel and bumper causing vehicle motion to rub the wires. the exposed wires short to the body and cause high current melting interior wiring. this problem has been imntermittent for about 1 year and have had gm dealer troubleshoot the failure of trailer brakes and lights with no solution. i discovered problem by removing rear bumper. problem can be avoided by shielding wiring and smoothing the sharp metal edges it crosses.

Reported in: MANCHESTER NH || Crash: N || VIN #:

AIR BAGS

i was driving 40mph when unexpectedly the curtain airbags driver side front and back and passenger side front and back deployed causing injuries to my collar bone, arm and neck.

Reported in: MCKINNEY TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 5GTEN13E188