chevrolet uplander Problems

chevrolet uplander 2007 Complaints

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:WIRING:FRONT UNDERHOOD

braun entervan handicapped van door/ramp tripped reset button, wheelchair person/drive could not reset the button (cannot get out to do so), in-floor ramp will not deploy manually. something wrong with ramp release. cannot deploy anyway from inside, cannot pull out ramp from inside need second person. this is wrong should be able to deploy ramp from inside, should be able to check fuses and reset button from driver area. van on fire how do i get out.

Reported in: BILLERICA MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GBDV13137D

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

braun entervan handicapped van door/ramp tripped reset button, wheelchair person/drive could not reset the button (cannot get out to do so), in-floor ramp will not deploy manually. something wrong with ramp release. cannot deploy anyway from inside, cannot pull out ramp from inside need second person. this is wrong should be able to deploy ramp from inside, should be able to check fuses and reset button from driver area. van on fire how do i get out.

Reported in: BILLERICA MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GBDV13137D

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:WIRING: REAR COMPARTMENT/TRUNK

braun entervan handicapped van door/ramp tripped reset button, wheelchair person/drive could not reset the button (cannot get out to do so), in-floor ramp will not deploy manually. something wrong with ramp release. cannot deploy anyway from inside, cannot pull out ramp from inside need second person. this is wrong should be able to deploy ramp from inside, should be able to check fuses and reset button from driver area. van on fire how do i get out.

Reported in: BILLERICA MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GBDV13137D

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:WIRING:INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

braun entervan handicapped van door/ramp tripped reset button, wheelchair person/drive could not reset the button (cannot get out to do so), in-floor ramp will not deploy manually. something wrong with ramp release. cannot deploy anyway from inside, cannot pull out ramp from inside need second person. this is wrong should be able to deploy ramp from inside, should be able to check fuses and reset button from driver area. van on fire how do i get out.

Reported in: BILLERICA MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GBDV13137D

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

we purchased a 2007 chevrolet uplander new with 20 miles on it. now it only has 3,500 mile on it, the passenger rear electric sliding door opened partially by itself while parked. then ,it would not close electrically , and you can ot close it manually. the door finally closed, but then would not open or would only partially open and not close or would partially close and reopen. the van was taken to dealer for repair, and the mechanic said he had seen this two other times on a 2007 uplander. the part was the electric door motor, it shorted out as per the work order. the mechanic at the dealer told us the part was hard to get and they would order it, but it would take an indefinite amount of time to receive the part. indefinite" was not a good answer for me, so i pressed the sales department to help since this van was brand new. then, the service department said it would take 10 days to get the part. upon trying to leave the dealer the van's warning bell chimed loudly and constantly. so a mechanic had to remove a fuse to make it stop. because the door/alarm fuse had to be removed that also disabled the radio, dvd player, onstar, and the van's internal cell phone. none of them worked until the door was fixed. the dealer service department called and indicated the van will be returned to the garage this week to have the electric door motor replaced. i believe it was a hazard that the electric door could not be opened manually, in any evevent, whether it is working correctly or not. also, it should not take so long for a part to be replaced when it has to do with passenger safety. *ak

Reported in: PITTSBURGH PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33117D

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS:LATCH

we purchased a 2007 chevrolet uplander new with 20 miles on it. now it only has 3,500 mile on it, the passenger rear electric sliding door opened partially by itself while parked. then ,it would not close electrically , and you can ot close it manually. the door finally closed, but then would not open or would only partially open and not close or would partially close and reopen. the van was taken to dealer for repair, and the mechanic said he had seen this two other times on a 2007 uplander. the part was the electric door motor, it shorted out as per the work order. the mechanic at the dealer told us the part was hard to get and they would order it, but it would take an indefinite amount of time to receive the part. indefinite" was not a good answer for me, so i pressed the sales department to help since this van was brand new. then, the service department said it would take 10 days to get the part. upon trying to leave the dealer the van's warning bell chimed loudly and constantly. so a mechanic had to remove a fuse to make it stop. because the door/alarm fuse had to be removed that also disabled the radio, dvd player, onstar, and the van's internal cell phone. none of them worked until the door was fixed. the dealer service department called and indicated the van will be returned to the garage this week to have the electric door motor replaced. i believe it was a hazard that the electric door could not be opened manually, in any evevent, whether it is working correctly or not. also, it should not take so long for a part to be replaced when it has to do with passenger safety. *ak

Reported in: PITTSBURGH PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33117D

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS:LATCH

2007 chevy uplander minivan passenger door has a defective motor and/or sensor which does not stop/reverse on closing when a person is in the path; could cause injury to an adult or severe injury or death if a child is caught in the door. also when the car is parked "downhill" with the front of the car on the downhill slope, the door will start closing spontaneously. *jb

Reported in: PORTLAND OR || Crash: N || VIN #:

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS:LATCH

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. when the vehicle was parked on a small incline or hill and the door was opened, it slammed back shut. there was no safety feature on the vehicle to prevent the door from closing. she took the vehicle to the dealer, but they were unable to provide assistance. the failure mileage was 25,000 and current mileage was 35,000.

Reported in: AUBURN GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23147D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

passenger sliding door would not close correctly and it open while the car was moving. the door would close then reopen and you would have to hold the door closed in order for the door to lack closed. the repair that was done was to replaced the center hinge roller support and adjusted cables. then a month later the cable jammed up in the motor and had to be cut to get the door to close. the repair that was done was to replace the cable and motor for the sliding door. the next problem is that the driver side sliding door will open and close fully but when it closes the motor continues to run and the rear of the door pops open slightly. repair is pending.

Reported in: MASSAPEQUA NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33177D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

numerous problems with the passenger side automatic sliding door ranging from the door opening on it's own, inability to close the door to the point it had to be towed into the dealer, locks automatically unlocking while vehicle was in motion, door automatically bouncing back open, nick in the cable of the door mechanism, and most recently a part "roller" falling out of the door and the door not closing.

Reported in: ELDERSBURG MD || Crash: N || VIN #:

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS:LATCH

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. when the vehicle is stopped and placed into park, all of the doors unlock. the vehicle was taken to the dealer and they informed the contact that it was a factory preset. the current mileage is 12,550 and failure mileage was 12,420. updated 02-25-08 *bf

Reported in: CROWN POINT IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23157D

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS:LATCH

while traveling my sliding doors has a tendency of opening by itself; on a certain day while traveling approximate 60 mph the door opened while my infant child was on the side the door was open on.

Reported in: CLINTON NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33117D

VISIBILITY:GLASS, SIDE/REAR

in a 5 mph rear collision the entire rear window shattered and the glass fell into the roadway and vehicle. this is a company vehicle and driver had to return to worksite about 45 miles away with no rear window while transporting a young child with a disability.

Reported in: RICHMOND TX || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl*the contact is leasing a 2007 chevrolet up lander. the contact stated that the vehicle experienced a change of temperature, the back wiper failed, exterior lighting failed and the blower fan failed. the dealer was unable to duplicate any of the failures. the current mileage was 17,297 and failure mileage was 14,000.

Reported in: HOLT MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDU23177D

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2007 chevrolet uplander ext, noticed parking brake cable is rubbing through service brake hose where the two cross just inboard of driver's side rear wheel.

Reported in: OXFORD MS || Crash: N || VIN #:

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK:WHEEL SPEED SENSOR

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. while pulling out of the driveway at 5 mph, three lights illuminated on the instrument panel pertaining to the abs. the contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that the speed sensor failed. the contact was informed that the part for the repair was on back order; however, the vehicle would still be safe to drive. the vehicle is still included under warranty. the failure mileage was 8,000 and current mileage was 8,400.

