dodge intrepid Problems

dodge intrepid 2004 Complaints

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

while driving, the vehicle stalled. *ak the computer was replaced and the air bag was fixed. after the vehicle was picked up, the vehicle stopped again in traffic and caused many near misses. then the electrical harness was replaced. *sc *jb

Reported in: NAPERVILLE IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3AD46R24H

AIR BAGS

while driving, the vehicle stalled. *ak the computer was replaced and the air bag was fixed. after the vehicle was picked up, the vehicle stopped again in traffic and caused many near misses. then the electrical harness was replaced. *sc *jb

Reported in: NAPERVILLE IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3AD46R24H

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

the consumer complained about unexpected acceleration. the consumer was pulling into a parking space and suddenly the vehicle accelerated, and slammed into a wall. the airbags deployed, and the right side air bag ripped when it hit the passenger in the front seat. *ak *sc this consumer stated she did not report the incident to the police because no other car was involved. *jb

Reported in: RICES LANDING PA || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2B3HD56G84H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

ac idle pulley bracket has been replaced twice and now it appears that it will have to be replaced a third time all within this year (2004).

Reported in: BLUE SPRINGS MO || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R44H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

while driving, the vehicle stalled. the consumer tried to restart the vehicle, but was unable to do so. the consumer had the vehicle towed to the dealer for inspection. the mechanic informed the driver that the head gasket blew and needed to be replaced. please fill in additional information. *jb

Reported in: LAKE HAVASU CITY AZ || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R34H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

while driving home from work on 10/11/04, my dodge intrepids engine just shut off and all power went off. the engine light went on and i pulled over to the side of the road. after about 5 minutes of trying to get it going again, it restarted. this happened three more times, in a period of about an hour, over 30 miles. the following morning, i took it in to moss brothers motors and rented a car (they have no service vehicals). two hours later, moss calls that the car is ready, i was told it was a "computer service problem". the lengine light was no longer on when i picked the car up. the same day, on my way home, the samething happend (10/12/04). the car suddenly shut down on a very busy trafic corner and i had know time but to swerve out of my lane and do a ninty degree turn, over the curb and into a empty parking lot to avoid a major accident. i had no power steering and no brakes. the following morning, i took the car back to moss brothers motor and left it, relating my same problems as the day before. two hours later, moss calls telling me the car is ready. i was told it wad another "computer related" problem. since then it has not shutt down.*ak

Reported in: CRESTLINE CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46RX4H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

less than 54000 miles on it, i am the second owner; the first owner was a route salesman and had put 24k highway miles on it. i do my own oil changes and was told point blank that i would not be able to prove they were done unless i had commercial receipts. the first time the oil light came on was late november, since then it has been driven very carefully back and forth to the shop 2 times. i do not have the money to do a 1200.00 motor flush recommended, nor do i have the money to pay for a motor if needed. the past month and a half it has been a very expensive driveway ornament, i did not even get a full year?s use out of it, bought it in march of 2004 and problems starting in november 2004. i will not continue to drive it, it would be irresponsible to do that when the information on the net is so specific on the problems. so i have decided to stop payments on the vehicle and in due course will be filling for bankruptcy the first of january to get out from under the loan, all thanks to dodge. first and last dodge/chrysler product?. aaron l. vanburen zzzaps@charter.net *jb

Reported in: ROANOKE TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46RX4H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

the oil sensor light stayed on at low rpm. the consumer was concerned that the engine would fail. *ak the engine was full of sludge. *sc *jb

Reported in: ROANOKE TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46RX4H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

i have my oil changed every 3 to 5 thousand miles. on my way to work i noticed that the oil light would flicker off and on when i came to a stop. i would then go off when i resumed driving. i checked the oil and it was not low. i will take it in and have it checked to make sure there is nothing wrong and that i won't lose pressure and have to buy a new motor.*ak

Reported in: MEEKER OK || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

on 11/18/04 my vehicle stalled after crossing 3 lanes of traffic on a heavily traveled street. i managed to get the vehicle to a side street before i was completely unable to maneuver it, where i was able to start it again. the vehicle was towed to a dealership and the cam sensor was replaced the next day. ihave had no problems until approximately 01/28/05, when the vehicle starting having a hesitation when i accelerated. today (2/1/05) i got in my car to run an errand and the check engine light was on, which immediately alarmed me. i took the vehicle to a parts store and had them do a check, the results were: the cam sensor. this makes 2 times in 10 weeks that i have had to take my vehicle in to be serviced. i am currently drivinga borrowed vehicle until mine is "fixed".*ak

Reported in: OKLAHOMA CITY OK || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R94H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

camshaft position sensor keeps failing. have checked all the wiring and the module itself. continues providing codes for camshaft position sensor circuit intermittent and camshaft position sensor circuit malfunction. this has happened to me 3 times, all on the interstate, and all causing the vehicle to stall and sputter in heavy traffic. called today to have appointment to have it replaced. all of this happening at 37,000 miles (1000 miles over the expiration of the warranty). figures....*jb

Reported in: RICHMOND VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD56G44H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

the 2.7l engine seized without any warning while driving 30-35 mph. the consumer was able to pull over to the side of the road . the vehicle was towed to the dealer. the mechanic informed the consumer while checking the oil; they noticed sludge and metal flakes in the oil. *jb *tt

Reported in: HALIFAX NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R14H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

51,100 miles on the car. no warning that the motor was going to seize due to sludge build up. motor seized while driving vehicle. was told by chrysler dealership's mechanic that a professional oil changer would not have seen this coming. mfg. warranty ( 7/70 ) doesn't want to cover this. extended ( fidelity warranty services ) warranty doesn't want to cover this. had two wrecker bills forsee a third to have car brought home. two different chrysler dealerships have told me that they would not repair this.

Reported in: DALTON GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R54H

AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

dt: consumer's vehicle was involved in an accident on friday. it rear ended a car that stopped on the highway on ramp. upon impact, the air bags did not deploy. also, the sons' seat belt in the back seat came unbuckled, but he was not in it at the time. no air bag light came on, or had any prior problems with the seat belt before the accident vehicle had not been inspected, and the claims adjuster had not seen it yet.*ak

Reported in: SACRAMENTO CA || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2B3HD46R24H

SEAT BELTS:REAR

dt: consumer's vehicle was involved in an accident on friday. it rear ended a car that stopped on the highway on ramp. upon impact, the air bags did not deploy. also, the sons' seat belt in the back seat came unbuckled, but he was not in it at the time. no air bag light came on, or had any prior problems with the seat belt before the accident vehicle had not been inspected, and the claims adjuster had not seen it yet.*ak

Reported in: SACRAMENTO CA || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2B3HD46R24H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

1st incident on july 9th, 2005. was driving on interstate i40 approximately 65 mph, all of a sudden the "check engine light" came on and the engine turned off. i managed to pull across three lanes onto the emergency lane! i waited for apprx. 10 minutes before i tried to crank up the car. i parked the car for that day. the next day when i checked the car, the engine light was no longer on! exactly one week later the same thing happen, again on a very busy hwy! i took the car to have the oil changed again and all other fluids checked. the engine light stayed on for that day and the next morning it was off! two days ago it happened again, this time i was not able to pull out of traffic!!!!fortunately we did not get hit by other vehicles. this morning i was standing at a traffic light when the car all of a sudden turned off "again", this time i had a hard time getting it cranked up. one important note, on two of those occasions i had my children with me (8 & 12) we could have gotten seriously injured. having a vehicle malfunction like this after only 12 months can and will be a serious matter....chrysler will be in a lot of trouble if anything happens to me (single parent) or my children because they simply will not admit that there is a malfunction with these vehicles! consider this the first official notification from me. after i return from the dealership i will be in touch with my attorney!

