buick rendezvous Problems

buick rendezvous 2005 Complaints

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:IGNITION

while backing our of my driveway the vehicle started vibrating due to engine ignition malfunction but did not stall. at the same time dashboard light went on indicating that engine needed an oil change though the oil was just changed 2 days prior to the incident. shut the engine off and restarted and engine operated normally except the dashboard light again indicated need for an oil change. brought the vehicle back to the dealer for repair. after discussion with service representative it was decided to install ignition relay part for the second time. a scan system test regulator test was done with no problem found. will continue to run vehicle and hope problem corrected.*ak

Reported in: PALM HARBOR FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E14S

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

i write to report an occurrence of uncontrollable acceleration in a buick rendezvous. i rented the current model year rendezvous from avis at lax airport on 5/14/05. that evening as i was accelerating to get on the freeway, the car accelerated uncontrollably. i immediately took my foot off the gas pedal, and put both feet on the brake, yet the car continued to accelerate. i noticed that even with both feet on the brake and pressing as hard as i could, the speed was increasing. fortunately, at the on-ramp where i got on, the traffic was light, and there was approx a half mile where there was no traffic in my lane. i pulled to the right and was getting ready to turn the key off, since i could not otherwise slow the car down. after a total of 8 ? 10 seconds, the throttle went back to its normal condition ? ie the run away acceleration ceased. i spoke to the return agent at avis who assured me the car would be taken out of service. i write this note to make sure that avis knows what the problem was. i certainly could have caused an accident if there had been other cars near mine. buick rendezvous (had about 4500 miles ? so presumably a 2005) ca license # [xxx] [xxx] [xxx] [xxx] [xxx] [xxx] *js information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u.s.c. 552(b)(6)

Reported in: ISSAQUAH WA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E75S

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2004 buick rendezvous experienced unexpected sudden acceleration.*mr the consumer was parking his vehicle when it accelerated suddenly. the vehicle struck a chain, which was strung between two post, before the consumer could slam on the brake and shut the vehicle off. the consumer is concerned that this may happen again. *nm

Reported in: ORMOND BEACH FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G50A035854

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

on may 27, 2005 my husband purchased a 2005 buick rendezvous cx plus. 3 times since the purchase the vehicle has stalled during our rush hour trip to work, 06/16, 06/20 & 06/27. each time the vehicle was slowing down, once when entering a highway (route i-95 in pa) and twice when coming to a stop light on nj route 130. i was with him each time it occurred. fortunately, the vehicle restarted. my husband has taken the vehicle to the dealer, explaining the exact circumstances before the failure. because the dealer could not duplicate the problem, nothing was done. this seem to be the same problem encountered by the 2004 rendezvous for which gm issued a recall (#05v157000). the resolution was to replace the ignition relay. there is also a njtsa action number pe04075 that describes this problem for the 2004 rendezvous.

Reported in: EDGEWATER PARK NJ || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E85S

SUSPENSION:FRONT:WHEEL BEARING

i had to have both front wheel bearings replaced at 43,000 miles. i did extensive research and have found this to be a common problem with this vehicle. it seems unreasonable to have to spend almost $800 to replace bearings which should last at least 100,000 miles. *nm

Reported in: SANFORD ME || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E32S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

engine on this vehicle has stalled five times since service date of 11/29/04. the vehicle is a 2005 buick rendezvous. the engine stalls without warning and has always quit at slow to idle speeds. this vehicle was purchased to replace a 2004 buick rendezvous due to the same stalling problem. due to the problem i have become scared to drive this vehicle. the engine has stalled without warning on april 20th., may 5th, may 8th, august 13th, august 18th, and i have an appointment to take the vehicle into the dealership this coming monday on august 22nd on 05/09/05 vehicle was at the dealership they could not duplicate the problem, and there are never any codes in the computer. on 06/24/05 vehicle was back at the dealership for the same problem and at that time the ignition relay was replaced per pip3139a and i have had two engine since then. i don't know if old parts are available. any help here would be greatly appreciated as i am a 78 year old women scared to drive this vehicle. *nm

Reported in: REESE MI || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E85S

COMMUNICATIONS:HORN ASSEMBLY

dt: 2005 buick rendezvous. the horn is difficult and almost impossible to blow. the area is sensitive and the amount of pressure is excessive. the consumer spoke to the dealer and manufacturer, and their position was if the horn works they have no specification on how limited the area is or how excessive the pressure is to blow the horn. the owners manual states press near the horn symbol on the steering wheel and the horn will sound. one inch from the horn symbol is dead area. if not driving straight ahead consumer does not know where the horn symbol is. in an emergency situation this could cause an accident. *ak *jb

Reported in: NORTH CARROLLTON MS || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03EX5S

STRUCTURE

dt: 2005 buick rendezvous. the instrument panel cannot be read during certain day light conditions, particularly the speedometer. consumer contacted gm, and they told him there was nothing on file, and they could not do anything about it this has been a problem since the vehicle was purchased. *ak *nm

Reported in: CASPER WY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E65S

AIR BAGS:SIDE/WINDOW

on impact from drivers side in middle of both doors car flipped on to passenger's side and spinned and skidded 70 feet damaging both sides and battery acid from front leaked onto front of car. driver's side doors completely crushed and side air bag deployment failed to open on impact came out after car made complete stop. side panels on drivers side came completely out and passengers side no airbags came out on flip and impact to the ground. *jb

Reported in: LAS VEGAS NV || Crash: Y || VIN #: 3G5DB03E65S

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

2005 buick vin [xxx] engine died when the vehicle went downhill and stopped at traffic light. engine wouldn't start until ignition was turned off and then turned back on. *nm updated 07/18/2012 *js information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u.s.c. 552(b)(6)

Reported in: SACRAMENTO CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E45S

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:EXHAUST SYSTEM:EMISSION CONTROL

dt: the contact stated vehicle stalled while driving. the only warning was the battery light. when the vehicle stalled there was no steering or brakes. the vehicle was taken to the dealership, and they have placed a recorder on the vehicle three times. from the information obtained from the recorder they have replaced the ignition relay, ignition switch, the air control module valve, and reprogrammed the computer. none of these repairs have corrected the stalling problem. *ak

Reported in: PITTSBURG PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E45S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:IGNITION:SWITCH

dt: the contact stated vehicle stalled while driving. the only warning was the battery light. when the vehicle stalled there was no steering or brakes. the vehicle was taken to the dealership, and they have placed a recorder on the vehicle three times. from the information obtained from the recorder they have replaced the ignition relay, ignition switch, the air control module valve, and reprogrammed the computer. none of these repairs have corrected the stalling problem. *ak