Reported in: WILLIAMSBURG KY || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33117D

AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. while driving approximately 50 mph and applying pressure to the brake pedal, the vehicle hesitated and stalled for three to four minutes. the contact pulled over to the side of the highway. the vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. the technician stated that the failure was related to the abs and wiring. the vehicle was repaired; however, the frontal air bags were not operating and the brakes made a grinding noise after the repair. the failure and current mileages were unknown.

Reported in: FLINT HILL VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23107D

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. while driving approximately 50 mph and applying pressure to the brake pedal, the vehicle hesitated and stalled for three to four minutes. the contact pulled over to the side of the highway. the vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. the technician stated that the failure was related to the abs and wiring. the vehicle was repaired; however, the frontal air bags were not operating and the brakes made a grinding noise after the repair. the failure and current mileages were unknown.

Reported in: FLINT HILL VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23107D

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:WIRING

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. while driving approximately 50 mph and applying pressure to the brake pedal, the vehicle hesitated and stalled for three to four minutes. the contact pulled over to the side of the highway. the vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. the technician stated that the failure was related to the abs and wiring. the vehicle was repaired; however, the frontal air bags were not operating and the brakes made a grinding noise after the repair. the failure and current mileages were unknown.

Reported in: FLINT HILL VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23107D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

passenger sliding door stuck in open position and we couldn't close it with buttons or manually. tech told us to remove fuse(s); we did and pulled door shut. dealer service dept. reported door jam switch shorted, caused actuator to stretch and twisted cable;replaced power door jam switch & actuator.12/19: wind and rattle noise; service said door was out of adjustment; readjusted.03/08: door opened on own; detent switch was shorted and door out of adjustment again. service replaced lock/latch assembly and readjusted door.5/29/08:door starts to close then pops back open; service readjusted slider because latch was binding on striker.6/24/08:door stopped before fully closing; used inside button to reopen then closed again. dealer requested we bring in vehicle to check if computer module was up to date. they claimed to have updated. 07/08: door stuck open on trip from nc. repeated removing fuses. we have started lemon law process by filing with bbb auto line.

Reported in: MARYVILLE TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33137D

STRUCTURE

passenger sliding door stuck in open position and we couldn't close it with buttons or manually. tech told us to remove fuse(s); we did and pulled door shut. dealer service dept. reported door jam switch shorted, caused actuator to stretch and twisted cable;replaced power door jam switch & actuator.12/19: wind and rattle noise; service said door was out of adjustment; readjusted.03/08: door opened on own; detent switch was shorted and door out of adjustment again. service replaced lock/latch assembly and readjusted door.5/29/08:door starts to close then pops back open; service readjusted slider because latch was binding on striker.6/24/08:door stopped before fully closing; used inside button to reopen then closed again. dealer requested we bring in vehicle to check if computer module was up to date. they claimed to have updated. 07/08: door stuck open on trip from nc. repeated removing fuses. we have started lemon law process by filing with bbb auto line.

Reported in: MARYVILLE TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33137D

STRUCTURE

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. while driving approximately 70 mph, the passenger fell out of the vehicle from the rear driver's side door. the passenger sustained scratches. both of the rear power door locks are defective and cannot be locked manually. the vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that they could not repair the defect. the manufacturer took a report, but would still not assist. the failure mileage was 29,000 and current mileage was 30,500.

Reported in: SHERMAN TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33L46D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

the sliding passenger doors on my 2007 chevy uplander does not close properly. everyday they will close partially or even fully then reopen. i even had to drive home one day with a wire hanging out and the warning signal beeping because the door did not close properly. they make an awful noise while closing. the problem is becoming progressively worse. i have had it in the shop 2-3 times already and plan on taking it back to the shop again for repairs for this problem. i have been told that they can not find what is wrong with the doors though. this poses a safety risk to my children as the doors have been reported by others to open while driving.

Reported in: FRAMETOWN WV || Crash: N || VIN #:

VISIBILITY

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. when the ice begins to defrost in the winter, it falls directly onto the windshield and hinders visibility. as a result, a crash could occur. the contact stated that the ice should roll off the sides of the vehicle. the vehicle will be taken to the dealer for a diagnostic. the failure mileage was 12 and current mileage was 12,000. updated 11/24/08 *cn the consumer also stated the vehicle cut off while making a turn. updated 11/26/08. *jb

Reported in: ROCHESTER NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDU23197D

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. when the ice begins to defrost in the winter, it falls directly onto the windshield and hinders visibility. as a result, a crash could occur. the contact stated that the ice should roll off the sides of the vehicle. the vehicle will be taken to the dealer for a diagnostic. the failure mileage was 12 and current mileage was 12,000. updated 11/24/08 *cn the consumer also stated the vehicle cut off while making a turn. updated 11/26/08. *jb

Reported in: ROCHESTER NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDU23197D

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

i have a 2007 uplander and every day the sliding doors mess up. they either do not close all the way, they open back up when closed or they do not open at all. the van will beep for 20-30 minutes when trying to open the doors. this problem has been "fixed" 3 times in warranty and reprogrammed twice at least. yet, it is still happening. i am now out of warranty (barely) and have spent about $300 last week to have it fixed plus have been told it will probably cost another $250+ for another part, which they will have to order, that may or may not fix it since it is still not working since i took it in last week. i have two young children and am worried about their safety riding in a car where the doors do not work!

Reported in: GIBSONVILLE NC || Crash: N || VIN #:

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

driver's side power sliding door on our 2007 chevy uplander fails to close properly. we had this same problem with a 2005 uplander that chevrolet finally bought back from us. the door has been making strange noises for a while now and a now will not close all the way making it hazardous to even drive.

Reported in: MORGANTON NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33197D

TIRES

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. due to the amount of snow in the area, the contact had to drive through a lot of snowbanks. he lost control of the steering wheel because the vehicle shook uncontrollably. while driving through the snow banks, the snow impacts the inside of the aluminum rims. the dealer stated that the low profile tires caused the vehicle to shake. the only remedy would be to install a plate in the tires to prevent snow from entering the rim. the failure also throws all four tires out of balance. the dot number and manufacturer of the rims were unknown. the failure mileage was 16,724. updated 02-23-09 *bf updated 02/26/09. *jb updated 02/26/09. *jb

Reported in: SAGINAW MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDU23157D

WHEELS

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. due to the amount of snow in the area, the contact had to drive through a lot of snowbanks. he lost control of the steering wheel because the vehicle shook uncontrollably. while driving through the snow banks, the snow impacts the inside of the aluminum rims. the dealer stated that the low profile tires caused the vehicle to shake. the only remedy would be to install a plate in the tires to prevent snow from entering the rim. the failure also throws all four tires out of balance. the dot number and manufacturer of the rims were unknown. the failure mileage was 16,724. updated 02-23-09 *bf updated 02/26/09. *jb updated 02/26/09. *jb

Reported in: SAGINAW MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDU23157D

EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HEADLIGHTS

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander ls. while driving 50 mph at night, the contact noticed that the headlights were dimming. a few minutes later, the low beams failed and she had to drive with the high beams activated. she previously took the vehicle to the dealer for the low beam failure; however, the failure could not be diagnosed. the contact will take the vehicle back to the dealer. the current and failure mileages were 34,000. updated 3/16/09 *cn updated 03/18/09. *jb

Reported in: PINCONNING MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23127D

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2007 chevy uplander lt speed and abs sensor on front passenger and driver side completely torn off. i thought it might be associated with a wreck i was involved in so i took it to a gm dealer for inspection. i was told that the loss of sensors could not be related to accident. this is not a result of normal wear and tear or a maintenance issue. this results in failure of abs system. danger is posed when a sudden stop is required to avoid a collision or driving in icy conditions. i had the vehicle evaluated on 3/10/2009 and repaired on 3/11/2009 at a brakes repair shop. costly to perform repairs and was told by the people that replaced the hub and wheel bearing assembly that the sensor and wires that lead from the hub run very close to the axle which more than likely resulted in the damage.