Reported in: GARNER NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R24H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1. no events leading up to failure. 2. driving car, car shuts off, car jerks, car starts again (while driving). engine light comes on and stays on. 3. called dealer, said if engine light is constant, it is ok to drive. following day, engine light was off and car was running ok. *jb

Reported in: STURGIS MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD56G14H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1. no events leading up to failure. 2. repeat of prior event. driving car, car shuts off while driving and stalls. engine light comes on and stays on. 3. dealer said if engine light is constant, it is ok to drive it to be serviced. dealer found one code-code p0344 cam sensor circuit. has problem with sensor itself. replaced sensor.*jb

Reported in: STURGIS MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD56G14H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1. no events leading up to failure other than two prior events the same as this one. 2. repeat of prior event. started car, it shut off and stalls. engine light comes on and stays on. 3. dealer said if engine light is constant, it is ok to dive it to be serviced. dealer found code p1687 for no bus message from cluster. replaced cluster. checked operations and cleared codes.*jb

Reported in: STURGIS MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD56G14H

TIRES

goodyear tire equipment had to be replaced on the 2004 dodge intrepid.***no answer required***.*mr both rear tires tire wore out with only 26882 miles on them. the tires were rotated regularly. *nm

Reported in: ST CLOUD FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R94H

EXTERIOR LIGHTING:TAIL LIGHTS:SWITCH

dt: 2004 dodge intrepid. the consumer stated the check engine light stayed on. the vehicle was taken to the dealership to be checked, and they could not find anything wrong with it. the check engine light went off, and a month later the light came on again. this happened 5 times. the vehicle will bet taken to the dealer for the same problem for the sixth time. the warranty expired. it was going to cost the consumer $609. the manufacturer told her to take the vehicle to the dealership. the vehicle was taken to dealership last tuesday and the leak detection pump was replaced. also, replaced the cam shaft. in addition, there was a short in the tail light sensor. *ak.

Reported in: CLEVELAND OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R04H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

dt: 2004 dodge intrepid. the consumer stated the check engine light stayed on. the vehicle was taken to the dealership to be checked, and they could not find anything wrong with it. the check engine light went off, and a month later the light came on again. this happened 5 times. the vehicle will bet taken to the dealer for the same problem for the sixth time. the warranty expired. it was going to cost the consumer $609. the manufacturer told her to take the vehicle to the dealership. the vehicle was taken to dealership last tuesday and the leak detection pump was replaced. also, replaced the cam shaft. in addition, there was a short in the tail light sensor. *ak.

Reported in: CLEVELAND OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R04H

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION:LEVER AND LINKAGE:FLOOR SHIFT

dt: the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. the contact stated that while the vehicle was in park it began to roll down hill while attempting to exit the vehicle. the consumer tried to get back into the vehicle but could not act quickly enough to prevent the vehicle from causing damage to itself and another vehicle. there was a recall on the trans axle floor shifter for other chrysler products, but not this make, model, and year. the consumer contacted the service dealer, and they stated that there was no recall on this vehicle. the consumer has not contacted the manufacturer. *ak

Reported in: MONROE MI || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2B3HD56G24H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

dt: the contact stated the oil tube that connects to the engine is too small for the proper flow of oil, resulting in a clogged line that seizes the engine. the dealer suspected this was due to a lack of oil changes. she feels as though this is a design flaw. the repair has been performed due to the expense. chrysler will not offer any cost assistance. *ak

Reported in: SPRINGFIELD MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R24H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

while driving to work car jerked and slowed down, to 20 mph. the next morning car wouldn't start , took car into shop where they had to break engine down to determine what's wrong got a call it was sludge in the engine and it wasn't covered. will cost $8,000 to replace engine but i have 2 warranties. customer service representatives are rude and leading me on wild run around for satisfaction . i work 2 jobs but they don't offer replacement. i was sold a car with pricey problems. *nm

Reported in: MILWAUKEE WI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R34H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

dt: the engine would not start. after several attempts the engine started and the vehicle was driven to the dealer. the dealer performed a diagnostic test but did not detect any codes. upon further inspection the dealer discovered sludge in the engine. the dealer suggested this was due to a lack of regular oil changes. this was not covered under warranty. no repairs have been made at this time. *ak updated 12/27/2005. *nm

Reported in: MILWALKEE WI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R34H

AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

dt: the contact's vehicle hit a guard rail at 50-55 mph and the airbags did not deploy. the bumper came off, the lights were knocked out, and the hood was pushed back. the vehicle has not been inspected. a police report was taken at the scene. the contact sustained a scrape to his head, a stiff neck, and has headaches. the manufacturer has not been contacted. *ak

Reported in: YONKERS NY || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2B3HD46R34H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

hello again....i had reported this car back in july because my engine suddenly cut off while driving on interstate. the dealer was nice enough to fix the car at no cost to me. according to the mechanic they had to replace the crank shaft sensor. well, a few days ago i noticed that i have no heat, i.e. in the morning i let the car warm up before leaving for work, unfortunately it will not warm up inside. also my oil light has come on a few weeks ago, i immediately took it have it serviced. but the oil light is still on especially if i am standing still, it will turn off as they car speeds up! just left the dealership and they told me it could be the "thermostat" or maybe the oil pressure something, but he really worries because the oil light stays on. they quoted that the repair cost will start at $800.00. *jb

Reported in: GARNER NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R24H

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

when driving any where any speed car will start hesitating then cut off. sometimes if you let it sit for 15 mins it will turn back sometimes it will take longer. very dangerous car and it's a shame to pay 487.00 a month for a car that may very well cost you your life. in 2005 had to put it in the shop because it would not start back up. our mechanic said it was the crank angle sensor but now in 2006 it doing it again. *jb

Reported in: CINCINNATI OH || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

dt*: the contact stated there was a vibration in the engine. after inspecting the vehicle the dealership replaced the cam sensor switch. while driving at various speeds or when the engine is idling there is a knocking sound. the knocking occurs intermittently. upon inspection the dealership determined there is sludge build up in the engine due to improper maintenance.

Reported in: MISHAWAKA IN || Crash: N || VIN #:

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

the transmission has gone out the car has 74000 mileage its a dodge intrepid 2004 and i called daimler chrysler and they stated they could help me. *jb

Reported in: SAUK VILLAGE IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R74H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

dt: the caller stated while driving at 30 mph., all power failed in the vehicle, stalling the engine. after coming to a stop, the contact was unable to dissengage the automatic transmission from drive to the park position. no accident or injury occurred and no police report was filed. after inspection, the dealers mechanic informed the contact all the oil had leaked out of the vehicle and caused the engine to seize.

Reported in: DURHAM NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R84H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

dt*: the contact stated that the vehicle has been having ongoing problems with sludge build up in the motor which has been affecting all the sensors and illuminating all the service lights. the vehicle was taken into an independent mechanic who replaced the camshaft sensor and the crank sensor. repairs were also made to the motor. when the problems persisted the mechanic referred the contact to the dealers check out the vehicle. the dealer were called and determined that the motor was not covered under warranty for repairs. the manufacturer was also called who referred the contact to the dealers to determine what the cause of the problem was related to.

Reported in: EVERGREEN PARK IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R74H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

at roughly 58,500 miles the oil light started coming on at idle. took it to shop to find that this is a very common issue with dodge intrepids with 2.7 liter v6 engine. so far the pressure switch has been replaced, and the oil pan was found to be full of sludge (car is routinely maintained!). oil pan has been replaced and it was verified that there was no metal present in pan. car was returned to owner but within 48 hours light is back on. car is now back in shop waiting final verdict on if as in so many other cases, this car will need extensive engine work. *nm

Reported in: YUKON OK || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R44H

SUSPENSION:REAR

police department operated four 2007 dodge intrepids, 4 doors, police packages. two of the vehicles experienced multiple rear strut failures with in a 12 month period. one vehicle experienced a failure during an emergency response that resulted in the officer losing control of the vehicle, wrecking and totaling the vehicle and doing $15,000 damage to 2 vehicles and a house. the officer was lucky and only received minor injuries. the last failure was 3 years after purchase. three of the vehicles vins are within 5 numbers of each other. struts have been replaced as they failed except on the vehicle that was totaled. department has pictures of struts from accident. incident date is that of the accident.*jb

Reported in: SPENCER NC || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2B3HD46V54H

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:PEDALS AND LINKAGES

dt*: the contact stated while traveling various speeds, the rear brake lights remained illuminated. the dealer was contacted, who determined that the brake light switch could be the defective component. the vehicle was not inspected. the contact planned to file a complaint with the manufacturer after filing a complaint with the nhtsa.

Reported in: OXON HILL MD || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R14H

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:SWITCHES:BRAKE LIGHT

dt*: the contact stated while traveling various speeds, the rear brake lights remained illuminated. the dealer was contacted, who determined that the brake light switch could be the defective component. the vehicle was not inspected. the contact planned to file a complaint with the manufacturer after filing a complaint with the nhtsa.