Reported in: PITTSBURG PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E45S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i purchased my 2005 buick rendezvous on jan. 14, 06. after having it for 3 days, i was driving down the highway, coming to a stop and the vehicle died. i put the vehicle in park, cranked it, and luckily it started with no problem. i later happened to me 2 more times. i took it to my dealer and they said due to the fact that they can not get it to duplicate what happened when i was driving there is nothing they can do about it. so i'm stuck driving a vehicle that goes dead on me for no apparent reason. *jb

Reported in: MUNFORD TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E85S

VISIBILITY:REARVIEW MIRRORS/DEVICES:EXTERIOR

dt*: the contact stated the exterior rearview mirrors are too big and cause a blind spot. the dealership determined this is how the vehicle was manufactured. the outside rearview mirrors are way too big and located in an area that blocks views. the contact had to lift herself of the seat to look over top of the rearview window. *ak

Reported in: MUMFORD NY || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

dt*: the contact stated the battery light illuminated and the vehicle stalls, this occurred six times between 5-15 mph. the vehicle restarts after stalling. the dealership is unable to determine a problem.

Reported in: ATOKA TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E85S

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

dt*: the contact stated the vehicle stalled without warning at various speeds. the engine was easily restarted, but the problem persisted. the vehicle was seen by a dealer for inspection, but was unable to duplicate the problem.

Reported in: DOVER DE || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E95S

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER:STORAGE:FUEL GAUGE SYSTEM

dt*: the contact stated while traveling up or down a hill the fuel indicator gauge gives a false reading. the dealer was unable to determine what caused the problem.

Reported in: JOHNSTOWN PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E95S

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

dt*: the contact stated without warning, at various speeds, the vehicle stalled while decelerating. the vehicle restarted after this occurred. the dealership performed a computer upgrade in an attempt to repair the vehicle, but the problem persisted. it happened 7 times. the contact felt it was an obvious defect that was dangerous and should be promptly addressed. updated 06/07/2006. *ak *ts

Reported in: MERRICK NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E75S

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK:ABS WARNING LIGHT

dt*: the contact stated while driving 35 mph on normal road conditions the lights for the awd and abs systems illuminated. according to the owner's manual when abs illuminates the vehicle should be stopped and towed for assistance. this incident has occurred several times and the dealer advised the contact to drive the vehicle eventhough the manual recommended towing. the contact was not aware of the remedy repair to fix awd and abs illumination problem.

Reported in: JACKSONVILLE NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03725S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

dt*: the contact stated while driving 35 mph on normal road conditions the lights for the awd and abs systems illuminated. according to the owner's manual when abs illuminates the vehicle should be stopped and towed for assistance. this incident has occurred several times and the dealer advised the contact to drive the vehicle eventhough the manual recommended towing. the contact was not aware of the remedy repair to fix awd and abs illumination problem.

Reported in: JACKSONVILLE NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03725S

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK

dt*: the contact stated that the vehicle's abs system failed on 07/15/06 resulting in a collision. the vehicle was traveling at 25 mph when traffic forced emergency braking causing the vehicle to nose dive but continued to roll forward. the wheels did not lock up and the abs system did not engage. there was no warning prior to the failure which occurred on dry and flat road conditions. the contact expressed that during the incident it felt as if the hydraulic brakes were not grabbing, and conceived that the vehicle brake failure may be due fading caused by heat. the vehicle is equipped with 4-wheel antilock and 4 wheel disc brakes. the manufacturer was contacted on 07/17/06 who determined that the vehicle needed to be inspected by a technician and could only be scheduled for a later date. the contact performed three brake distance tests at the residence which resulted in three different braking distances. the contact heard one wheel chirp, and felt a pulsation in the pedal during the first test, but no pulsation was felt during the other two. the last test resulted in the vehicle stopping a longer distance than both the first and second tests.

Reported in: NIAGARA FALLS NY || Crash: Y || VIN #: 3G5DA03E85S

STEERING

dt*: the contact stated while turning the steering wheel in either direction at various speeds there was a loud whining noise. the vehicle was seen by the dealer on three separate occasions. once the dealer replaced the steering column however the problem persisted.

Reported in: NEWTON KS || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E05S

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2005 buick rendezvous rolled from park with keys out of the ignition injuring consumers wife. *kb the consumer had other problems with the vehicle such as the power steering becoming hard . the dealer replaced the pump and the power steering rack. the abs, and brake light illuminated, then the awd disable light came on. the gas gauge fluctuated as well. the vehicle pulled to the left. the dealer readjusted the camber, caster and rear tow. *jb

Reported in: YOUNGSVILLE NY || Crash: Y || VIN #: 3G5DB03EX5S

STEERING

2005 buick rendezvous rolled from park with keys out of the ignition injuring consumers wife. *kb the consumer had other problems with the vehicle such as the power steering becoming hard . the dealer replaced the pump and the power steering rack. the abs, and brake light illuminated, then the awd disable light came on. the gas gauge fluctuated as well. the vehicle pulled to the left. the dealer readjusted the camber, caster and rear tow. *jb

Reported in: YOUNGSVILLE NY || Crash: Y || VIN #: 3G5DB03EX5S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

2005 buick rendezvous rolled from park with keys out of the ignition injuring consumers wife. *kb the consumer had other problems with the vehicle such as the power steering becoming hard . the dealer replaced the pump and the power steering rack. the abs, and brake light illuminated, then the awd disable light came on. the gas gauge fluctuated as well. the vehicle pulled to the left. the dealer readjusted the camber, caster and rear tow. *jb

Reported in: YOUNGSVILLE NY || Crash: Y || VIN #: 3G5DB03EX5S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:IGNITION

dt*: the contact stated while decelerating from 30 mph, the engine stalled. the vehicle was restarted immediately, and taken to a service dealer. the dealer replaced the ignition relay and performed a fuel card cleaning, however the problem persisted. the dealer was unable to determine the cause of the problem.*ak

Reported in: ASHVILLE OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E95S

AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

dt*: the contact stated a nhtsa recall letter #06v417000 regarding the gm repurchase of vehicles due to the frontal airbags was received. the contact expressed concern that the manufacturer was not honoring all of the terms listed under the recall. the letter stated gm would repurchase the vehicle at full price, not exceeding the fair market value at the time purchased, including taxes. the contact expressed the manufacturer should be paying for the full loan, but they are only willing to pay for $16,500 of the $19,100 remaining on the loan. the contact understood the recall indicated gm would pay the full amount. updated 12/28/06. *jb

Reported in: FORNEY TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E05S

AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

tl*- the contact called regarding recall number: 06v417000. the contact states that they purchase another gm vehicle from a different dealership and that the dealership where they purchase the recalled vehicle is reluctant to take back the vehicle because contact didn't purchase the new vehicle at his dealership. the dealership in question is powell watson and is located in laredo, tx. the contact states that when he spoke with manager (ricardo maldonado) he stated that they wouldn't be able to re-purchase his vehicle since he went to a different dealership to buy a chevy suburban. the contact filled complaint with manufacture.