Reported in: FORT CARSON CO || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33147D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. while driving less than 60 mph, the contact noticed in the rearview mirror that the driver's side dual automatic door was fully ajar. her child was seated in the rear of the vehicle and she was concerned about safety. oftentimes, the passenger side dual automatic door would not engage fully and would also open while in transit. the vehicle has been to the dealer three times and was scheduled for a fourth repair. the dealer once stated that the failures were caused by a small bag in the vehicle that was engaging the sensors. the bag was removed, but the failures continued. on a separate occasion, the doors began to close on the contact while she was still in the doorway. the vehicle was towed to the dealer and they replaced the sensors, the roller, and other parts that pertained to the door; however, the failures continued. as of march 18, 2009, the vehicle has not been repaired properly. the failure and current mileages were less than 12,000.

Reported in: DES MOINES IA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33167D

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS:LATCH

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. while driving less than 60 mph, the contact noticed in the rearview mirror that the driver's side dual automatic door was fully ajar. her child was seated in the rear of the vehicle and she was concerned about safety. oftentimes, the passenger side dual automatic door would not engage fully and would also open while in transit. the vehicle has been to the dealer three times and was scheduled for a fourth repair. the dealer once stated that the failures were caused by a small bag in the vehicle that was engaging the sensors. the bag was removed, but the failures continued. on a separate occasion, the doors began to close on the contact while she was still in the doorway. the vehicle was towed to the dealer and they replaced the sensors, the roller, and other parts that pertained to the door; however, the failures continued. as of march 18, 2009, the vehicle has not been repaired properly. the failure and current mileages were less than 12,000.

Reported in: DES MOINES IA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33167D

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2007 uplander driver side rear service brake hose is being worn into by parking brake cable. exterior rubber jacket of brake hose has been rubbed off, exposing steel core of brake hose.

Reported in: OXFORD MS || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i have a 2007 chevrolet uplander that has been in the shop at the dealership on many different occasions. there is a problem, however, that keeps occurring. the battery fails for no reason with out warning. they have replaced the battery, and even the new one does the same thing. they have checked the alternator, the wiring, the computer and can't seem to find the problem. they offer me no solution to this problem. i can't drive the car because the battery can fail at any time with out warning. i am surprised to see that there has not been a recall for this, searching the web shows other people with the same problem same vehicle. please help...

Reported in: FRANKLINTON LA || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2007 chevy uplander with 30,000 + miles. with out warning the care would not crank. checked the battery and found that the positive battery cable terminal was very badly covered in green and white deposit. i removed it and cleaned the terminal, which is a very cheap, flimsy stamped metal part. not the old heavy lead style. a few months later the same thing occurred and i took it to the dealer to check the alternator and battery connection. they replaced the battery but did not even clean the old terminal. they also said that alternator wa ok ? even though it charges at a 15+ volts. this voltage used to "cook" batteries and make them gas. after years of side connection batteries, gm has gone back to top terminals which are susceptible to gas leakage around the terminal and failure of connection.

Reported in: CAPE CORAL FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23187D

SEAT BELTS

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. while driving 20 mph, the safety belt mechanism failed in the back middle row seats. the seat belt became wrapped around the passenger's neck. he was unable to get the seat belt to extend and release. the contact drove to the nearest service station and a mechanic reached under the seat, removed the seat belt bolt, and released the passenger's neck. the passenger received minor bruises to his neck. the contact will notify the manufacturer. the current and failure mileages were 45,000. updated 7/9/09 *cn updated 07/17/09.*jb

Reported in: FAIRVIEW PARK OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23197D

STEERING

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. while the contact was backing out of his driveway at an unknown speed, he heard a clicking sound coming from the steering wheel. the vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the steering shaft needed to be replaced. the current and failure mileages were 20,000. updated 07/14/09 *bf updated 07/16/09.*jb

Reported in: MISHAWAKA IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33197D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. the rear automatic/manual passenger sliding door failed to remain secure when in a closed position. the sliding door intermittently continued to open without assistance. the technician repaired the power door motor assembly. the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on 8 to 10 occasions for the identical failure and the repair was made four times. the vehicle identification number was unavailable. the failure mileage was 6,000 the current mileage was 33,000. updated 11/3/09 *cn updated 11/06/09.*jb

Reported in: EDDYVILLE IA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33W17D

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

i recently had my 2007 chevrolet uplander,in for service/repair to the right side psd(power sliding door) on my van. the technician only cleaned the contacts and said that there was nothing wrong with it. the door still is not opening/closing correctly,the motor is still making a grinding sound & does not stop,the control switches do not work part of the time to open/shut door,the door "sticks"in open/close position,and occasionally the door will open while the vehicle is in motion. i have had this problem ever since i purchased this van in 2007. but,no one seems to find anything wrong with it or even cares to look any further than the door's contacts.this is a very serious concern, as i have a four year old daughter in a carseat next to this door! is there anyway of getting this problem fixed/solved? i have already contacted & reported this issue to general motors/chevrolet, and have not had any satisfactory help regarding this.

Reported in: BEALLSVILLE OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33177D

STRUCTURE:BODY

i recently had my 2007 chevrolet uplander,in for service/repair to the right side psd(power sliding door) on my van. the technician only cleaned the contacts and said that there was nothing wrong with it. the door still is not opening/closing correctly,the motor is still making a grinding sound & does not stop,the control switches do not work part of the time to open/shut door,the door "sticks"in open/close position,and occasionally the door will open while the vehicle is in motion. i have had this problem ever since i purchased this van in 2007. but,no one seems to find anything wrong with it or even cares to look any further than the door's contacts.this is a very serious concern, as i have a four year old daughter in a carseat next to this door! is there anyway of getting this problem fixed/solved? i have already contacted & reported this issue to general motors/chevrolet, and have not had any satisfactory help regarding this.

Reported in: BEALLSVILLE OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33177D

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

have a 2007 chevrolet uplander van. when parked slightly downhill with gauge showing 1/3 full of fuel, vehicle will not start and will shut down if running. gm states that this is a normal feature of this vehicle and nothing is wrong. i've been stranded 5 times with this problem. what if the engine quits while going down a long hill, engine stops so no steering or braking and i run off highway, investigators would never look to see if the vehicle was at fault only that the old man ran off of the road. i consider this a major problem and have spoken to other owners of this and related vehicles and they have the exact same problem. one should expect the vehicle to run with 1/3 or even less fuel in the tank.

Reported in: RICHMOND VA || Crash: N || VIN #:

STEERING

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. while driving approximately 50 miles per hour, the contact stated that the steering wheel began to shake. the contact stated that the front brakes also failed. the vehicle was repaired. the incident occurred again while driving approximately 50 miles per hour. the contact had the vehicle repaired a second time. the rotors were replaced and he was advised by the dealer that the pulsation in the rotors caused the failure to occur. the vin was not available. the contact also opened a small claims against the dealer. the failure mileages were 11,660 ( incident) and 18,853 ( incident). the current mileage was 19,000.

Reported in: MOUNT STERLING KY || Crash: N || VIN #:

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:ROTOR

tl*the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. while driving approximately 50 miles per hour, the contact stated that the steering wheel began to shake. the contact stated that the front brakes also failed. the vehicle was repaired. the incident occurred again while driving approximately 50 miles per hour. the contact had the vehicle repaired a second time. the rotors were replaced and he was advised by the dealer that the pulsation in the rotors caused the failure to occur. the vin was not available. the contact also opened a small claims against the dealer. the failure mileages were 11,660 ( incident) and 18,853 ( incident). the current mileage was 19,000.