Reported in: OXON HILL MD || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R14H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE:GASOLINE

my 2004 intrepid with 2.7 engine seized while driving almost causing a accident was purchased in 02/04 and now i come to find there are others like me i want the issue of the motors resolved so i can get a refund of my money from fixing my car that i have kept good maintenance on it to hard to be without a vehicle and still making payments on and trying to save for a new motor when i could be putting that money aside for education ect for my children especially when they are aware of the problems not only of mine but others like me they seem not to care of safety. *nm

Reported in: MONROE VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R34H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

12-9-06 oil change oil light sensor was going to be changed 1-07 1-3-07 oil sensor blew out all oil while on i265 engine locked up 2-07 brand new engine will be installed by louisville motor exchange costing $5088.70. *nm

Reported in: LOUISVILLE KY || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R04H

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

tl* - the contact┐s 2004 dodge intrepid would not shift from second gear to third gear while driving at 35 mph, leaving her unable to accelerate to highway speeds. the transmission was replaced shortly after, she took the vehicle in for service and they told her that the engine need to be replace as well, at a cost of $5000.00. the contact was also complaining about a strong smell gas fumes in the passenger compartment. when she drove the vehicle the fumes were so strong that the windows had to be open at all times. the contact is waiting for a second opinion from another mechanic. all scheduled maintenance on the vehicle has been performed. *jb the engine was replaced as well. updateed 03/20/07. *jb

Reported in: COMSTOCK PARK MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R54H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

tl* - the contact┐s 2004 dodge intrepid would not shift from second gear to third gear while driving at 35 mph, leaving her unable to accelerate to highway speeds. the transmission was replaced shortly after, she took the vehicle in for service and they told her that the engine need to be replace as well, at a cost of $5000.00. the contact was also complaining about a strong smell gas fumes in the passenger compartment. when she drove the vehicle the fumes were so strong that the windows had to be open at all times. the contact is waiting for a second opinion from another mechanic. all scheduled maintenance on the vehicle has been performed. *jb the engine was replaced as well. updateed 03/20/07. *jb

Reported in: COMSTOCK PARK MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R54H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

tl* - the contact stated that his 2004 dodge intrepid engine had failed. the odometer reading was 80,000 miles. while driving on 01/11/06 at 65 mph on a clear day he could see steam coming from under the hood of the vehicle. the vehicle was towed the nearest service station. the contact stated that a part had failed and was melted, so they replaced it, (he not sure which part). the contact stated that after this part was replaced the mechanic informed the contact that coolant was leaking into the engine and that the engine's head was warped. the contact stated that the vehicle is still at the mechanic shop waiting for a new engine. the contact was informed that his engine had seized. *jb updated 03/02/07. *jb

Reported in: RIDGEFIELD CT || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R54H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

i own a 2004 dodge intrepid which i have had for 2 years. i was driving to work a week ago when i looked down my oil light was on. then after that my car completely died. i tried to jump it, but it wouldn't go. it was also -1 outside. i then had my car towed to a place to have them look at it. they called me back and told me that my engine was completely shot. they told me i had to replace it. something to do with lack of lubrication inside the engine. nothing to do with me. i had oil in the engine. the reason for my complaint is that when i called to get some help from someone they had told me they couldn't help me due to the fact i didn't bring it to where they told me to. i still owe 9,000 and now i have to take out another loan to cover the cost of the engine which is 5,300. i only had 105,000 miles on the car. i think it should not matter where you bring you car to have it worked on. i think we say it's a free country and we can choose so many things, but when you have to figure out how to get to work due to a engine being replaced is crazy!! i have always had a dodge intrepid. i thought that dodge was a good company but when it comes down to it they are terrible. i think that they could offer to help out with the cost of the new motor, but i didn't go where they told me to so now i have to suffer. i am not backing up dodge at all. i am very angry with them. it's not my fault that they don't know how to make a engine, but i am the one who suffers. not them. *jb

Reported in: CAMBRIDGE MN || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R74H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

my wife's car would not start for her went she was going to go to work. for about the last eight to ten months the oil light was coming on and she took it to a auto shop an they said that it was a oil sensor. they replaced it and i also changed the oil. after it would not start on 2/05/07 she had it towed to the shop where they said it was the battery and the starter, but that didn't work. the guy that was working on it noticed that the engine was a 2.7 v6 motor. he told us that the car had locked up and would never start again due to oil starvation. he also said that he had seen this one other time. the year of her car is a 2004 dodge intrepid. he also stated that cars that have that 2.7 size motor made by daimler chrysler have this oil starvation problem which cause my wife's car to lock up. if this is true it could be a danger to others with this size motor if they are driving and the car may lock up. we are still looking into what will be done to resolve this issue but would like to let people know that if they have the 2.7 v6 size motor in their car and the oil light keeps coming on especially during braking to get it checked asap. thank you *jb

Reported in: ROCHESTER IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R94H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

i had an oil change on 12-9-06 no problems seen by the ase mechanic. 1-3-07 while driving home from work, engine started to knock, safely pulled over, shut off the car and it would not start again. the engine was locked up. had it towed to midas where i had my oil change done. then to the engine shop where it cost me 5604.00 to have a brand new engine installed. *nm

Reported in: LOUISVILLE KY || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R04H

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

my 2004 dodge intrepid with 80000 the rack and pinion needs to be replaced. i have also replaced the transmission at 50000. i believe this is not normal for a car. *ak

Reported in: SAUK VILLAGE IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R74H

STEERING:RACK AND PINION

my 2004 dodge intrepid with 80000 the rack and pinion needs to be replaced. i have also replaced the transmission at 50000. i believe this is not normal for a car. *ak

Reported in: SAUK VILLAGE IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R74H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

re: 2004 dodge intrepid with mitsubishi 2.7l engine on january 28, 2007 my teenage daughter was driving referenced car when without any warning engine failed causing steering to fail, and my daughter was forced to allow the car to coast into a safety zone. although automobile had recently been serviced and had the bushings replaced, there was no indication either to me or the mechanic that the engine was in immediate danger of failure. the car has less than 45,000 miles on it. i see from several websites that the engine in my intrepid is defective and many, many engines both in the u.s. and canada have the same problem. however, i an told now that regardless of maintenance of the vehicle, any warranties, the early failure of the engine, i have no recourse but to replace the engine at a cost of around $3500. but, there is a problem. so many of these engines have had to be replaced that i cannot get an engine, even if i could pay for it. so, i continue to make car payments for a defective vehicle that i cannot drive and cannot repair because there are no engines. help, please help.*jb

Reported in: TALLAHASSEE FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R54H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:EXHAUST SYSTEM:EMISSION CONTROL:CATALYTIC CONVERTOR

tl*the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. while driving 35 mph, the vehicle's check engine light illuminated and the vehicle shut off without warning. the dealer replaced the catalytic converter. approximately three weeks later, the same failure recurred. the contact has the repair invoice. the current mileage is 63,000 and failure mileage was 62,500.

Reported in: ARLINGTON VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD56G34H

STRUCTURE

after watching a segment on local news on the dashboard collapse on the dodge rams, i realized what has been the cause of what started as a hairline crack on dashboard. i purchased the 2004 dodge intrepid about 14 months ago in almost perfect condition. months later i noticed a hairline crack, which i hadn't noticed when i purchased the vehicle. at first i thought maybe it was an oversight since the hairline was so small, as time went by i had seen the crack get longer and wider. now, the crack was at a point where the dash board was starting to collapse. i have not seen any recalls on this make/ model/ year , yet there were various problems with other dodge dashboards. *ak

Reported in: ORLANDO FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R04H

STRUCTURE

2004 dodge intrepid se passenger side of dashboard is cracking, approximately 10" long now. *ak

Reported in: THE VILLAGES FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R54H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:EXHAUST SYSTEM

i am writing to inform you of an event that has affected me and may be a concern to others. in 2004, i purchases a 2004 dodge intrepid from the now defunct tony pesce chrysler, jeep, dodge , predecessor to also defunct labate chrysler, jeep, dodge, located on north market street in east palestine,oh. the vehicle had normal preventable checks done, and had undergone all applicable recall service. at one point, the vehicle needed to be serviced for an immense amount of black smoke coming from the exhaust. there was a full diagnostic test ran on the car and the result was that everything was a okay. approximately three months later, i had been informed i was in need of a new engine. the vehicle is out of warranty and i am stuck to pay for a vehicle that has yet to reach its payoff. i am a single mother of two who hoped to better serve my family by purchasing a "dependable" vehicle and am now faced with a terrible loss dilemma. i am very discouraged and feel that i have been mislead by chrysler corporation, and "authorized service technicians." i always returned my vehicle to my original seller (or certified dodge dealer) when a problem would occur and i am more hurt than anything as to how no one could see this problem coming (especially given the above stated). i have never been a mechanic or someone who knows a lot about vehicles which is why whenever i felt the slightest problem i would seek help from a dealer. i had the natural thought of letting a technician tell me what i did or did not need. i feel as if i have no where else to turn with a once reputable dealership closing its doors. living paycheck to paycheck while trying to figure out if my vehicle will take my little girls to school or get me to work and back i simply have no room to breathe. the thought of putting $7,000 into a $30,000 vehicle that is less than half way paid off is absolutely absurd. i am unable to trade without owing or receive any assistance from crysler.*ak