Reported in: LAREDO TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E25S

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

tl*- the contact stated that his 2005 buick rendezvous stalled without warning at various speeds. the engine was easily restarted, but the problem persisted. the vehicle was seen by a dealer for inspection, but they were unable to duplicate the problem. the contact is concern because the vehicle wasalso used to transport children for a daycare. *ak

Reported in: LITHONIA GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E05S

SUSPENSION:FRONT:WHEEL BEARING

both front wheel bearings had to be replaced with only 52,000 miles on the vehicle. this component failure was extremely premature and indicates a defect in the wheel bearings. another compliant to nhtsa listed the same problem on a vehicle with only 43,000 miles. *jb

Reported in: CLEVELAND HTS. OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E05S

VISIBILITY:WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER:MOTOR

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that during heavy snow and/or an ice storm the snow and ice accumulated inside the windshield wiper motor. the accumulation caused the windshield wipers to become inoperable. the dealer stated that thiswas due to the design of the vehicle. the manufacturer stated that they will no longer investigate the failure. the current and failure mileage were 32,000.*ak

Reported in: PHILADELPHIA PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E35S

STEERING

the steering system for the 2005 buick rendezvous cxl with 16000 miles , bought new from gmc dealership exhibited the following behavior, a knocking sound when moving the steering wheel accompanied by vibrations felt in the steering wheel. the sound was loud enough to be heard by all occupants of vehicle during driving. the dealership attempted to fix the problem by replacing the driveshaft twice and lubricating the steering mechanism. the knocking sound continued to this day. the integrity of the steering mechanism was in doubt due to the vibrations and loud sounds every time the steering wheel was turned. *ak

Reported in: SANTA CLARA CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E95S

POWER TRAIN:DRIVELINE:DRIVESHAFT

the steering system for the 2005 buick rendezvous cxl with 16000 miles , bought new from gmc dealership exhibited the following behavior, a knocking sound when moving the steering wheel accompanied by vibrations felt in the steering wheel. the sound was loud enough to be heard by all occupants of vehicle during driving. the dealership attempted to fix the problem by replacing the driveshaft twice and lubricating the steering mechanism. the knocking sound continued to this day. the integrity of the steering mechanism was in doubt due to the vibrations and loud sounds every time the steering wheel was turned. *ak

Reported in: SANTA CLARA CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E95S

STEERING:HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST:HOSE, PIPING, AND CONNECTIONS

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that he is experienced total power steering failure as it pertains to the pump and the hoses. he has contacted the dealer or the manufacturer. the current mileage is 41,000 and failure mileage was 38,000. updated 07/10/07

Reported in: FT. MYERS FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E65S

STEERING:HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST:PUMP

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that he is experienced total power steering failure as it pertains to the pump and the hoses. he has contacted the dealer or the manufacturer. the current mileage is 41,000 and failure mileage was 38,000. updated 07/10/07

Reported in: FT. MYERS FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E65S

POWER TRAIN:DRIVELINE:DRIVESHAFT

last month we purchased a 2005 buick rendezvous. we noticed that the front end shook when taking off and hitting a small hole in the road. we notified the dealer where we purchased the vehicle, and they checked it out and told us that it was characteristic of that type of vehicle but that a mount was available to fix the problem but it would cost an extra $600.00. we told them no thank you but what we would like to know is were we being told the truth and if so why wasn't the mount already on the vehicle when it was manufactured . thank you for your time and we are awaiting your answer. *ak

Reported in: AUGUSTA GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E45S

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. while driving 35-65 mph, the engine suddenly shut off and all of the instrument panel lights illuminated. the failure occurred three times. the contact attempted to restart the vehicle. after the first failure, the contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they reprogrammed the computer. four days later, the failure recurred. the contact called the dealer and they stated that additional work needed to be performed and they would call her. the failure has currently recurred for the third time and the contact is concerned that the vehicle may get rear ended. the failure mileage was 47,000 and current mileage was 48,000.

Reported in: NEWTON KS || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E05S

POWER TRAIN:AXLE HUBS

left hub bearing had to be replaced at 65,000 miles and the right hub bearing had to be replaced at 75,000 miles. *cn

Reported in: BURLINGTON WI || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

a few months ago my car stalled at the bus stop and shut down. it would not restart. the car needed to be jumped. the warranty was going to be up soon so we took the vehicle to rice buick in knoxville, tn to get looked at. they hooked it up to the machine and it didn't do it so they determined that it must have been something i did that made the car stop. this past wednesday i was parked at the bus stop with my car running with the blinkers on in park and with the emergency brake on. my car shut down again and would not restart. it is habit for me to take the emergency brake off when i go to start the vehicle so it remained off while i tried to start the car. i kept taking the keys out and trying to start the car like it was the first time in it that day. i again checked to see if i was in park and it was. i took the remote keyless entry device off of the keys in case my friend could not help me and i had to use my house key on that ring. when i shut the door of my car everything was fine for about 10 seconds and then my car started rolling down the street. i tried to use the remote to get the door unlocked because my 2 year old was in the car. it would not unlock. i never locked the car when i got out. my car finally crashed into a parked truck and stopped. when my friend tried to get my daughter out the door would not open. she asked me to unlock it but i had dropped my keys on the way down. she tried again and it opened right away. all of the doors were then unlocked except the drivers side door. my daughter was fine because she was buckled in her seat. i had a lot of bruises and scrapes. this is the second electrical incident we have had with this car. the power steering has also stopped working on several incidents while we were driving. i don't know if that is linked to this electrical problem. i have read several internet complaints about the same thing happening to other buick rendezvous.

Reported in: KNOXVILLE TN || Crash: Y || VIN #: 3G5DA03E35S

TIRES:TREAD/BELT

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the vehicle has goodyear integrity, size p225/60/r17 (na) tires. while driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle began to vibrate excessively. the contact noticed that speed was not a factor. a mechanic informed her that the tire tread was abnormally low and had a low of 3 and a high of 4. in addition, the tire belt failed. after carefully inspecting the tire, it was noticed that the belt on the tire contained large bulges. the manufacturer would not assist because the tires were used and out of warranty. the tires were replaced. the failure and current mileages were 28,312.