Reported in: MOUNT STERLING KY || Crash: N || VIN #:

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

while dropping my kids off at school on january 26, 2010, my daughter closed our driver side rear sliding door of our 2007 chevy uplander. the whole door fell off in her hands. we took it to carmax where we bought it, along with their extended warranty, and were told that it would not be covered under the warranty. we would have to take it to a body shop to have it fixed because they could not repair it there. they charged us $87.00 to tell us this. we were also told that the only time they have seen this happen before was due to a faulty part or when the vehicle was in an accident. when we bought it in may of 2008 we were guaranteed by carmax that it was inspected for defects as well as never being in an accident. at our first oil change it was discovered to have two leaks, one in the oil reserve and one in the air conditioner unit which were covered by the original warranty of chevy. i have been in contact with the chevy corporate offices but they want me to take it to a chevy dealer to have it looked at (again at our cost) and then they will fix it and help us get financing to pay for it. why do we have to pay for it when we are not at fault and it could have done damage to my children or other cars around it.

Reported in: COLUMBUS OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23127D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

we were driving down the road and the passenger side van door opened up by itself. left side sliding door does the same thing, but no as often. we just bought the vehicle few months prior. this would happen intermittently. we took the vehicle to the dealership and they replaced the following right passenger sliding door: (may 7, 2008) motor retainer ( we were told, the first three motors they installed that day were not working) july 8, 2008 reprogram sliding door module april 2nd replaced right sliding door: motor realign left side sliding door and clean the clutch note* when we close the doors with the remote, sometimes they will not shut properly. on occasion, we will shut the doors and go inside and come out and find the door open. when the problem occurs, it is a distraction while driving. the dealership has replaced the motor a few times.

Reported in: MIDDLE RIVER MD || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33197D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

i picked up my stepdaughter & her friends from the mall. my mom was in the passenger seat. my stepdaughter & her friends got in the 2nd row & 3rd row seats. we shut the door & drove off. the rear passenger door message came on & the locks started clicking. i pulled over to check the door & it was ajar. i opened the door, shut it & made sure it was closed then drove off. the whole way home the door kept clicking as if it were trying to close & the locks were trying to catch. this happened several months ago and i've been trying to get this problem fixed ever since. every day the doors click, because the door is not completely closed. i called the dealership were i've been getting work done, because a year into having the vehicle the motors on both doors had to be replaced. this is my 2nd year going into my 3rd year of having the van; however this is the 2nd time i've had problems with the doors. i don't carry passengers, because i'm afraid the doors are going to pop open & someone will fall out! though i got this problem fixed before, the parts are no longer under warranty & they are charging me $100 just to look at the doors & assess the problem. depending on what's going on i may be charged $800 today to fix this problem & reading the complaints on this car today soothes the fact that i'm not the only 1 having this problem with my doors; however, someone needs to do more than have us complain. these vehicles need to be recalled & fixed asap, before someone gets hurt badly or killed!

Reported in: GWYNN OAK MD || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33187D

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

i picked up my stepdaughter & her friends from the mall. my mom was in the passenger seat. my stepdaughter & her friends got in the 2nd row & 3rd row seats. we shut the door & drove off. the rear passenger door message came on & the locks started clicking. i pulled over to check the door & it was ajar. i opened the door, shut it & made sure it was closed then drove off. the whole way home the door kept clicking as if it were trying to close & the locks were trying to catch. this happened several months ago and i've been trying to get this problem fixed ever since. every day the doors click, because the door is not completely closed. i called the dealership were i've been getting work done, because a year into having the vehicle the motors on both doors had to be replaced. this is my 2nd year going into my 3rd year of having the van; however this is the 2nd time i've had problems with the doors. i don't carry passengers, because i'm afraid the doors are going to pop open & someone will fall out! though i got this problem fixed before, the parts are no longer under warranty & they are charging me $100 just to look at the doors & assess the problem. depending on what's going on i may be charged $800 today to fix this problem & reading the complaints on this car today soothes the fact that i'm not the only 1 having this problem with my doors; however, someone needs to do more than have us complain. these vehicles need to be recalled & fixed asap, before someone gets hurt badly or killed!

Reported in: GWYNN OAK MD || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33187D

AIR BAGS

tl* the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. the contact was at a traffic light when he was rear-ended by another vehicle that was driving 60 mph. the contacts air bags did not deploy upon impact and the vehicle was damaged on the passengers side of the vehicle. the vehicle was towed to a local repair facility. the contact sustained injuries to his neck, shoulders, ribs and knees. a police report was filed. the failure and current mileages were 8,000.

Reported in: 248 TOM HILL SR BLV GA || Crash: Y || VIN #: 1GNDV23W57D

CHILD SEAT

2007 chevy uplander with in the first month the door would not close then it would come open while driving this is where the child safety seat is. it has been in the shop 15 times, they have replaced every part, they have reprogrammed over and over. chevy is saying they would give me 2000.00 off a new car. to me that is not a fix!!!!

Reported in: LA GRANGE TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33W37D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

2007 chevy uplander with in the first month the door would not close then it would come open while driving this is where the child safety seat is. it has been in the shop 15 times, they have replaced every part, they have reprogrammed over and over. chevy is saying they would give me 2000.00 off a new car. to me that is not a fix!!!!

Reported in: LA GRANGE TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33W37D

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

driving down the highway and the lights in the dash started to flash and the van stalled so we pulled over to check for a reason and none were found battery connections were clean and tight. tried to restart the van and it started up fine then smoke started to fill the interior compartment and then flames emerge from the dash so we got a safe distance from the van and called the fire department. the van was completely destroyed by the fire.

Reported in: MADSEN 00 || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV331X7D

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

"check traction control system" or "check stability system" illuminates in the instrument panel. the dealership wants to charge me to hook up an on board diagnostic to find the error codes. i have an obd and there are no error codes, not even phantom codes. they don't know why this comes on and suggest i replace sensors in the brake caliper and steering column at my expense.

Reported in: ALBION MI || Crash: N || VIN #:

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

i've had a continuous problem with the fuel gauge of my 2007 uplander for over a year and gm or the dealer can't get the repair right. it has been in the shop now 4 or 5 times and they have changed the sensor(s) 2 or 3 times and nothing has changed. it has actually gotten worse as far as reading correctly. i'm really afraid to put the van on the highway because you don't know how much gas you actually have or don't have until you fill it up. gas mileage is also ridiculous (10mi/gallon or less--if i calculated it right. i have even sent pictures of the gauge readings and have been told that some of them are normal or common and nothing to worry about. the gas gauge was reading almost 1/2 tank and i put in about 15 gallons of gas which filled it up. the tank is only a 20 or 21 gallon tank. the fuel range showed i could go about 260 miles and then the next day it was reading over well over 400miles. i took it to the shop for a repair on something else and while i was in the shop bay it had changed by 60 miles and the fuel gauge even changed and i had not gone anywhere. the service man told me that his automobile does the same thing and they could not see that it was out of the ordinary. that is not normal.

Reported in: INDIANAPOLIS IN || Crash: N || VIN #:

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

intermitten blinking dash and headlights with switch in the "manual on" position. i have lost the lights entirely while driving on the interstate at night. a very dangerous and upsetting condition. researching the problem i find that it is a very common problem with gm cars. since the headlight relay has been omitted and the switch overheats and could cause a fire. replacement of switch and harness connector is suggested. why no recall ?

Reported in: CAPE CORAL FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

a year ago one day the right rear passenger door was shut and locked. when we arrived back home and unlocked the car doors we were unable to open the right rear passenger door. we have been unable to get it repaired and are unable to open the door. for more than a year the left rear passenger door will frequently come off its track and make it impossible to shut the door. the rubber lining designed to provide sound proofing and waterproofing frequently comes off and makes it almost impossible to get the door back on track and shut it. las week upon opening the door it came off its track again and it appears that some pieces are also missing. we were able to get the door shut but we haven't been able to open the door since.