Reported in: EAST PALESTINE OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R84H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:EXHAUST SYSTEM:MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

i bought two 2004 dodges:intrepid w/3.5 l. & stratus w/2.7 l. from g.s.a. auction in june 2007. from day 1 of owing them. i kept getting check engine light on with fault codes concerning intermittent camshaft position sensor faults on both of them, and engine bucking. then the check engine light will disappear. this will happen randomly. now i face a dilemma with the state emissions testing. i have checked the circuits concerning this problem., but the situation remained the same.*ak

Reported in: ABINGDON MD || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3AD46V54H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

i am still paying for 2004 dodge intrepid inwhich the motor just suddenly locked up on.my intrepid is still under warranty and was told by dailmerchyrsler that it had to be taken to my local dealer,which it was by tow truck.after many weeks talking with the tech. at the dealer ship i was told that dailmerchyrsler was not going to honor the warranty.i had tried for two weeks to get a hold of the district manager that may this call but no one will give me his name or contact number.chyrsler customer service was rude and told me to go thru the dealership for handling this matter because they go thru the district manager.my car ran fine until that one night on my way home and it made a sudden light ticking sound and no warning lights was on and all the sudden about 3 minutes later my engine locks up leaving me in the middle of the road.the tech. at the dealership told me that the oil descending unit blew out when he first looked at it and also stated that it would cause the motor to lock up.but by so call order from the district manager the tech. took a sample from scraping the oil pan.the tech. then comes back a week later and stated that results are that sluge in the motor could also been a factor.i dont have the $6000.00 that they want to put another motor in but i still have to pay my big monthly car payments.i cant believe this multi-million dollar company is to cheap to honor thier company warranty on something that is clearly their car's malfuntion.

Reported in: CARYVILLE FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

i was driving home from work when my car gave a jerking motion as i was driving. i thought that maybe i hit a bump. as i pulled into the bank my car just died in the middle of the parking lot. their was no warning or anything. i had the car owed from the parking lot to my home and from their to the local firestone. firestone informed me that my engine was locked and that the car had no oil. i am now looking at purchasing a new engine for the car because i am still paying a car note. at this moment the car engine is still available.

Reported in: BOLINGBROOK IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R94H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

almost immediately after i got my car i had occasional issue with it dying while i was driving. it got to be more often so i took it to the dealership as it was still under warranty. after 3 trips i was always told, nothing was wrong. then my warranty ran out and my car died almost daily. then my car would die while i was driving, usually would start right back up but not always and then the check engine light would be on. then i had issues starting my car. i decided to take the less expensive route and go to a local mechanic. he drove the car and saw/felt no issues as the check engine light was now off. he told me he had to have the car hooked up to the diagnostic machine at the time it dies so he could see what the issue was as 2 different codes were coming up. these codes were p0340 (intermittent cmp signal) and p0344 (no cmp signal). i was told one of the connectors was installed improperly on my camshaft sensor. after another try, the car dies again. mechanic stated the car started right back up and issue was gone. i drove off only to have my car die again. at this point i called the dodge dealership to see what the codes meant. without even looking at my car, i was told, have the camshaft sensor replaced. i was quoted $285.00. i had just paid almost $200.00 to the last guy and didn't have any more money to spend. a friend heard me having issues starting my car one day, i told him what i was told was wrong and the quote of $285.00 from dodge. we went to a local autopart store and purchased a camshaft sensor for $48.00. literally it took 5 minutes to loosen a nut, pop the faulty camshaft sensor off, put the new one on and tighten the nut. that simple! no more issues with my car dying while driving or starting. i think its disgusting there are complaints logged at least 7 years back on this engine and they are still manufacturing automobiles with this engine and ignoring the complaints. this should not be acceptable. *jb

Reported in: PORTLAND OR || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R94H

STEERING:LINKAGES:TIE ROD ASSEMBLY

i first noticed that the steering wheel was a bit off center and it has since gotten to the point that there is excessive play in the wheel and the vehicle is very difficult to control. the steering also makes a clunk noise when the wheel is turned back and forth. after doing some research and inspecting the steering system i found that the inner tie rod bushings are almost gone. this is an extremely dangerous design flaw and had it continued the bolts may have sheared and resulted in a total loss of steering. i will now need to replace the inner tie rod bushings, bolts, and plate.

Reported in: LAS VEGAS NV || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD56G84H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2004 dodge intrepid 2.7l engine - failure due to oil sludge. my car starting overheating a couple months ago. i had to have some friends pick me up when it wouldn't start 3 times. then 2 weeks ago my car finally quit in the middle of the road. i had to sit blocking traffic with a police officer while waiting on the tow truck. my car is now sitting in my garage useless because every mechanic i talk to says they don't want to touch it because of the known manufacturer's problem w/ that engine. i still owe $10k on a car that doesn't work! now what???

Reported in: MARIETTA GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R04H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

engine failure.

Reported in: BETHANY BEACH DE || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R44H

STEERING:RACK AND PINION

clanking noise in front end when turning the steering wheel in reverse or forward gears on a 2004 dodge intrepid. dealer says rack and pinion is leaking causing the clanking noise and needs replaced. car is not really safe to drive down the road. dealer nor chrysler will help with the repair i am told it is my expense at $1,300.00. research on the web shows this is a defect with the manufacturers part and now i am expected to pay to fix it so i as a single mother can drive with my four children in this car that i make payments on! *jb

Reported in: PIONEER OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R74H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:EXHAUST SYSTEM:MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

tl*the contact owns 2004 dodge intrepid. while driving 65 mph, the engine completely shut down. a mechanic stated that there were holes in the intake manifold allowing air to seep. no repairs were made. dodge was notified. the current and failure mileages were 98,000. the engine size, vin, and purchase date were unavailable.

Reported in: WINSTON SALEM NC || Crash: N || VIN #:

STEERING

my 2004 intrepid will not steer without putting all my strength into turning it. the steering pump is working and i still can not turn the wheel without a lot of resistance. i have seen that a lot of others consumers have had this same problem ue to a faulty rack and pinion.

Reported in: MODOC IN || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

engine oil light goes on at low idle, 1000 rpm of less, questioned dealer service dept about this and they said that the oil was in need of a change or that it was low do to a leak. neither of those cases are true in that the oil is changed every 6,000 miles of less according to driving conditions and the owners manual. this car, 2004 dodge intrepid is still under the 7year, 70,000 mile extended warranty, but it is close to expiring. dealer says drive it as is and the light should go out, if not bring it back in. they say the same thing each time, are they waiting until the warranty expires?

Reported in: LAVISTA NE || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

tl*the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. while driving 21 mph, the engine began to make a knocking sound and the engine light illuminated. the contact was able to drive home at speeds between 4-5 mph. the vehicle was taken to a mechanic and they stated that the engine was blown and needed to be replaced. the current and failure mileages were 108,940.

Reported in: BEREA OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R54H

SEAT BELTS

generation 3 seat belt we have 2002 and 2004 intrepids (dodge) with the generation 3 seatbelt local dealership refuses to update them worried about the performance of seatblet should there be a crash.

Reported in: BEMIDJI MN || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46V34H

STEERING

tl*the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. while driving 45 mph, the vehicle would float and move from left to right. the contact would have to jerk the steering wheel in order to control the vehicle. the dealer has not been notified. the purchase date and powertrain were unknown. the current mileage was 81,000 and failure mileage was approximately 65,000.

Reported in: MESA AZ || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R04H

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

in august 2004 we bought a 2004 dodge intrepid with 17,000 miles from a dodge dealer. in september 2005 the vehicle started experiencing hesitation and stuttering at start up when the temperature fell below 40 degrees. took it to the dealership and the mechanic said it was the crank sensor, which was replaced under warranty. problem didn't go away. in november 2005 took the car back to the dealership. at that time the cam sensor was replaced under warranty. some improvement was noticed. in october 2007 the dash lights started to flicker. this happened whether the car was driving or at a standstill. back to the dealership. they said it was probably the battery. we agreed to pay for a new battery and left the car there while the battery was being replaced. the dealership test drove the car and the lights still flickered. they then determined that a ground wire was loose, probably causing the flicker. this car is 4 years old and currently has 30,000 miles. we don't drive it many miles per year and don't feel it is really reliable. no wonder dodge stopped production on the intrepid!!