Reported in: POMPTON PLANES NJ || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E95S

SUSPENSION

all wheel drive disabled warning and abs light came on. also loss of power while going up hill. internet states problem is probably caused by wheel bearings. 2002 to 2004 are covered with extended warranty. 2005 is not.

Reported in: BATAVIA OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E25S

SUSPENSION:FRONT:WHEEL BEARING

front wheel bearings on 2004-2005 buick rendezvous fail at 50-60,000 miles. this is a common repair item if you talk with auto repair shops and dealers. one local repair shop repaired 6 vehicles the same week - all with front wheel bearing failure.

Reported in: THORNVILLE OH || Crash: N || VIN #:

POWER TRAIN:DRIVELINE

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that the vehicle shut off without warning. the dealer stated that the transfer case caused the failure. the dealer replaced the transmission and the transfer case. approximately one week later, while traveling 65 mph the transmission failed. the dealer stated that the transfer case or the transmission could have caused the failure. as of may 27, 2008, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. the failure mileage was 50,100 and current mileage was 50,150. the vin was unavailable.

Reported in: HACKETTS TOWN NJ || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2005 buick rendezvous stalling. on 4 occasions to date this vehicle has stalled on me. the first time i was going 70 mph on the highway and it just shut down completely. i almost was rear ended. i managed to get it to the side of the road. it started back up. the next time i was in a school zone going about 10 mph turning a corner and it went dead. it started back up. the third time i was slowing down to stop at a light and it stalled. it started back up. this is very worrisome and i would hate to think of the accident that could happen due to this.

Reported in: OLATHE KS || Crash: N || VIN #:

SUSPENSION:FRONT

buick 2005 rendezvous constant loud whining or moaning noise when you turn the wheel regardless of speed. it is embarrassing. no one can figure it out. it has been ongoing for over a year now.

Reported in: OLATHE KS || Crash: N || VIN #:

STEERING

buick 2005 rendezvous constant loud whining or moaning noise when you turn the wheel regardless of speed. it is embarrassing. no one can figure it out. it has been ongoing for over a year now.

Reported in: OLATHE KS || Crash: N || VIN #:

STRUCTURE

the automobile dashboard which is made of plastic shattered like glass.

Reported in: HOBE SOUND FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E65S

SUSPENSION

wheel bearings on a 3 year old vehicle failed on the right side. after a $300+ repair bill, now the left side has the same problem. a pretty new vehicle is dangerous to drive.

Reported in: MAHOPAC NY || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. while driving approximately 5-10 mph, the vehicle shut down without warning. the contact placed the vehicle into park and waited a few minutes before attempting to restart the vehicle. the vehicle is currently at the dealer and they have been unable to locate a failure code or duplicate the failure. the failure and current mileages were 52,676.

Reported in: TRIPHE CLUB TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E55S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

while driving my speedometer just stopped working. it has not worked since. sometimes it says i'm going 10mph and sometimes it says i'm going 110mph and sometimes it just hangs down at the bottom. obviously, this is extremely dangerous not knowing what speed you are traveling at.

Reported in: SPARTA NJ || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03EX5S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

while on vacation, the speedometer indicated a speed of 20 mph while it was obvious that i was traveling much faster. during this period, the speedometer would not go above 20 mph and at times indicated 0 mph while the vehicle was moving. the next day the speedometer worked correctly. when traveling home, the speedometer would work for about 100 miles and gradually would indicate lower and lower speeds. it i stopped the vehicle and shut off the engine and restarted the vehicle it would start working again for an undetermined length of time. this is very unsafe and is unusual for this item to fail on a vehicle. i called a local buick dealer and was told that they have recently seen a lot of failures with the speedometer and the instrument cluster on the buick rendezvous.

Reported in: STAFFORD VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E95S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

our 2005 buick rendezvous speedometer stopped working. the dealer changed a sensor for $125, that did not work. they greased the lines and checked it out on their equipment but that has not worked either. i saw online that many people had problems with this and their electronic problems. is there a recall from buick?

Reported in: UNION GROVE WI || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E35S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

i have no speedometer and the bearings have gone bad,i called gm to see about it and get the run around,can u help. 2005 buick rendezvous cx. i have only had 9 months.

Reported in: WARREN OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E65S

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

my wife and i own a 2005 buick rendezvous and we are starting to have problems with the transmission. i have been researching about the transmission for this vehicle and it seems after 60k miles the transmissions starts to go bad. i have keep up with the changing of the fluid but i think this a problem that should be looked into.

Reported in: RALEIGH NC || Crash: N || VIN #:

AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. while driving approximately 15 mph on normal road conditions, the air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. the indicator remained lit until the engine was turned off. it was believed that the aftermarket leather seats in the vehicle were affecting the air bag sensors. a book bag was placed on the front passenger seat once, which contributed to the air bag warning indicator illuminating intermittently. the manufacturer was notified of the failure, but there was no resolution. the vin was excluded from nhtsa campaign id number 06v417000 (air bags:frontal), although the failures were identical. the vehicle has not been inspected by an authorized dealer. there was concern of the safety risk involved in the event of a crash. the failure mileage was 30,000 and current mileage was 44,000.

Reported in: MALIBU CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E85S

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that the rear hatch on the vehicle does not lock. the indicator does not show that the hatch is open. she feels that this is a safety issue because the rear hatch can open at any time and endanger the lives of the third row passengers. the manufacturer would not assist. the current mileage was 60,000 and failure mileage was 43,000.

Reported in: FORT WAYNE IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E55S

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

2005 buick rendezvous anti lock light and all wheel drive light on and cant seem to be fixed. what the hell am i supposed to do spend thousands to get it fixed, buy a new car. this seems to be a common problem from what i search online thousands off people have this problem who is buick paying off there?

Reported in: GLOUCESTER CITY NJ || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated as she was driving at 40mph the lights for the entire brake system came on, the anti lock brake light, traction light and the check engine light. this also caused the vehicle to stall. the contact called onstar which performed a diagnostic test and informed her to drive the vehicle to the dealer for them to repair it. the dealer kept the vehicle for three days and repaired it. after the vehicle was driven home, after a couple days the failure lights came back on . the gm manufacturer was called and they stated the vehicle is out of warranty and there was no recall. the failure mileage was 20,130.

Reported in: LOS VEGAS NV || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA037X5S

SUSPENSION:FRONT

while slowing down or at stop lights, car will just stall. so far it has restarted every time. mechanic can not find any problems. frustrated and afraid to drive far from home. i have also replaced right side wheel bearings at 42,000 miles.