Reported in: LOGANVILLE GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV231X7D

SUSPENSION:REAR

premature wear of rear trailing arm bushings on 2007 braun entervan (chevrolet uplander) due to defective welding of rear trailing arms during re-manufacture of the vehicle by the braun corporation of winamac, in. this occurred during conversion of the vehicle for use as a handicapped accessible vehicle. the vehicle was purchased in early 2007. although notified of the defect by the canadian government in april, 2009, in june of 2010 braun sent recall notices to owners of all 2005 to 2008 gm vans it re-manufactured. the recall described the reason for the recall as follows. " this defect presents itself with a squeaking noise, a rough ride, or degradation in vehicle control. as a result, passengers, pedestrians, or other motorists may be injured or killed. no mention was made of the specific defect that, "during conversion, the driver or passenger side trailing arm modification may not have been adequately welded." in june of 2010 the vehicle was returned to the authorized dealer for repairs. the repairs involved welding of one re-enforcing plate on each trailing arm. after driving the vehicle, it was noted that the vehicle continued to exhibit a rough ride and the vehicle tended to bottom out. upon return to the dealer it was determined that the trailer arm bushings were worn, as predicted by braun, and that the rear spring(s) had to be indexed. braun denied any responsibility for these repairs. in november of 2010 the owner sent a letter to braun which was ignored. the recall notice issued by braun and the subsequent repairs were inadequate to correct the vehicle ride and control problems caused by its defective re-manufacture of the vehicle. in addition to supplying the welding plates,new bushings should have been included and the dealers should have been authorized and instructed to re-index the rear springs. updated 01/06/12

Reported in: FLANDERS NJ || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GBDV13117D

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

i have problems with my abs sensor coming on it says service abs. also have an issue with my check engine light coming on the dashboard panel stated reduced engine power. i would be driving the transmission would jerk as well when i'm driving away from a stop. i took it to the dealer they said it was the tac module they replaced it under gm's warranty. the same problem still occurs.

Reported in: SACRAMENTO CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23157D

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

i have problems with my abs sensor coming on it says service abs. also have an issue with my check engine light coming on the dashboard panel stated reduced engine power. i would be driving the transmission would jerk as well when i'm driving away from a stop. i took it to the dealer they said it was the tac module they replaced it under gm's warranty. the same problem still occurs.

Reported in: SACRAMENTO CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23157D

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

fuel gauge reading incorrectly, been stranded many times, put gas in says 300 miles to empty then a couple of days later if not sooner it says way less and dies without warning. *ln

Reported in: MUSTANG OK || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23117D

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2007 chevy uplander i attempted to send this same memo to gm via there website but i'm not sure if it went through or not because i was kicked out. i've been experiencing a continuous problem with false readings on my gas gauge/fuel range. this has been going on for over a year (since early to mid 2009) and they supposedly changed the sensor twice now and it is still giving false readings. sat.2/12/11, the gauge was between 1/4 tank and 1/8 tank when i left my house , and the range stated 120miles. before i went 10miles, the range fluctuated down to 56 then went back up to 89 and showed fuel range low when i got to my destination @ 7900 n. shadeland av. i started back home and it showed between 90 and 100miles range when i pulled into my driveway, and the gas gauge was showing still between 1/8 and 1/4 tank. when i left the house again after shutting it off, the fuel gauge said i was empty (light was on) and stated low fuel. so i went and got gas. yesterday, (last night), i was sitting at a stop light and in a service station parking lot, and the range went from 118 up to 133 and i had not moved. i'm continuously being told that this will happen from time to time and nothing can be done and as i said earlier, the sensor has been changed twice but that did not solve the problem. this is not normal behavior or due to wear and tear for this vehicle and it should give accurate readings or at least close. this is an issue that needs to be fixed because it is not only frustrating, but dangerous as well (being stranded and out of gas) because my wife and children have this vehicle most of the time. this is gm product and that was the reason i was trying to contact them to see if there is something that the dealership is missing. in the mycrstats.com report, someone has been stranded before.

Reported in: INDIANAPOLIS IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23167D

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

i have a 2007 uplander lt. i bought it brand new jan 2007. in april 2007, my passenger side sliding door began messing up. the door would open at time. it was taken to the dealership 6 times total, the 5th time it was taken with the door open, because it would not close. by that point, gm was involved and recommended complete replacement of the mechanical portion of the door. this was done by the dealership or so everyone thought. it began messing up again and i took it in for the last time and it was determined the technician only replaced portion of the parts. it was finally fixed that last time and i got one year free oil change and tire rotation. the story does not end. in april 2010, my driver side sliding door started messing up. it has been taken in to a different dealership 8 times, even though they officially say it is 6 times. i get the same response each time, they cannot reproduce. gm has now got involved twice and at this point has also been no help to find the root cause. this time around the door unlatches itself both when sitting and while driving. it never opens like the passenger door did. the alarm that goes off when a door is open when you have the key in the ignition and the vehicle started, sounds and there is no indication on the display that a door is open. the door will sometimes not open via remote, overhead or the side button. most of the time it has to be opened manually, once that occurs no amount of battery power will close the door. the door has to be forced closed. the door will also, in the middle of closing, open back up and then go into alarm. two of the times taken the service experienced the quirks of the door. once it was back to where the service tech can look at it, it would not reproduce. no error codes have ever been shown on readouts. the vehicle currently has 66800 miles. the battery was replaced in nov 2009 and when i took it in the first time in may 2010, they blamed it on third party. still having problems.

Reported in: OKLAHOMA CITY OK || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33167D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

i have a 2007 uplander lt. i bought it brand new jan 2007. in april 2007, my passenger side sliding door began messing up. the door would open at time. it was taken to the dealership 6 times total, the 5th time it was taken with the door open, because it would not close. by that point, gm was involved and recommended complete replacement of the mechanical portion of the door. this was done by the dealership or so everyone thought. it began messing up again and i took it in for the last time and it was determined the technician only replaced portion of the parts. it was finally fixed that last time and i got one year free oil change and tire rotation. the story does not end. in april 2010, my driver side sliding door started messing up. it has been taken in to a different dealership 8 times, even though they officially say it is 6 times. i get the same response each time, they cannot reproduce. gm has now got involved twice and at this point has also been no help to find the root cause. this time around the door unlatches itself both when sitting and while driving. it never opens like the passenger door did. the alarm that goes off when a door is open when you have the key in the ignition and the vehicle started, sounds and there is no indication on the display that a door is open. the door will sometimes not open via remote, overhead or the side button. most of the time it has to be opened manually, once that occurs no amount of battery power will close the door. the door has to be forced closed. the door will also, in the middle of closing, open back up and then go into alarm. two of the times taken the service experienced the quirks of the door. once it was back to where the service tech can look at it, it would not reproduce. no error codes have ever been shown on readouts. the vehicle currently has 66800 miles. the battery was replaced in nov 2009 and when i took it in the first time in may 2010, they blamed it on third party. still having problems.

Reported in: OKLAHOMA CITY OK || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33167D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

2007 chevrolet uplander, both sliding door wheel bearing balls broke. the cause was the doors just fell off track. the are also electronic open and closing doors, it started with not closing all the way"unless closed manually". both doors broke within two months of each other. through the dealer this is a little over two hundred dollar fix.

Reported in: ORRVILLE OH || Crash: N || VIN #:

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2007 chevy uplander stalled in the middle of the intersection of a 6 lane highway while turning. took vehicle to dealer where fuel pump was replaced. later found out that i had ran out of fuel. this was amazing to me since my gauge had red 1/4 of a tank. was told the level control sensor needing replacing. very dangerous. was glad no vehicle were coming as i would have had a collision due to where my vehicle was when it stalled.