Reported in: WINCHESTER IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R84H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

in august 2004 we bought a 2004 dodge intrepid with 17,000 miles from a dodge dealer. in september 2005 the vehicle started experiencing hesitation and stuttering at start up when the temperature fell below 40 degrees. took it to the dealership and the mechanic said it was the crank sensor, which was replaced under warranty. problem didn't go away. in november 2005 took the car back to the dealership. at that time the cam sensor was replaced under warranty. some improvement was noticed. in october 2007 the dash lights started to flicker. this happened whether the car was driving or at a standstill. back to the dealership. they said it was probably the battery. we agreed to pay for a new battery and left the car there while the battery was being replaced. the dealership test drove the car and the lights still flickered. they then determined that a ground wire was loose, probably causing the flicker. this car is 4 years old and currently has 30,000 miles. we don't drive it many miles per year and don't feel it is really reliable. no wonder dodge stopped production on the intrepid!!

Reported in: WINCHESTER IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R84H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

tl*the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. while driving 20-25 mph, the oil light illuminated then the vehicle shut off. the contact stated that he was able to restart the vehicle however the vehicle began to shake and he heard a clunking noise coming from the engine. the dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. as of february 22, 2008, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. the failure mileage was 72,500 and current mileage was 72,550.

Reported in: AKRON OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R64H

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

purchased 2004 dodge intrepid and the engine light came on within 2 months. two estimates said computer is needed for the vehicle.

Reported in: GREENVILLE SC || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R14H

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

i got a 2004 dodge intrepid and i had it for six months and the car had 53k miles on when i got it . i had to buy a transmission 3,500 dollars and 3 months later the motor went out i call dodge they told me that they would not help me so please help me because the car is a lemon i cant keep spending money on the car every month the car is worth 5,600 dollars the loan with transmission is 12thousand dollars so please help me because they want admit that the car is junk.

Reported in: JASPER TN || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

on sunday march 9th 2008 i was on the freeway about 10-15 miles from my house and my car just died i got it off the freeway safely and everything seemed fine i let it cool down checked the fluids and started it back up once started a loud knocking was coming from the engine and i got it back on the freeway and it died again made it to the shoulder and then had it towed to my house . went out tonight march 11, 2008 and checked the oil dipstick and to my surprise sludge not oil or water just sludge..... i did a google search to look up head gaskets for a 2004 dodge intrepid and had thousands of hits about the 2.7l engine having this problem wow now i wish i never got this car!!!

Reported in: VALLEJO CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R74H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2004 dodge intrepid with 80,000 and good maintenance has engine failure due to oil sludge.

Reported in: HUNTSVILLE AL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R84H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:EXHAUST SYSTEM:EMISSION CONTROL:CRANKCASE (PCV)

with no warning my car cut off in middle of road. was able to start it and get to parking lot but it was sputtering. dealer replaced the cam shaft position censor ($400) now my oil light comes on while at an idle even though there is plenty of oil. i have been told it is probably the oil pressure sending unit but not sure yet.

Reported in: CONCORD NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R24H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM

i purchased a 2004 dodge intrepid in 2006 i brought the car at 71,000 miles the car has 102,000 miles on it that's 15,000 per year . i never really drove the car long distances except to go to work. i just recently had a problem on november 24, 2008 the car cut off on the highway on me took it to the dodge dealership they said the battery was weak. on jan 17 the car cut on me in the middle of the street took it to the shop they said the car was over heating and i needed a thermostat. after i got it out on march 15, the car cut off on me again on the highway i pushed it off the ramp to safety called dodge roadside assistance for help they denied me help stating my warranty expired so i used my last 70 dollars to pay for tow also had to get it towed again to the nearest dodge dealer because the gas station said that my motor went. when i took it to the dealer they again stated i was beyond my warranty. i had to find my contract ,finding a way to work and dispute my case when i look over my contract i took out an extended warranty and still they denied me. on top of that the 2.7 engine sucks and i wouldn't dare put another one in there. my car is at the dealership and i don't know what to do .

Reported in: WINDSOR CT || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R74H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

i purchased a 2004 dodge intrepid with 26,000 mile for approx 20,000. i started the car one day and drive 5 minutes away to my sons school when i heard a loud knocking. i immediately called our local dodge dealer who scheduled me an appointment for 6 weeks away. i stopped driving the car immediately. on jan 2nd i took the car in to see what the issue was. it is now april 9 and i was informed today that the car needs a new engine due to sludge and my warranty was denied by chrysler. even though i provide proof of maintenance for the whole 40,000 miles i put on the car the district manager for chrysler said my receipts were not verifiable and they were done in a actual car repair shop. i've been without a car now for 5 months and still owe 8,000 on the loan. the car has 68,000 thousands miles and chrysler says to bad so sad.

Reported in: CANTON OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R64H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

it has died 4 times while driving on the highway 73 mph. it will not start half the time and the engine light goes on and off. i bought it 3 weeks ago and it is a 2004 dodge intrepid.

Reported in: HENRIETTA TX || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

tl*the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. the contact purchased a vehicle from the auction that makes a horrible knocking sound. the vehicle is unable to be driven due to the noise. the vehicle was taken to two locations that diagnosed engine failure, and stated that the engine needed to be replaced. the current and failure mileages were 72,300.

Reported in: BLUE ISLAND IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R04H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

the 2.7 liter engine in my 2004 dodge intrepid had to be replaced due to bearing failure and a thrown rod. i bought this vehicle as a program car with less than 12000 miles and the original manufacturers warranty was in effect. i do not have a warranty complaint since my vehicle was no longer under warranty. i do feel that my engine failure was due to the sludge problem that seems to be prevalent in the chrysler 2.7 liter motors.

Reported in: EVANSVILLE IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R24H

AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

we were in a car accident on june 13, 2008. we were traveling east in a 2004 dodge intrepid on a 2 lane street and in the opposite lane a 2001 ford f-150 pickup truck was traveling west. the owner of the truck that was traveling west failed to yield to oncoming traffic and proceeded to make a left hand turn into a driveway. as we can over a hill traveling at rates of speed of 25-30 mph was when the driver made his turn. upon impact the whole front bumper of the intrepid came off, smoking and grinding sounds were very loud. the hood folded up and the headlights flew off. the damage to the intrepid was very bad. the airbags never deployed in the intrepid. the police report listed this as a head on collision. as of right now i was the passenger in the intrepid and have sustained some very serious nerve damage and a shoulder injury. as well as bruising across my chest. but our concern is that when we bought our car we were told that the airbags would work in a accident. which they failed to do.

Reported in: SPRINGFIELD MO || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2B3HD46R94H

TIRES

i had flat tires in three of my 4 tires in a 6 week period. the first and third of these 3 flats were traced to a crack in the valve stem. the 2nd and 3rd flats occurred at highway speeds within 50 minutes of each other damaging both tires beyond repair. the second tire caused severe pulling to the right. by the time i pulled over the tire was smoking. sears had installed these tires in 2006. they suspect the tech tr413 valve stem was the culprit. sears agreed to replace all tires with new. this work has not yet been done yet so one valve stem remains installed and will be closely inspected upon replacement. do you want this valve stem returned for inspection? the police provided an escort for tire failure #2 so police records surely exist though i filed no formal report.

Reported in: SHEBOYGAN WI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R44H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

tl*the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. while driving 65 mph, the vehicle suddenly shut off. the contact had to wait 2-3 minutes before the vehicle would restart. the vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was informed that the camshaft sensor failed. the vehicle was serviced for the failure, but the failure still persists. there were no warning lights illuminated prior to the failure. the current mileage was 39,000 and failure mileage was 25,000.

Reported in: HUNTSVILLE AL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD56G24H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

engine oil pressure problem. typical of the 2.7l engine.

Reported in: YOUNGSTOWN OH || Crash: N || VIN #:

SUSPENSION

steering failure on my 2004 dodge intrepid. steering all of a sudden went real loose and car drifts and won't turn as it should. no damage to the steering mechanism or suspension.

Reported in: PIEDMONT SC || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46RX4H

STEERING

steering failure on my 2004 dodge intrepid. steering all of a sudden went real loose and car drifts and won't turn as it should. no damage to the steering mechanism or suspension.

Reported in: PIEDMONT SC || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46RX4H

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

transmission issues check engine light comes on got solenoid pack put in (all electronics) and still have issue with transmission, needed an alternator however the alternator is located between the frame and the engine, very expensive, needed a battery but the battery is located on the passenger side and the tire has to be removed in order to change it. the company is aware of the ongoing issues with the transmission, alternator etc, how do you file a complaint with the company also, dome lights come on by themselves while car is running.