Reported in: CARY IL || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

while slowing down or at stop lights, car will just stall. so far it has restarted every time. mechanic can not find any problems. frustrated and afraid to drive far from home. i have also replaced right side wheel bearings at 42,000 miles.

Reported in: CARY IL || Crash: N || VIN #:

SUSPENSION

multiple problems with 2005 buick rendezvous. i am writing to you in regards to the front wheel bearing and hub. 4th time being repaired since 2007 - once a year this part has failed and needed to be replaced. 5/4/07 right at 33,860 7/15/08 right at 61,546 4/6/09 left at 78,057 4/15/10 right at 99,500 the issue is the awd disable and antilock break lock light iss coming on. i am so nervous to drive in this car, i do not feel safe. may i also mention that i have had 2 tie rod replacements, 1 transfer case assembly replacement, 1 rim replacement because it cracked. actually my tires (4 brand new tires) continue to loose air - i am filling up approximately every 2 weeks.

Reported in: SHELTON CT || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E25S

STEERING

multiple problems with 2005 buick rendezvous. i am writing to you in regards to the front wheel bearing and hub. 4th time being repaired since 2007 - once a year this part has failed and needed to be replaced. 5/4/07 right at 33,860 7/15/08 right at 61,546 4/6/09 left at 78,057 4/15/10 right at 99,500 the issue is the awd disable and antilock break lock light iss coming on. i am so nervous to drive in this car, i do not feel safe. may i also mention that i have had 2 tie rod replacements, 1 transfer case assembly replacement, 1 rim replacement because it cracked. actually my tires (4 brand new tires) continue to loose air - i am filling up approximately every 2 weeks.

Reported in: SHELTON CT || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E25S

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

multiple problems with 2005 buick rendezvous. i am writing to you in regards to the front wheel bearing and hub. 4th time being repaired since 2007 - once a year this part has failed and needed to be replaced. 5/4/07 right at 33,860 7/15/08 right at 61,546 4/6/09 left at 78,057 4/15/10 right at 99,500 the issue is the awd disable and antilock break lock light iss coming on. i am so nervous to drive in this car, i do not feel safe. may i also mention that i have had 2 tie rod replacements, 1 transfer case assembly replacement, 1 rim replacement because it cracked. actually my tires (4 brand new tires) continue to loose air - i am filling up approximately every 2 weeks.

Reported in: SHELTON CT || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E25S

POWER TRAIN

multiple problems with 2005 buick rendezvous. i am writing to you in regards to the front wheel bearing and hub. 4th time being repaired since 2007 - once a year this part has failed and needed to be replaced. 5/4/07 right at 33,860 7/15/08 right at 61,546 4/6/09 left at 78,057 4/15/10 right at 99,500 the issue is the awd disable and antilock break lock light iss coming on. i am so nervous to drive in this car, i do not feel safe. may i also mention that i have had 2 tie rod replacements, 1 transfer case assembly replacement, 1 rim replacement because it cracked. actually my tires (4 brand new tires) continue to loose air - i am filling up approximately every 2 weeks.

Reported in: SHELTON CT || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E25S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. for the last two months she noticed that the brakes seemed to be locking when they were applied which made it difficult to stop the vehicle. when the dealer diagnosed the failure there were no failure codes. on april 12, 2010, the failure recurred; however, on april 19, 2010 the dealer stated that the vehicle was safe to drive and no failure codes were detected. while the contact was driving the service traction, abs and brake lights were illuminated on the instrument panel when the failure occurred. the dealer drove the vehicle and stated that they were unable to duplicate the failure. the failure became progressively worse and it became more difficult to stop the vehicle when the brakes were applied. the service manager drove the vehicle on april 21, 2010 and was able to duplicate the failure; however, they were unable to determine what caused the failure to occur. the failure occurred at least three times in ten days. the vehicle had not been repaired when the complaint was filed. the vin was not available. the current mileage was 85,851 and the failure mileage was 86,000.

Reported in: ABILENE TX || Crash: N || VIN #:

STEERING

i purchased a 2005 buick rendezvous in feb 2006, with around 12,700 miles on it. i also purchased the extended warranty on it (thank god) as i've had several issues go wrong with it. most recently, last friday, i brought my vehicle in for a supposed routine oil change (i purchased the life-time oil changes on this vehicle), so every 3 month's i bring it into the dealer; after i made my appt. on the phone, the very next day, my back window, behind the driver stopped functioning (all power windows); i also had, what i believed to be oil sitting on my garage floor. i had a crankshaft seal replaced in july, so i knew i shouldn't be seeing oil on my floor. by the time i brought it in on friday, i had a list of things i wanted them to know about, especially an awful whining, squealing noise every time i made a corner. so, they decided with all of these things to be done, and checked, they would give me a loaner car and keep my buick. yesterday, 9/21/2010 i get a call from the dealer telling me that there is about $7,000 worth of work to be done!! my power steering pump was shot, the electrical needed to be replaced in that window, and the loud, obnoxious noise i was hearing while turning was the differential, gone, shot! my vehicle only has 40,000 miles on it!! i used to have all the faith in buicks; my father used to trust them 100%, as i did, but now? i'm thinking they should stick to just cars! my buick century rocked! i loved it, but these awd suv's seem to be over their heads!

Reported in: DULUTH MN || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

tl*the contact 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that while driving 55 mph the vehicle began to overheat. the contact drove onto the emergency lane in order for the vehicle cool down. the contact towed the vehicle to a local mechanic who determined that the head gasket broke which allowed coolant to enter the gas chamber and cause the engine to overheat. the dealer was notified and advised the contact not to drive the vehicle. the contact stated that this was a known issue and that the manufacturer was aware of it but had not issued a recall. the failure mileage was 85,000.

Reported in: ST. ANTHONY MN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E25S

STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

i recently purchased a 2005 buick rendezvous cxl. as i was exiting the driver side door, the inner door handle gave me a fairly deep paper- like cut. there seems to be a rough edge on the handle that almost looks like the metal coating is peeling or separating and it sliced my middle finger on my left hand. i'm not very impressed and i am wondering how often this is going to happen? i think this should be a definite recall. it is not a life threatening injury, but very concerning considering i have 3 children and it could've been one of them that received the injury instead of me.

Reported in: COVINGTON GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03EX5S

STEERING

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the power steering constantly made a clicking sound whenever the steering wheel was turned. the vehicle was taken to a mechanic who repaired the vehicle for $400 approximately eight months ago. the failure recurred and the vehicle was return to the mechanic who told her that they could grease the parts again but it would not last much longer. she would have to replace the parts again. the dealer nor the manufacturer were contacted. the failure mileage was 53,000 and the current mileage was 55,000.