Reported in: ORLANDO FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

gas gauge was reading inaccurately on 2007 chevy uplander. traveling with a 5 year old and 18 month of twins when the vehicle was reading 1/4 tank of gas and 120 miles to empty and lost power on a 4 lane highway. had to have it towed to my mechanic and cost approx $500 to fix.

Reported in: SMITHFIELD RI || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23127D

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

i had just purchased my 2007 chevy uplander with a full tank of gas, so i didn't know the tank capacity or the mileage range for a full tank in this vehicle. i was traveling on i-75 southbound near cincinnati, ohio. traffic was heavy and i was in the passing lane going 65 mph while passing another vehicle, when my engine just simply cut out without warning. the gas gauge indicated that there was still over a quarter tank and the computer read out said, fuel range 120 miles. in order to safely get my van off the highway i had to cross over 3 lanes of traffic to get to the shoulder and pull off. i was positive i was going to be hit from behind as i tried to make it to the opposite side of the road without power. i was able to pull over and had to walk to the next exit and buy a can and gas. the entire experience was very dangerous as i was over 300 miles from home and all alone.

Reported in: FENTON MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDU231X7D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

tl* the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. the contact stated that the passenger power sliding door would not close sporadically. once the door was finally able to be closed, the door would not open. the vehicle was not inspected or repaired. the failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 106,000.

Reported in: PRIDE LA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33157D

SUSPENSION:REAR

2007 chevy uplander with 29,055 miles was taken to a local chevrolet dealer for a "growling " noise coming from rear of car. inspection showed no failures but rear tires were "chopped"..the agency replaced both rear tires and performed an alignment. the noise recurred at 42,523 miles (13,468 miles). i took the vehicle to a large tire dealer and they found that the tires were again unevenly worn.. two new tires were purchased and a (4)wheel alignment done. no damaged parts were reported.

Reported in: CAPE CORAL FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23187D

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

i have been stranded or have ran out of gas 6 different times while driving my 2007 chevy uplander. one time, due to terrain, i was unable to move off the road. this is the only vehicle i have ever run out of gas in my life. it is very dangerous when it shuts off while driving with no steering. i see many have complained about this situation, yet nothing has been done about it.

Reported in: MURPHY NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23197D

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

tl* the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. the contact stated that the vehicle was parked when she smelled a strong odor of fuel. the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the contact was informed that the fuel odor was coming from the engine. the vehicle was then taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to diagnose or repair the failure. the contact also stated that the vehicle would shake while driving at various speeds. the tires were replaced on four occasions due to excessive tread wear. the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on numerous occasions where the contact was informed that the vehicle was operating as intended. the failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 95,000. the vin was unavailable.

Reported in: AUBURN GA || Crash: N || VIN #:

STEERING

tl* the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. the contact stated that the vehicle was parked when she smelled a strong odor of fuel. the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the contact was informed that the fuel odor was coming from the engine. the vehicle was then taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to diagnose or repair the failure. the contact also stated that the vehicle would shake while driving at various speeds. the tires were replaced on four occasions due to excessive tread wear. the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on numerous occasions where the contact was informed that the vehicle was operating as intended. the failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 95,000. the vin was unavailable.

Reported in: AUBURN GA || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

there has been several times i will be driving and with no warning the steering locks up and it makes a noise like the traction control does when it comes on and its like i am slamming on the breaks but i am not. i took it to a certified chevy technician three times now and i am taking it back tomorrow for a fourth time. i have two children and it is very dangerous i feel it should be investigated and recalled before some one gets hurt or worse dies. i also replaced the sensor. that did not do a thing other than cost me a lot of money.

Reported in: CHESTER CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23147D

STEERING

there has been several times i will be driving and with no warning the steering locks up and it makes a noise like the traction control does when it comes on and its like i am slamming on the breaks but i am not. i took it to a certified chevy technician three times now and i am taking it back tomorrow for a fourth time. i have two children and it is very dangerous i feel it should be investigated and recalled before some one gets hurt or worse dies. i also replaced the sensor. that did not do a thing other than cost me a lot of money.

Reported in: CHESTER CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23147D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

passenger sliding doors opening while going down the freeway at 60 mph also a bing sound going off the whole time on our way to the shop to get my doors looked at. my 3 yr.old son was sitting in the seat when this happened. don't want to think about what could have happened, if he did not have seat belt on. thank god there was not a death that day, do to the doors. i want my money back to buy a safer car for me and my family. this car is going to kill ppl. they should have a recall on this car i just bought this car.it is only 2 weeks old. already 450 out my pocket to fix this. i work part time three days a week. i have five children i cant be paying for this van was not made with safety in mind i think chevy was just turning to make a van to sell with out the people in mind like my self. i bought the car used 10,000 a whole yrof what i make to buy this death trap. its not fair that's this car has not been recalled some one needs to do something. the public should not be the one to have to be tested. all cars and vans alike should be made to be safe for the ppl that buy them.

Reported in: SKOKOMISH NATION WA || Crash: N || VIN #:

STRUCTURE:BODY

tl* the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. the contact stated that the vehicle started to make a clunking sound and the vehicle rear would sway back and forth while driving. the vehicle was taken to a local shop, who diagnosed that the rear control arm was defective and affected the frame. as a result, it needed to be welded back on. the failure continued. the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. the vehicle was not repaired a second time. the failure mileage was 130,000 and the current mileage was 140,000.

Reported in: PALMDALE CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33W77D

SUSPENSION

tl* the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. the contact stated that the vehicle started to make a clunking sound and the vehicle rear would sway back and forth while driving. the vehicle was taken to a local shop, who diagnosed that the rear control arm was defective and affected the frame. as a result, it needed to be welded back on. the failure continued. the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. the vehicle was not repaired a second time. the failure mileage was 130,000 and the current mileage was 140,000.

Reported in: PALMDALE CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33W77D

STEERING

this is the 4th time the vehicle shuts off in the middle of turning.

Reported in: INDIANAPOLIS IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDU23137D

POWER TRAIN

i purchased my 2007 chevy uplander van in 02/2010. if you are stopped and go to take off, the transmission will jerk into gear, so severely at times that it feels as if you have been hit in the rear end. in 06/2010, not completely sure of the mileage (getting that info from dealer who couldn't find the problem) i took it back to the chevy dealer i bought it at and they said it was the cadillac converter, they changed that but i still have the problem. now my manufacturer warranty has run out and the problem is so bad that i took it to another dealer and the said i need a complete new transmission. the input clutch is leaking internally. now it is at a cost of $3200.00 to fix. this is a real problem and needs to be address. i have family members with the same type of chevy uplander only it is a 2004? and they are dealing with the same problem.

Reported in: CHARLESTON WV || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV231X7D

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i purchased the vechile in 2010. i didn't have any problems with the doors at this time. about 6 months later they would open by themselves when in park. or they would not close a dinging noise would sound and the door would open back up when tring to close it. i didn't think much about it at this time because it only did this when in park and after playing with it for a while we could eventually get them to stay closed. well, a couple of days ago and again today, the door opened while i was driving 65 miles per hour going down the interstate with my 2 kids in the back seat. my daughter who is 6 screamed bloody murder as i panically hit the brakes and telling my other daughter who is 8 to grab her arm, hold tight and do not let go. i got off and pulled to the side of the interstate break down lane. took a couple of minutes to gather my self and calm my children. i put the kids in the very back and buckled them in. my main concern is my children's safety. i bought this van for the family and it has now turned into a horrible nightmare. i am now putting the kids in the very back, which thank goddness because this happened again today. i am still making payments on the van and cannot afford to get another car. we now have another baby on the way and i am not quite sure what we are to do because this will put one of the kids having to sit in the path of danger when the baby is born. i have paperwork in the van from where the previous owner of the van has already replaced the doors because of them opening when she was driving. the fix must have not solved the problem because now here my family sits with the same concern on the same doors. this is a real concern and if something isn't done about it a child's life may be lost. van owners purchase vans for the room of their growing family and should feel that there kids are safe when in it. *js