Reported in: RANDALLSTOWN MD || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3AD46R14H

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

transmission issues check engine light comes on got solenoid pack put in (all electronics) and still have issue with transmission, needed an alternator however the alternator is located between the frame and the engine, very expensive, needed a battery but the battery is located on the passenger side and the tire has to be removed in order to change it. the company is aware of the ongoing issues with the transmission, alternator etc, how do you file a complaint with the company also, dome lights come on by themselves while car is running.

Reported in: RANDALLSTOWN MD || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3AD46R14H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

my 2004 intrepid has not failed but it is showing some of the same signs as many others have described. about 3 or 4 months ago my engine oil light started coming on while the car was sitting at idle or going at a slow speed. recently the car has started not being able to come out of second gear until it has ran for a while. it also knocks while i am at a stop. i am on a fixed income and replacing an engine is something i cannot afford to do. what can be done right now to avoid this whole situation? why is the 2.6l v6 engine so terrible? the dealership i purchased this 2004 intrepid from has been bought out and is under new management. i do not want to end up with a car payment but no car.

Reported in: MARSHALL TX || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

driving home last evening approached a red light, the car shuttered and stalled, would not restart. had car towed to brother-in-laws shop, they advised us that the engine was gone.

Reported in: FOXBORO MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R34H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2004 dodge intrepid had a problems with overheating and sludge. consumer states that this vehicle has many complaints about different problems. *nj the consumer stated the engine finally seized. *jb

Reported in: PEEKSKILL NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R94H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

2004 dodge intrepid with 2.7liter engine; loud ticking noise started and engine seized up.

Reported in: CUYAHOGA FALLS OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3AD46R04H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

tl*the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. while driving approximately 35 mph on normal road conditions, the engine stalled without warning. the contact made several attempts before the engine would restart. there were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. when the vehicle resumed operation, the performance was poor. the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and they discovered a timing belt defect. the engine was replaced at the contact's expense. the failure mileage was 76,000 and current mileage was 87,000.

Reported in: RACINE WI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R34H

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

automatic door locks on all doors except drivers door failed to operate. each of the passenger doors failed at different times during a single month. drivers door stopped working for a few days and began working again. dealer stated each door has separate operating system that need replaced.

Reported in: GILBERTSVILLE PA || Crash: N || VIN #:

STEERING

after purchasing the 2004 dodge intrepid, my grand daughter noticed that there is excessive "play" in the steering wheel. i went to the internet and found that this a very common problem with a dodge intrepid from 1997 though 2004.

Reported in: GREEN RIVER WY || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R14H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

i got my car in 2004 with appx 30,000 miles on it. every since i got it the check engine light would go on and off. just recently the vehicle started making a loud noise when i drive it so i took it to 3 different mechanics and they all confirmed that i need a new engine and stated that this is typical of a 2.7 engine from chrysler/dodge. one of the mechanics stated that he repaired 3 different dodge intrepids in the last quarter of last year for the exact same problem. i have had quite a few things replaced on this car but now i have to get a new engine? i still owe appx $5,000 on my car and b/c it is a dodge with a lot of miles on it, it is not worth alot. there are so many issues with the 2.7 engine that i do not understand why there wasn't a recall and the company is required to replace these engines. i have small children that have to ride in my car and i feel that it is very unsafe to ride it because you don't know when the engine will go out.

Reported in: CHARLOTTE NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R54H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

i got my car in 2004 with appx 30,000 miles on it. every since i got it the check engine light would go on and off. just recently the vehicle started making a loud noise when i drive it so i took it to 3 different mechanics and they all confirmed that i need a new engine and stated that this is typical of a 2.7 engine from chrysler/dodge. one of the mechanics stated that he repaired 3 different dodge intrepids in the last quarter of last year for the exact same problem. i have had quite a few things replaced on this car but now i have to get a new engine? i still owe appx $5,000 on my car and b/c it is a dodge with a lot of miles on it, it is not worth alot. there are so many issues with the 2.7 engine that i do not understand why there wasn't a recall and the company is required to replace these engines. i have small children that have to ride in my car and i feel that it is very unsafe to ride it because you don't know when the engine will go out.

Reported in: CHARLOTTE NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R54H

STRUCTURE:BODY:HOOD:HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

hood support struts may slowly lose enough hydraulic pressure to prevent the hood from slamming down unexpectedly after the hood has been raised. this failure is consistent and my cause severe injury or death if anyone is working under the hood. i was fortunate enough to not be working on the engine when this event occurred. i have not replaced the struts, but will take the car to the dealer and inform them of this issue.

Reported in: DALLAS TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R24H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

on approximately may 8, 2008, i was driving my 2004 dodge intrepid home along highway 169 on which the speed is 65mph. as i continued on my car began to shake a little as is slowed and was not taking any gas as i tried to push the pedal, fortunately i was able to get over to the side of the highway where the car came to a complete stop. there was no forewarning or anything, just driving down the highway as usual. once help finally arrived, i had the car towed to an auto shop at which they came back with the diagnosis that the engine was out and the cost to replace would be $5500 or more. i have not had the money to have this vehicle fixed as it has been just sitting at a friends shop for the last year.

Reported in: MINNEAPOLIS MN || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R04H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

tl*the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. the contact stated that the check engine light continued to illuminate on the instrument panel. the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing and they stated that the cam and crankshaft sensors needed to be replaced. the vehicle has not been repaired. the current and failure mileages were less than 80,000.

Reported in: ROYAL OAK MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R94H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM

my car temperature gauge showed it over heating, i pull hood to let air in as i was driving to work, the cooling system never kicked in, and 10 mins later as i pulled into work my car blew up while sitting inside.

Reported in: BROOKLYN NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD56M74H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM

i bought my 2004 dodge intrepid on april 26, 2009. about a week after buying it the engine light came on and my car started jerking and i had to lift off the gas and push the pedal back down to get going. ever since this even it did this every once in a while. in july my engine light came on and it shut off completely and i had to push it to the side of the road and it restarted. in august the temperature gauge started to read high and the next day i put new antifreeze in the car and it didn't take. as i was driving down the road for only about 20 mins black clouds started coming out from under the hood and the car turned itself off. most complaints i have read have been about 2.7 engines but mine is a 3.6. the antifreeze reservoir melted off, the timing belt broke, the water pump broke, and 3 different censors need replaced. my car is currently still sitting at the shop because i don't have $857.00 to fix it. this all happened within 4 months of having the car.

Reported in: LAFAYETTE IN || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

i was driving home from work. i had checked the coolant recently and the engine light was not on. sitting at a light i looked at my temp gage it was climbing. within seconds i heard a loud pop and steam started bellowing from under the hood. with out warning the water housing cover blew denting the hood. i am thankful i had just exited the interstate and was able to get to a safe place to park it fast. at this time i do not know what other damage has been done. waiting on a new cover and we will find out.

Reported in: AUSTIN TN || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

i have a 2004 dodge intrepid and it has a 2.7 engine and i am having oil sludge build up which is causing engine problems with my car.

Reported in: INDPLS IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R04H

STEERING:COLUMN

tl* the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. when driving the steering column becomes loose, which makes it difficult to steer. the vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the technicians could not identify the cause of the failure. the failure mileage 78,695.

Reported in: ELLISTON VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R44H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

tl* the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. while driving on the highway the vehicle stalled without warning. upon further inspection he noticed that the piston, and all other engine components had failed. it cost $3500.00. to repair the engine. the dealer nor the manufacturer have not been contacted. the failure mileage was 87,000. the vehicle identification number was unavailable.

Reported in: VIRGINIA GARDENS FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

water pump and timing chain needed to be replaced, when mechanic took the car apart, the engine was full of oil sludge. he said the engine was dead. the car is a 2004 intrepid with just over 72000 miles. i am voluntarily reopening the car back to chrysler. i still owe around 3800.

Reported in: COVENTRY RI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R94H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u.s.c. 552(b)(6) 2004 dodge intrepid sxt vin: [xxx] car kept shutting down while driving and "bucking" at times. i brought the car to be repaired on 03/07/2008 and the dealer replaced cam shaft position sensor, natural vacuum leak detection switch and canister assy and oxygen sensor. car started bucking. i brought the car in to be repaired on 10/30/2008 and the mechanic replaced the transmission solenoid. i had to replace the oil pan on 11/06/2008. i found out the oil pan made of thin aluminum. when the oil pan was ordered by the mechanic it was on national backorder by dodge. car started to shut down while driving again. i brought the car in to be repaired and the mechanic changed the cam shaft position sensor again. i received a recall notification from chrysler - emissions recall j18. the recall states the catalytic converters may become damaged from continued operation in "limp-in" mode following a camshaft position sensor fault. i called chrysler and was told the recall had been put on hold. my car started to shut down again while driving and i could not drive it above 40mph otherwise when braking the transmission would go from 3rd gear to 1st gear (skipping 2nd gear). i brought the car in to be repaired on 03/04/2010 and the car is still in the shop. so far, the mechanic replaced the camshaft position sensor, transmission solenoid and now believes the computer is no good.