Reported in: LARGO FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5BA03E95F

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

my 2005 buick rendezvous would periodically stall in turns or at red lights. 1 instance it wouldn't start again and it had to be towed to a buick dealership. they said they fixed the problem with a new battery. after that it would still stall at lights and intersections. i told various mechanics about this problem. they would look into it and never found a problem. i even had my fuel filter changed etc. well, on january 21 2011, i was making a routine left hand turn into work across 2 lanes of traffic when my car stalled... it wouldn't pick up and go. i was then hit hard on the passenger side totaling out my vehicle and resulting in minor injuries on both parties.

Reported in: HARLETON TX || Crash: Y || VIN #:

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezous. the contact stated that while driving at various speeds, she noticed a loud noise. there were no warning lights. the vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic who informed the contact that she needed to replace the front wheel bearings. the vehicle was repaired. the manufacturer was contacted and advised her that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. she then stated that while driving after a stop and trying to shift gears, it was very difficult to do so. the vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. the manufacturer was contacted who advised her to take the vehicle to a certified dealer. the failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

Reported in: NASHVILLE IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03755S

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

my wife was driving down the interstate at 70 mile per hour when the accelerator pedal jammed itself down speeding up the car. when she noticed that this had happened she hit the brakes and nothing happened. the brakes seemed as though they were not working. not knowing what else to try she then attempted to engage the emergency brake. it did not engage, it kept going down then just coming right back up. still not knowing what to do she shifted down to low gears slowing her down. still out of control she hit a ditch which shut down the engine finally bringing the car to a stop. i just thought that this should be brought to the attention of someone. she luckily was not injured but could have been though.

Reported in: SCOTT CITY MO || Crash: Y || VIN #: 3G5DA03EX5S

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

i own a 2005 buick rendezvous that is having safety issues concerning the awd brake system. four times over the last 5 years the awd and anti-lock brake system have stopped working. the latest time was today 3/8/11 when the brake system failed again and the i was barely able to stop the car before it entered a busy highway. after researching the internet it seems that numerous other people have encountered the same issues. i have had the problem repaired three other times. the wheel speed sensor and the hub have been replaced and the wiring harness repaired.

Reported in: BAY ST LOUIS MS || Crash: N || VIN #:

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

i own a 2005 buick rendezvous that is having safety issues concerning the awd brake system. four times over the last 5 years the awd and anti-lock brake system have stopped working. the latest time was today 3/8/11 when the brake system failed again and the i was barely able to stop the car before it entered a busy highway. after researching the internet it seems that numerous other people have encountered the same issues. i have had the problem repaired three other times. the wheel speed sensor and the hub have been replaced and the wiring harness repaired.

Reported in: BAY ST LOUIS MS || Crash: N || VIN #:

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

tl*the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that the headlights fogged up when the temperature dropped. the dealer was contacted but was unable to duplicate the problem and stated that it was normal. the manufacturer was contacted but did not offer any assistance. the vehicle was not repaired. the failure mileage was 20, 000 and the current mileage was 28,500.

Reported in: SAN JUAN PR || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03EX5S

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

about 6 weeks ago the brakes started making a sound and slipping down to the floor when applied. the service traction system just came on.,

Reported in: MELBOURNE FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 1LNLM81W8TY

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

anti lock brakes kicking in for several months for no reason, then anti lock light and awd disabled light came on. it is happening more frequently. after several hours of research and reading hundreds of complaints, hundreds of people are having the same exact problem. im in fear my brakes will go out like another rendezvous owner i have read about.

Reported in: NORTH CANTON OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03EX4S

STEERING

every time i turn it sounds like the power steering is going to go out. the steering is fine but the noise is very loud. alot of research indicated that several other people have the same problem along with the anti lock brakes as i do.

Reported in: NORTH CANTON OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03EX4S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

the speedometer stopped working properly and reads seriously erroneous speeds, both higher and lower than true speeds, which i checked with a gps unit. apparently this is due to defective stepper motors in the instrument cluster from what i read on the internet. gm needs to recall and fix these. the defect can cause drivers to travel at unsafe speeds, as they are misled by the speedometer reading.

Reported in: CAMP NELSON CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E05S

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

i purchased a new 2005 buick rendezvous cxl and have had to replace the front left bearing and hub assembly in july 2008, then in april 2009 the right front control arm bushing separated and the dealer replaced the hub assembly again, then in sept.2010 the bushings and front control arm on the front left side needed to be replaced again. i also had to have the throttle body replaced because of acceleration problems. so far no one has been hurt or any accidents, but how long and how many bearings and bushings and assemblies do i need to replace before a recall is issued? *kb

Reported in: LOCKPORT NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E95S

SUSPENSION:FRONT

i purchased a new 2005 buick rendezvous cxl and have had to replace the front left bearing and hub assembly in july 2008, then in april 2009 the right front control arm bushing separated and the dealer replaced the hub assembly again, then in sept.2010 the bushings and front control arm on the front left side needed to be replaced again. i also had to have the throttle body replaced because of acceleration problems. so far no one has been hurt or any accidents, but how long and how many bearings and bushings and assemblies do i need to replace before a recall is issued? *kb

Reported in: LOCKPORT NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E95S

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. in march 2009, while driving 10 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle suddenly stalled without warning and he was unable to shift into drive. the vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was inspected and diagnosed with a faulty transmission. the dealer replaced the transmission. in july 2011, the contact stated the vehicle was unable to shift beyond second or third gear. the contact was awaiting diagnosis from the dealer. the manufacturer was aware of the failure. the current mileage was 101,000. the approximate failure mileage was 73,000.

Reported in: KENTON OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E35S

STRUCTURE:BODY:HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that the lift gate would not open. the vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor had it been repaired. the manufacturer was contacted and advised him that there was no entry into the vehicle from the lift gate. the failure mileage was approximately 50,000. consumer stated switch falure. updated 09/01/2011 *ln

Reported in: RODCHESTER NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E15S

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated the power locks were supposed to unlock automatically once the vehicle was shifted in park however, the vehicle had to be unlocked manually. the dealer was contacted but provided no assistance. the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. the vehicle was not repaired. the failure mileage was 0 and the current mileage was 21,000.