Reported in: SUMMERVILLE SC || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33177D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

i purchased the vechile in 2010. i didn't have any problems with the doors at this time. about 6 months later they would open by themselves when in park. or they would not close a dinging noise would sound and the door would open back up when tring to close it. i didn't think much about it at this time because it only did this when in park and after playing with it for a while we could eventually get them to stay closed. well, a couple of days ago and again today, the door opened while i was driving 65 miles per hour going down the interstate with my 2 kids in the back seat. my daughter who is 6 screamed bloody murder as i panically hit the brakes and telling my other daughter who is 8 to grab her arm, hold tight and do not let go. i got off and pulled to the side of the interstate break down lane. took a couple of minutes to gather my self and calm my children. i put the kids in the very back and buckled them in. my main concern is my children's safety. i bought this van for the family and it has now turned into a horrible nightmare. i am now putting the kids in the very back, which thank goddness because this happened again today. i am still making payments on the van and cannot afford to get another car. we now have another baby on the way and i am not quite sure what we are to do because this will put one of the kids having to sit in the path of danger when the baby is born. i have paperwork in the van from where the previous owner of the van has already replaced the doors because of them opening when she was driving. the fix must have not solved the problem because now here my family sits with the same concern on the same doors. this is a real concern and if something isn't done about it a child's life may be lost. van owners purchase vans for the room of their growing family and should feel that there kids are safe when in it. *js

Reported in: SUMMERVILLE SC || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33177D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

tl* the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. the contact stated that the rear driver and passenger side sliding doors would open independently. the contact stated that the failure also occurred while driving at approximately 65 mph as the rear driver side sliding door suddenly opened. the vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostics. the contact stated that both sliding doors were replaced by the previous owner for the same failure. the vehicle was not repaired. the approximate failure mileage was 96,000.

Reported in: SUMMERVILLE SC || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33177D

STRUCTURE:BODY

tl* the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. while parked, the contact opened the rear passenger side door and noticed that the bottom hinge was fractured. the door was attached to the vehicle by only the top hinge. the vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. the vehicle was not repaired. the approximate failure mileage was 104,000.

Reported in: DAYTONA BEACH FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDU23W57D

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

the vehicle will hesitate to take off after engaging a forward gear. sometimes it will take off normally, sometimes it will shudder and buck before, or while attempting to go, and sometimes it will just sit there and do nothing but increase the engine rpms, when the rpms are back to normal it might take off or it might not. the transmission has been serviced, fluid change, not sure if the dealership changed the filter.

Reported in: ST JOHNSBURY VT || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV331X7D

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

the vehicle will hesitate to take off after engaging a forward gear. sometimes it will take off normally, sometimes it will shudder and buck before, or while attempting to go, and sometimes it will just sit there and do nothing but increase the engine rpms, when the rpms are back to normal it might take off or it might not. the transmission has been serviced, fluid change, not sure if the dealership changed the filter.

Reported in: ST JOHNSBURY VT || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV331X7D

POWER TRAIN

the vehicle will hesitate to take off after engaging a forward gear. sometimes it will take off normally, sometimes it will shudder and buck before, or while attempting to go, and sometimes it will just sit there and do nothing but increase the engine rpms, when the rpms are back to normal it might take off or it might not. the transmission has been serviced, fluid change, not sure if the dealership changed the filter.

Reported in: ST JOHNSBURY VT || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV331X7D

STEERING

tl* the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. the contact stated that while driving, he felt a buckle in the steering wheel while turning. the contact stated that he would hear a noise coming through the steering column. the vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the steering box was not greased properly when it was manufacturer. the vehicle was not repaired. the manufacturer was not notified. the failure mileage was 35,000. the vin was unavailable.

Reported in: SPRINGHILL LA || Crash: N || VIN #:

STEERING

this last october 2012, i had an opportunity to drive my wife's vehicle and noticed a floating sensation in the steering when driving straight making it somewhat difficult to maintain lane position due to over steering back and forth when trying to compensate for float. i then noticed a clunking sound when turning the steering wheel to the left or right when stopped and at slower speeds. i took the car to my mechanic he said that it seemed to be the steering intermediate shaft. i then brought the vehicle to the chevrolet dealer we bought it from to have them inspect it. they confirmed it was the shaft. i was told that the part was around $350. i then contacted gm headquarters questioning the safety of this problem and was told that this is a normal wear and tear item and they would not be able to provide any assistance with the repair. this is the first vehicle of owning many various manufacturers has ever had this issue. are intermediate steering shafts normal wear and tear parts? does this part need to fail and cause a fatal accident before a recall is necessary??? recently toyota recalled millions of their vehicles with similar problems.

Reported in: LIBERTYVILLE IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDU231X7D

STEERING

on wet days, especially when there are puddles, water splashes up on the belt that drives the wheel that drives the power steering pump. when this happens, the belt slips and the power steering locks up. this has happened many times, and it took us a long time to figure out what the problem was. we had taken it to an authorized chevy dealer, and they couldn't find anything wrong. they replaced practically the whole power steering system, but the problem persisted. it wasn't until we googled the problem on the internet that we found out what was causing it. we also found out that we were not the only ones with this problem. this problem is caused by a poor design. the belt only has a few inches of contact with the power steering pump drive. please force gm to recall these vehicles and fix them before an accident happens! thank you very much.

Reported in: MUSKEGON MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDU231X7D

SERVICE BRAKES

approx. may, 2009 while traveling, i applied the brake on my uplander and the abs light went on. it would not go out unless the vehicle was shut down. the brake feel was hard at first and then it slipped as if i was traveling on snow to keep the wheels from locking. the pavement was dry. this was the first time that this has occurred and i have had it back to the dealer 3 other times since, but they cannot find or fix the problem. i feel that this is a safety issue that gm should address. the current mileage is 77,000.

Reported in: FLAT ROCK MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33187D

SERVICE BRAKES

incident 1: tracking pin on driver's side rear sliding door broke, not allowing door to close, had to pull fuses and manually shut, if tried to open now, door falls off track, unsafe. taking it to the dealership made it worse, no resolution from chevrolet company. incident 2: service abs light comes on, brakes pulse, when engaged will not disengage when brakes are released without a waiting period, does not always engage immediately making it difficult to come to a complete stop in a timely and safe manner. technician could not find issue when i took it in to be tested. (intermittent dash light not showing up when i take it in).

Reported in: AUSTIN TX || Crash: N || VIN #:

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

incident 1: tracking pin on driver's side rear sliding door broke, not allowing door to close, had to pull fuses and manually shut, if tried to open now, door falls off track, unsafe. taking it to the dealership made it worse, no resolution from chevrolet company. incident 2: service abs light comes on, brakes pulse, when engaged will not disengage when brakes are released without a waiting period, does not always engage immediately making it difficult to come to a complete stop in a timely and safe manner. technician could not find issue when i took it in to be tested. (intermittent dash light not showing up when i take it in).

Reported in: AUSTIN TX || Crash: N || VIN #:

STRUCTURE:BODY

tl* the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. the contact stated that the rear sliding door failed to close properly. the vehicle was not repaired. the manufacturer was not contacted. the failure mileage was 67,000. the vin was unavailable.

Reported in: PHILADELPHIA PA || Crash: N || VIN #:

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

tl* the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. the contact stated that while driving 65 mph after refueling, the fuel gauge failed to operate as the vehicle stalled without warning. the vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. the approximate failure mileage was 115,000.

Reported in: GODDARD KS || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23107D

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

fuel gauge is never correct. the 'mileage till empty' display is all over the place along with the needle. gauge will show 1/2 tank when starting out, 20 miles later is shows 1/4 tank. can be driving and just before stopping and turning off the engine will show 1/4 tank of gas. start the engine back up after maybe 5 minutes and needle shows less than 1/8 of tank. have run out of gas multiple time because of this. even been stranded at 7am with 2 year old in 20 f degree weather.