Reported in: DEERFIELD BEACH FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD56G64H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM

2004 dodge intrepid se car constantly overheats sounds like boiling/gushing sounds coming from the engine which can be felt under driver floor, replaced sensors, thermostat, waterpump, a/c belts, car still runs hot daily.

Reported in: LANCASTER TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R44H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

engine failure. 2004 dodge intrepid. low oil pressure light on dash flickers, found out that 2.7 engine is known for this problem costing $5500.00 dollars for new engine. my family and i bought this car brand new and have relentlessly had oil changed through the years every 3000 miles.

Reported in: LOGANSPORT IN || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

friday august 6th i ran a few errands after work, then on the way back my car started making a banging noise. i traveled a little further then the noise became louder and louder, so i pulled over. i called my boyfriend who came in about 15 minutes and he checked under the hood. we found out that we could not get a reading on the oil stick when checking it. we took the car over to be checked by a mechanic. i seems like the oil was sludge/thick; now this is considering i got a complete oil change june 27, 2010...this incident happened august 6th. now my mechanic says that i need a new engine. i have been diligent with the maintenance on my car. i get regular oil changes and other things that's needed for my car. i have not had any real problems up until now. i have recently bought new tires, i have also had to have the alternator and battery replaced, but nothing like this. since this has happened i have read 100's of complaints concerning dodges 2.7 engines. they are notorious for doing just what my engine has done. with no warning the engine is gone. dodge refuses to recall these engines that could very well cause major, major damage to lives. what a tragedy!

Reported in: BAYONNE NJ || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

driving home from work in my 2004 dodge intrepid when i heard a strange gushing noise from under the hood. the gauges in the car read that everything was fine, car was not overheating, etc... approximately 1 to 2 miles later the car stopped running. i coasted over to the side of the road and called my husband. he and my son in law came and we pulled the car back to the house. upon inspection of the engine, there was water in the oil when we pulled the dipstick. my son in law is an ase certified mechanic and he went over the car thoroughly in the next day and found that without warning, the water pump blew. the engine was a total loss. the car had approximately 120,000 miles on it and i still had a year of payments to make. dodge should do something about these cars and this 2.7 engine. it's a shame, i loved my car!

Reported in: SMITH STATION AL || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

my 2004 dodge intrepid caught on fire from an oil leak on october 15, 2010.

Reported in: HAMPTON GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3AD46R74H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

my 2004 dodge intrepid was in an accident. over 5 miles per hour front end damage. air bags did not deploy. when car insurance looked at car said motor seized at the scene of accident but not from accident. terrible car,terrible auto insurance. now paying for a car that is sitting at a garage.

Reported in: LEETONIA OH || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2B3HD46R34H

AIR BAGS

my 2004 dodge intrepid was in an accident. over 5 miles per hour front end damage. air bags did not deploy. when car insurance looked at car said motor seized at the scene of accident but not from accident. terrible car,terrible auto insurance. now paying for a car that is sitting at a garage.

Reported in: LEETONIA OH || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2B3HD46R34H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

tl* the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. the contact stated that the vehicle computer caused the catalytic converter to fail. the contact later received notification of a manufacturers recall for the power control module. the vehicle was taken to the dealer for updates to the computer but no other repairs were made to the catalytic converter. the dealer refused repairs and advised that the component could not be repaired under the recall. the contact believed that the computer caused the catalytic converter to malfunction and the contact stated that the manufacturer should be responsible for repairs to the entire system because the initial defect caused the failure. the vehicle was not further repaired. the failure mileage was 105,000.

Reported in: ST. LOUIS MO || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD56M14H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

while driving my 2004 dodge intrepid, the car started to jerk, so i pulled into the gas station and called my husband. we got the car back home, noticed the spark plugs were covered in oil, so we changed the spark plugs and cleaned up the oil. then the car would not start. took the car to the mechanic and was told the timing chain had broken and bent valves. i was told i would need to get a new engine in the car. i have seen a lot of complaints about the 04 dodge intrepid 2.7l engines. dodge should really do something about this problem as it seems to happen to a lot of people.

Reported in: LAKELAND FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM

overheating. i have had a new radiator put in. 2 new thermostats, cooling system flushed twice, new radiator cap, new top and bottom radiator hose, and my car still overheats. i bought this car thinking it would be a good car. but i don't feel safe in this vehicle at all. *tt

Reported in: HONDO TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46RX4H

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

overheating. i have had a new radiator put in. 2 new thermostats, cooling system flushed twice, new radiator cap, new top and bottom radiator hose, and my car still overheats. i bought this car thinking it would be a good car. but i don't feel safe in this vehicle at all. *tt

Reported in: HONDO TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46RX4H

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

tl* the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. the contact stated that while driving on an incline, she engaged the accelerator pedal but instead of the vehicle moving forward it rolled backward with an increase in engine rpms. the contact also mentioned that the vehicle would not shift into gear immediately. the vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the transmission was defective and needed to be replaced. the manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. the vehicle was not repaired. the failure mileage was 141,000 and current mileage was 143,000. updated 10/31/11 *bf updated 3/29/12 *cn

Reported in: RENTON WA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R64H

STEERING

i bought this car used in june 2009. less than a year later i began having problems. at first there was a loud knock on the right side under the hood, which ended up being the control arm- completely loose and almost disconnected. it hadn't been like that when i made this waste of a purchase. over the last 20 months (12/2/2011), the problems have progressively gotten worse (and more expensive). the loud bang is back, adding to it a lack of full control of steering. i now have to replace the tie rod (entire system) and the rack and pinion. i understand why this car was discontinued, just not why there was no recall.

Reported in: LEAGUE CITY TX || Crash: N || VIN #:

SUSPENSION

i bought this car used in june 2009. less than a year later i began having problems. at first there was a loud knock on the right side under the hood, which ended up being the control arm- completely loose and almost disconnected. it hadn't been like that when i made this waste of a purchase. over the last 20 months (12/2/2011), the problems have progressively gotten worse (and more expensive). the loud bang is back, adding to it a lack of full control of steering. i now have to replace the tie rod (entire system) and the rack and pinion. i understand why this car was discontinued, just not why there was no recall.

Reported in: LEAGUE CITY TX || Crash: N || VIN #:

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

tl* the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. the contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the front brakes seized. the vehicle was maneuvered to the shoulder and allowed to cool. the brakes released and functioned as normal after cooling. the failure recurred on an intermittent basis. the contact replaced the master cylinder, both front rotors, both front brake hoses, and both front calipers. the contact also allowed the brake lines to bleed through, but the failure continued. the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. the failure mileage was 127,000. the vin was not available. updated 04/10/12*lj the consumer stated the power booster failed and damaged other components of the braking system, such as the rotors, calipers and brake hoses. it also ruined the master cylinder and brake lines. updated 04/13/12

Reported in: LAINGSBURG MI || Crash: N || VIN #:

SERVICE BRAKES

i installed new rear brakes, then i stepped on the brakes and the pedal went to the floor, i check around and found that the steel brake tubing was rusted out and sprung a leak, repaired two of the four steel tubings,now it was lucky for me i was in the back lawn,. now if i was on the road who knows what could happened. how can a big company like chrysler get away with installing steel brake lines. it should be illegal to install such a hazard.. i wander how many accidents have been caused by this and if any one died because of this, they should be sued big time tony caputo ps this is accident,my son called me and said his rv chrysler did the same thing.he was on the road, he managed to get home ok, there should be some kind of recall on this, it is very very very dangerous. information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u.s.c. 552(b)(6).

Reported in: HARRINGTON DE || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R748

POWER TRAIN

tl* the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. the contact stated that the vehicle was parked when it rolled away from a residential driveway and crashed into a mailbox. the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. the mechanic advised the contact that the gear shift interlock needed to be replaced or repaired. the manufacturer was notified of the failure and advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. the vehicle was not repaired. the approximate failure mileage was 140,000 and the current mileage was 140,200.

Reported in: EAGAN MI || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2B3HD46R74H

SUSPENSION

the engine out of nowhere blew up, engine shut down and water and oil came out of the oil spout, also always having problems with the steering, having to constantly change the rubbers in the stabilizer bars, i'm complaining because the car is a lemon.

Reported in: STOCKTON CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R44H

ENGINE

the engine out of nowhere blew up, engine shut down and water and oil came out of the oil spout, also always having problems with the steering, having to constantly change the rubbers in the stabilizer bars, i'm complaining because the car is a lemon.