Reported in: CARSON CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E25S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that the speedometer was inoperable. the dealer repaired the vehicle by replacing the instrument panel assembly. the manufacturer was contacted and promised to call the contact back. the failure mileage was 64,000 and the current mileage was 65,000. updated 11/03/11 *bf

Reported in: BASTROP LA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E55S

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

upon starting the vehicle, raw gas fumes enter the cab in such quantities that make it impossible to drive comfortably or seemingly safely. the fume can be so bad that all windows must be opened and heads held outside of the car to breathe fresh air. my husband driving behind me on the freeway can sometimes also smell the raw gasoline odor. i have taken this vehicle to the dealer twice and they are unable to find anything wrong. i fear for health problems from breathing so many gas fumes as i use the vehicle everyday to drive 40 minutes to work and 40 minutes back home. it is now 01/01/2012 and this problem is still existent with so solution apparent. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u.s.c. 552(b)(6).

Reported in: VAIL AZ || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E25S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

transmission clunks, jumps and shifts at the wrong times and at the wrong speeds. this can be felt and heard as a loud bank and whole vehicle jerk by all passengers. unnerving as well as concern for safety. two trips to the dealer without any solution.

Reported in: VAIL AZ || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E25S

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

transmission clunks, jumps and shifts at the wrong times and at the wrong speeds. this can be felt and heard as a loud bank and whole vehicle jerk by all passengers. unnerving as well as concern for safety. two trips to the dealer without any solution.

Reported in: VAIL AZ || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E25S

POWER TRAIN

transmission clunks, jumps and shifts at the wrong times and at the wrong speeds. this can be felt and heard as a loud bank and whole vehicle jerk by all passengers. unnerving as well as concern for safety. two trips to the dealer without any solution.

Reported in: VAIL AZ || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E25S

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

i took my car to the local gas station about 3 minutes from my house. i went in came back and out and before i was even halfway home my car started to overheat. i hadn't even driven half a mile. the thermostat and the coolant temperature sensor have been replaced and the radiator flushed. there was all sorts of brown gunk in the line but the issue still is not resolved. the heat only works occasionally after this and the car still will run hot and then drop back down to a normal temperature all within 2 minutes. no one is sure of what is going on with it. the cause cannot be found at this point. *kb

Reported in: PINETOPS NC || Crash: N || VIN #:

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER:STORAGE:TANK ASSEMBLY:PRESSURE RELIEF DEVICES

a fuel leak occurred while idling with the gas running back toward and under the driver near the catalytic converter. this could have caused a major fire and loss of life / wife. the buick mechanic found no o ring in the unit. it was not listed as a gm / buick recall and they refused to take responsibility for the cost. an internet check found it to be a nhtsa recall (07e021000.) as an "aftermarket equipment by made by delphi." in calling delphi at 877-411-8770, they denied responsibility and liability to replace it. when questioned the customer service representative noted he gets "5 or 6 call day about this defective part."

Reported in: BRIGHTON CO || Crash: N || VIN #:

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

a fuel leak occurred while idling with the gas running back toward and under the driver near the catalytic converter. this could have caused a major fire and loss of life / wife. the buick mechanic found no o ring in the unit. it was not listed as a gm / buick recall and they refused to take responsibility for the cost. an internet check found it to be a nhtsa recall (07e021000.) as an "aftermarket equipment by made by delphi." in calling delphi at 877-411-8770, they denied responsibility and liability to replace it. when questioned the customer service representative noted he gets "5 or 6 call day about this defective part."

Reported in: BRIGHTON CO || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle overheated. the contact pulled to the side of the road and shut the vehicle off. the contact was able to restart the vehicle and the temperature returned to normal. the contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic where the mechanic replaced the thermostat but the repair did not remedy the issue. the contact took the vehicle back to the local mechanic for a diagnostic test where it was determined that a hole was in the head gasket, which needed to be replaced. the contact did not have the head gasket replaced. the failure mileage was 96,500.

Reported in: CURTICE OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E65S

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated up to 40 mph as soon as the vehicle was shifted into drive. the contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic for a diagnostic test. the mechanic could not diagnose the failure. the vehicle was then taken to a dealer for another diagnostic test. the dealer stated that they could not identify the failure. the failure mileage was 130,000. the vin was not available.

Reported in: NOTTINGHAM PA || Crash: N || VIN #:

POWER TRAIN

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that the vehicle jerked while driving 10 mph and the vehicle would not go up hills. the vehicle would go in the reverse direction. the vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the vehicle was equipped with too much transmission fluid. the contact was advised to replace the transmission. the vehicle was repaired. the manufacturer was contacted and they stated that there was nothing they could do because the vehicle was out of warranty. the failure mileage was 82,000 and the current mileage was 87,000. updated 08/01/12*ln updated 08/02/12

Reported in: ATHENS GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E85S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the speedometer displayed a different reading. the contact noticed the failure because the gps system was displaying the accurate mph. the vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the failure needed to be diagnosed. the manufacturer was not contacted. the vehicle was not repaired. the failure and current mileages were 83,000. updated 08/01/12*lj the consumer stated the speedometer was giving an inaccurate reading. updated 08/01/12

Reported in: ATHENS GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E85S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the speedometer displayed a different reading. the contact noticed the failure because the gps system was displaying the accurate mph. the vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the failure needed to be diagnosed. the manufacturer was not contacted. the vehicle was not repaired. the failure and current mileages were 83,000. updated 08/01/12*lj the consumer stated the speedometer was giving an inaccurate reading. updated 08/01/12

Reported in: ATHENS GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E85S

PARKING BRAKE

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. while the vehicle was in drive the contact attempted to shift to park but the vehicle would not respond. the contact shut the vehicle off and tried to restart it but it would not restart. the vehicle was towed to a transmission shop. the technician stated that the torque converter, the internal switch, the shift linkage rod and the internal parking rod would have to be replaced. the vehicle was repaired. the approximate failure mileage was 95,000. ..updated 09/04/12 *bf updated 09/07/2012 *js

Reported in: ORLANDO FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03735S

POWER TRAIN

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. while the vehicle was in drive the contact attempted to shift to park but the vehicle would not respond. the contact shut the vehicle off and tried to restart it but it would not restart. the vehicle was towed to a transmission shop. the technician stated that the torque converter, the internal switch, the shift linkage rod and the internal parking rod would have to be replaced. the vehicle was repaired. the approximate failure mileage was 95,000. ..updated 09/04/12 *bf updated 09/07/2012 *js

Reported in: ORLANDO FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03735S

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION:TORQUE CONVERTER

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. while the vehicle was in drive the contact attempted to shift to park but the vehicle would not respond. the contact shut the vehicle off and tried to restart it but it would not restart. the vehicle was towed to a transmission shop. the technician stated that the torque converter, the internal switch, the shift linkage rod and the internal parking rod would have to be replaced. the vehicle was repaired. the approximate failure mileage was 95,000. ..updated 09/04/12 *bf updated 09/07/2012 *js