Reported in: ALLEGAN MI || Crash: N || VIN #:

STRUCTURE:BODY

tl* the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander. the contact stated while traveling approximately 30 mph, the passenger's side sliding door opened independently. the vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the door was closed. the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who was unable to remedy the problem. in addition, the driver's side would only release manually. the manufacturer was notified of the defect. the approximate failure mileage was 9,300. up[dated 3/21/14*cn

Reported in: RICHTON MS || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33107D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

starting soon after i bought the van, i ran into the issue of the passenger power sliding door not wanting to close. it would almost latch and then bounce back. i was able to fix the problem by opening and reclosing the door. this happens once to twice a week. i can find no previous service records on the doors on this van, but i cannot believe it did not occur with the previous owner. based on the numerous other online complaints i have seen on this and similar issues, i have elected not to take it to the dealership. i do not have the confidence that gm could or would be willing to fix this problem. on that note, i am further dishearten by the fact that your own investigation resulted in service bulletins, letting gm off the hook for a clearly flawed design on the entire door and all of its moving parts. i am submitting this complaint to put it on record, any action will be totally unexpected.

Reported in: LEXINGTON SC || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33187D

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

my engine intermittently shuts off shortly after i start my car. sometimes it does not do this for 5 - 7 weeks in a row, but other times it does this several times in a week. most of the time it happens first thing in the morning, but sometimes it happens after work. it dies within 1/4 mile of being started -- generally while i'm still in a parking lot or just pulling onto the road. my car is parked outdoors and i live in a mild climate. weather does not appear to be a factor. i bought the car used. it has been doing this since shortly after i bought my car. i took it to the dealership, but they said that it didn't happen when they started the car and refused to look into it further.

Reported in: FOUNTAIN VALLEY CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23147D

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

the fuel gauge/fuel range has been malfunctioning since 09 in that the gauge could change or fluxuate as much as 1/8 to 1/4 tank in a very short time. the fuel range which i thought showed how many miles you should be able to drive considering the amount of fuel in the tank, that changed as much as 50 miles and a few times, the fuel gauge would read about 1/8 of a tank, and i have driven 1 block, and it showed empty. realizing that other are other factors, i do however feel that it is a safety issue especially if i'm on the highway. this same problem still exist as of the writing of this complaint and 2 different dealers have supposedly fixed the problem by changing the fuel sensor (4 times) and refused to change it the last time that i took it to them. the second issue (and i put power train) but it has to do with my transmission but i did not see that in the options. in september of 2012, i complained about transmission problem and the dealer could not duplicate the problem. i took it back to the dealer in november of the same year with the same problem and they did notice the problem and they supposedly fixed the problem, however because my extended warranty had expired in october a month prior, they said that it would be fixed but i was charged $300.00 which at that time, i had no other choice but to pay it so i did. last november 2013 thanksgiving weekend, my transmission failed and my family was stranded 400 miles away from home and had to leave our vehicle and rent a car to get home and then go back and pick up the van. after getting it back home, the dealer did make a repair to the transmission again, but as they have acknowledged, it is still a problem with the shifting and that they would be willing to pay up to 1500 of the repair. another dealer told me that i needed a new transmission. currently, i have 82k miles and need third transmit repair.

Reported in: INDIANAPOLIS IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23167D

POWER TRAIN

the fuel gauge/fuel range has been malfunctioning since 09 in that the gauge could change or fluxuate as much as 1/8 to 1/4 tank in a very short time. the fuel range which i thought showed how many miles you should be able to drive considering the amount of fuel in the tank, that changed as much as 50 miles and a few times, the fuel gauge would read about 1/8 of a tank, and i have driven 1 block, and it showed empty. realizing that other are other factors, i do however feel that it is a safety issue especially if i'm on the highway. this same problem still exist as of the writing of this complaint and 2 different dealers have supposedly fixed the problem by changing the fuel sensor (4 times) and refused to change it the last time that i took it to them. the second issue (and i put power train) but it has to do with my transmission but i did not see that in the options. in september of 2012, i complained about transmission problem and the dealer could not duplicate the problem. i took it back to the dealer in november of the same year with the same problem and they did notice the problem and they supposedly fixed the problem, however because my extended warranty had expired in october a month prior, they said that it would be fixed but i was charged $300.00 which at that time, i had no other choice but to pay it so i did. last november 2013 thanksgiving weekend, my transmission failed and my family was stranded 400 miles away from home and had to leave our vehicle and rent a car to get home and then go back and pick up the van. after getting it back home, the dealer did make a repair to the transmission again, but as they have acknowledged, it is still a problem with the shifting and that they would be willing to pay up to 1500 of the repair. another dealer told me that i needed a new transmission. currently, i have 82k miles and need third transmit repair.

Reported in: INDIANAPOLIS IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23167D

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

we purchased the 2007 chevy uplander before doing any research....had we known what we know now, we would have not purchased it. shortly after we purchased the vehicle the rear sliding doors began acting up. sometimes they won't open and other times they randomly open on their own. when you close the door, it will stop mid-close, reopen then start closing again. when you think it is closed, it will just keep grinding and then pop back open. we were in nc on vacation when the door alarm wouldn't stop 'dinging' because the door wouldn't close all the way. once we finally got the door to close, the kids would have to crawl through the rear hatch for fear that the doors wouldn't close again since we were so far from home. we have had the vehicle back to the dealer numerous times for this problem...they didn't find anything wrong with it! i even drove straight to the dealership within minutes of this happening...but when i got there it never happened again. another issue we had was with the wiring harness failing at 35,000 miles. luckily that was under warranty.

Reported in: OAKDALE PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33117D

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

we purchased the 2007 chevy uplander before doing any research....had we known what we know now, we would have not purchased it. shortly after we purchased the vehicle the rear sliding doors began acting up. sometimes they won't open and other times they randomly open on their own. when you close the door, it will stop mid-close, reopen then start closing again. when you think it is closed, it will just keep grinding and then pop back open. we were in nc on vacation when the door alarm wouldn't stop 'dinging' because the door wouldn't close all the way. once we finally got the door to close, the kids would have to crawl through the rear hatch for fear that the doors wouldn't close again since we were so far from home. we have had the vehicle back to the dealer numerous times for this problem...they didn't find anything wrong with it! i even drove straight to the dealership within minutes of this happening...but when i got there it never happened again. another issue we had was with the wiring harness failing at 35,000 miles. luckily that was under warranty.

Reported in: OAKDALE PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33117D

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

purchassed used in november 2007 and shortly had trouble as when vehicle parked slightly downhill with fuel gauge showing 1/3+ vehicle would not start and gauges show zero fuel. driving down hill engine will quit for lack of fuel. gm told me in writing that they know of this problem and considered it to be normal. only yesterday was stranded in parking lot of fast food lunch place with gauge showing 1/3+ fuel level but car would not start. fuel pickup is in rear of long 25 gallon tank. design defect that presents a safety hazard as engine will stop with loss of steering and breaking. gm knows about this and i feel this is another safety life issue for which they have ignored.

Reported in: HENRICO VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33117D

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

sliding doors don't operate correctly or they open when moving. passenger side door is now locked and will not unlock. also have issues with the abs systems not working.

Reported in: MANKATO MN || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV33187D

SUSPENSION

tl-the contact owns a 2007 chevrolet uplander ls. the contact stated that while driving at various speeds, a loud clunking sound was heard in the rear of the vehicle. the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. the manufacturer has not been notified of the issue. the contact stated the vin was not included in nhtsa campaign number: 10v110000 (suspension). the failure mileage was 110000.

Reported in: THORTON CO || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GNDV23W77D