Reported in: STOCKTON CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R44H

ENGINE

i bought this car from a dealership a year ago, and kept up with maintenance. two days after purchasing the car the engine died and i had to have it towed back to the dealership, the mechanic there told me that there were burnt wires in the engine that had to be replaced. a month later, there was a leak in the coolant system, so i had it taken to a mechanic who replaced the entire coolant system, put in a new radiator because there was a small crack, as well as installed a brand new battery. about a month after that incident, as i was driving home from work, which is only 11 miles at 35mph, the engine seized. none of the indicator lights went on. two different mechanics told me that i need a new engine. it is a 2.7l v6. i still owe $4,000 on the car and so far it cost me $6,000 to keep it running.

Reported in: MAKAWAO HI || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE

i was driving along and the engine just stopped. no warning lights came on, no sudden noises, etc. i was driving the car approx. 25 minutes when this happened. i was able to pull off the road and have the car towed.

Reported in: WEST HAVEN CT || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE

i went to leave work and my car would not start. at first i thought maybe it was the battery or starter. after having both of these tested and several mechanics later was told that my engine was seized. i have always checked the oil and had it changed accordingly. this is not fair i trusted that this car would be reliable and dependable now i am stuck with no vehicle in a town with little to no public transportation. how could chrysler/dodge knowingly let people purchase this engine when there are several thousand complaints on it? how about a recall and some integrity and honesty in your product instead of screwing single mothers like me...

Reported in: POST FALLS ID || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R14H

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i went to leave work and my car would not start. at first i thought maybe it was the battery or starter. after having both of these tested and several mechanics later was told that my engine was seized. i have always checked the oil and had it changed accordingly. this is not fair i trusted that this car would be reliable and dependable now i am stuck with no vehicle in a town with little to no public transportation. how could chrysler/dodge knowingly let people purchase this engine when there are several thousand complaints on it? how about a recall and some integrity and honesty in your product instead of screwing single mothers like me...

Reported in: POST FALLS ID || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R14H

ENGINE

driving on freeway at 65mph when engine jumped to high rpm then dropped to low rpm and quit. steam coming out from under hood. found the water outlet box had blown the top off, engine overheated, and piston rod broke. many complaints of the plastic welded seam on the water outlet box failing on the dodge intrepid. this stranded me on the freeway in a bad area. very poor design water outlet box.. repair box is now a two piece assembly bolted together. they obviously knew of this defect and changed the design without recalling or repairing any. now need new engine due to overheating when the box failed.

Reported in: NORTHVILLE MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46RX4H

SERVICE BRAKES

i learned after state safety inspection at inspection site 44994, spiros on boston street, salem, ma that my brakes are defective. my auto passed safety inspection with bad brakes. i suspect a special relationship with class ii auto dealer shamrock motors, the inspection overlooked the brake problem. t. tires of cannel street salem found rotor and brake needed replacement, when fixing a flat tire. when approaching norm, owner, shamrock motors he insisted that i am a liar with memory problems. he explained pre-sales that demanding customers would have their cars purchased back rather than honoring the massachusetts consumer laws for the cars he sold. the mechanical work is done by [xxx] of creedon auto repair on canal street in salem. [xxx] was insistent that no auto leaves his shop with safety defects, yet the brakes of this auto are defective. as a disabled elder, i believe that i am the subject of no less than over enthusiastic salesmanship, fraud, and deception by norm at shamrock who calls me a liar and mentally deficient. these threats to my character make me fearful to return. i believe that there is a conspiracy between shamrock, spiros, and creedon. i have no evidence of this conspiracy, i just know that at least one of my brakes is faulty. another question is the milage on the odometer being accurate. information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u.s.c. 552(b)(6).

Reported in: SALEM MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46RX4H

SERVICE BRAKES

i was driving at approximately 50mph and started slowing down to get on the freeway during rush hour. i had a hard time braking and notice the accelerator was stuck. the car was still accelerating even when i applied the brakes. i had to push as hard as i could on the brakes to get the vehicle to slow down. this incident went on for at least three miles until the accelerator popped back to it's original setting. the same thing has happened in three separate incidents since.

Reported in: ANDOVER MN || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R74H

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

i was driving at approximately 50mph and started slowing down to get on the freeway during rush hour. i had a hard time braking and notice the accelerator was stuck. the car was still accelerating even when i applied the brakes. i had to push as hard as i could on the brakes to get the vehicle to slow down. this incident went on for at least three miles until the accelerator popped back to it's original setting. the same thing has happened in three separate incidents since.

Reported in: ANDOVER MN || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R74H

ENGINE

was traveling on the highway when the car began steaming, pulled over and all the radiator fluid was pouring out of the car. turns out the water pump went out. the pump is incorporated into the motor requiring the motor to be unbolted, turned up, the radiator, valve cover, thermostat, water pump, timing chain and more to be removed. cost was nearly $850 due to the extreme amount of labor involved and the fact dodge only parts have to be used. mechanic informed me, at that time that the 2.7 liter engine was a very poor design and often give out completely before the car has 100,000 miles on it and dodge is well aware of the problem. found a lawsuit filed against dodge for this defective engine in new jersey.

Reported in: HOLLAND MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R64H

ENGINE

car began steaming, and smoking. had to pull over to let it cool down, no extra antifreeze available. once cooled, limped it to mechanic. mechanic stated fuel pump is out again, after only 45,000 more miles on brand new dodge water pump. mechanic also stated that oil pressure is too high and seals bad, oil spewing out everywhere. he said this is a defect of the dodge 2.7 liter engine and since water pump is incorporated into motor, the cost to replace it, put all new seals and fix the oil pump would not be worth the value of the car and he will not do it because he refuses to "spend other people's money on a junk motor." he stated that even rebuilt dodge 2.7 liter motors are bad and will quit after only a few thousand miles. he says you can not get a good good 2.7 liter dodge motor for any intrepid built between 1998-2008. he had paperwork showing dodge knew it was a poor design that would blow and not be worth the cost of repair. i want this corrected and anyone who owned one of these lemons reimbursed for the cost of repairs for these vehicles! dodge knowingly sold these lemons and did nothing to fix the issue until 2008! this is a clear cut case of consumer fraud!

Reported in: HOLLAND MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R64H

POWER TRAIN

i was driving to work and all the sudden my car started dinging and i look down at the lights and my over heat light was on and my car temp was all the way at high. i took my car to ntb to get an oil change and had just filled my coolant the day before. ntb had to fill my coolant again that next day. i picked up my car and was on my way home and my car started dinging and it was over heating again. so i pulled over. let it set for 20 min even with the heat on full blast. and before i even made it home which was not even 10 min away it over heated again. i opened the hood and look and no coolant. now this is the 3rd time in 2 days of filling it up. had it towed to a shop. water pump went and timing chain and the water pump housing at the top cracked. sad thing is i just bought this car not even a month ago because my other cars engine blew.

Reported in: BROOKLYN OH || Crash: N || VIN #:

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

i was driving to work and all the sudden my car started dinging and i look down at the lights and my over heat light was on and my car temp was all the way at high. i took my car to ntb to get an oil change and had just filled my coolant the day before. ntb had to fill my coolant again that next day. i picked up my car and was on my way home and my car started dinging and it was over heating again. so i pulled over. let it set for 20 min even with the heat on full blast. and before i even made it home which was not even 10 min away it over heated again. i opened the hood and look and no coolant. now this is the 3rd time in 2 days of filling it up. had it towed to a shop. water pump went and timing chain and the water pump housing at the top cracked. sad thing is i just bought this car not even a month ago because my other cars engine blew.

Reported in: BROOKLYN OH || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE

i was driving to work and all the sudden my car started dinging and i look down at the lights and my over heat light was on and my car temp was all the way at high. i took my car to ntb to get an oil change and had just filled my coolant the day before. ntb had to fill my coolant again that next day. i picked up my car and was on my way home and my car started dinging and it was over heating again. so i pulled over. let it set for 20 min even with the heat on full blast. and before i even made it home which was not even 10 min away it over heated again. i opened the hood and look and no coolant. now this is the 3rd time in 2 days of filling it up. had it towed to a shop. water pump went and timing chain and the water pump housing at the top cracked. sad thing is i just bought this car not even a month ago because my other cars engine blew.

Reported in: BROOKLYN OH || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

tl* the contact owns a 2004 dodge intrepid. the contact stated that the engine stalled and the temperature indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. the manufacturer was not notified. the failure mileage was 129,000.

Reported in: DAKOTA CITY NE || Crash: N || VIN #: 2B3HD46R04H