Reported in: ORLANDO FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03735S

POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION:LEVER AND LINKAGE:FLOOR SHIFT

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. while the vehicle was in drive the contact attempted to shift to park but the vehicle would not respond. the contact shut the vehicle off and tried to restart it but it would not restart. the vehicle was towed to a transmission shop. the technician stated that the torque converter, the internal switch, the shift linkage rod and the internal parking rod would have to be replaced. the vehicle was repaired. the approximate failure mileage was 95,000. ..updated 09/04/12 *bf updated 09/07/2012 *js

Reported in: ORLANDO FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03735S

STEERING

a total and sudden loss of steering occurred as i left the curb and started into the street. although it felt like i had power steering, i had absolutely no control of the front wheels and therefore the car was totally out of control except for the brakes. the car was taken to the buick dealer. the service department described the failure sequence as follows: first the bracket holding the steering rack on the r/h side broke loose then the mounting bolt on the left side of the rack fell out. i found the bolt in the street and gave it to the service manager. after the bolt holding the left side fell out, there was nothing holding the steering rack in place so there was no possibility of controlling the car. the dealer replaced the rack two or three times during the next week thinking that the replacement racks was defective. however there was still a problem in the power steering. it seemed to bind up when making a turn, only sometimes. finally, the dealer replaced the steering shaft saying that a u-joint in the steering shaft was broken or badly damaged. now it appears that the problem has been solved. i have a photograph showing the rack with the broken mount. it appears that the weld that holds the mounting bracket to the rack, broke loose. my wife is the original owner of the car. the car has never been in an accident. the car has never been used for any type of off-road use. the car has only been driven on city streets and public highways by drivers that are more than 60 years old. the car (and wheels) show no sign of damage. the dealer said there was no recall on this model car and that he had never seen such a failure. because the car is out of warranty, the manufacturer assumes no responsibility for the failures. however, although i did pay to have the steering rack replaced, they did not charge additional for the steering column.

Reported in: SANTA ANA CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E15S

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

over the past year i have been contacting buick and delphi about the recall on the fuel system in my 2005 buick rendezvous. i recently slightly passed out and crashed in the car due to being overcome by the intensive raw gas fumes. i recently contacted both again and i was told that there is a recall on certain vehicles but my vehicles vin # is not one identified in the recall. i checked to see if my previous complaint was on file and it was no where to be found. i am making this complaint so before hand so that anyone else with this issue can take it serious and take action right away before they start displaying health related issues like me and my family.

Reported in: PISCATAWAY NJ || Crash: Y || VIN #: 3G5DA03E25S

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER:STORAGE:TANK ASSEMBLY:PRESSURE RELIEF DEVICES

over the past year i have been contacting buick and delphi about the recall on the fuel system in my 2005 buick rendezvous. i recently slightly passed out and crashed in the car due to being overcome by the intensive raw gas fumes. i recently contacted both again and i was told that there is a recall on certain vehicles but my vehicles vin # is not one identified in the recall. i checked to see if my previous complaint was on file and it was no where to be found. i am making this complaint so before hand so that anyone else with this issue can take it serious and take action right away before they start displaying health related issues like me and my family.

Reported in: PISCATAWAY NJ || Crash: Y || VIN #: 3G5DA03E25S

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

stepper motors in the instrument cluster failing. one gauge goes bad they all do. cannot determine how much gas i have or how fast i am going cause all needles point down or stop at 70. i can be at a red light , completely stopped and it says i am going 110 mph. i have a 4 year old, a 5 year old, and a 5 month old in the back of the car. its pretty scary for them as well. i have seen this is a common problem with gm made cars from 2000-2005. wouldn't you think they would fix this by now? not happy with this car at all.

Reported in: WARREN OH || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

stepper motors in the instrument cluster failing. one gauge goes bad they all do. cannot determine how much gas i have or how fast i am going cause all needles point down or stop at 70. i can be at a red light , completely stopped and it says i am going 110 mph. i have a 4 year old, a 5 year old, and a 5 month old in the back of the car. its pretty scary for them as well. i have seen this is a common problem with gm made cars from 2000-2005. wouldn't you think they would fix this by now? not happy with this car at all.

Reported in: WARREN OH || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the engine stalled as the check engine light illuminated. the vehicle was taken to the dealer on numerous occasions but they could not determine the cause of the stalling failure. the vehicle was not repaired. the manufacturer was notified of the failure. the failure mileage was 150,000.

Reported in: ESTILL SPRINGS TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E75S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i was driving down eastern and stewart in las vegas nv when the car stalled and would not start again while trying to coast into a 7-11 parking lot hit a wall and car rear ended me . i replaced the fuel pump, ecv and the vehicle worked fine there was gas leaking from the ecv now i cant get the car to start at all i believe it has to do with the electronic ignition system.

Reported in: LAS VEGAS NV || Crash: Y || VIN #:

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

raw gasoline fumes upon starting the car . fumes enter the cabin so strong the windows have to be rolled down . no apparent leak. no fuel on garage floor. this begin in =feb 2013 and continues off and on. some times it feels like it would explode if a ignition source was there. a definite health hazard and gm dealer has not been able to identify the source of the fumes. i see other reports of this problem on the internet. dealer says no recall and no safety bulletins. 2004 had a recall but not 2005, it is not safe to drive unless problem is found.

Reported in: COLUMBUS NE || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E95S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i started driving my car and a few blocks away my locks started to lock and unlock constantly and they would not stop. my seat moved on its own (has electric memory seating). the car started to shake like it was going to die. as soon as i came to a stop the car started to shake and would not accelerate. an "error" messages displayed under the non working speedometer where your miles usually show". came to another stop and tried to turn onto a street and the car would not accelerate and kept "jumping" all the while the locks were still locking and unlocking and my running daytime headlights kept flickering on and off. i'm lucky that the car didn't just quit with oncoming traffic. from what i read, it's the bcm and this causes major problems regarding the safety of the vehicle. buick is aware and will not make a recall on this defective part. (a part that is supposed to last for the lifetime of the vehicle).. a part that has caused some drivers to lose power and headlights while traveling down highways! i'm taking my car into buick tomorrow for a diagnostic (which i can't afford more problems with a car that cost $40k in 2005 and only has 81k miles on it!!) when they say luxury vehicle. i think buick meant "luxury expense" just to own one! electrical issues shouldn't almost cause an accident or injury!

Reported in: CRYSTAL LAKE IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03735S

SEATS

i started driving my car and a few blocks away my locks started to lock and unlock constantly and they would not stop. my seat moved on its own (has electric memory seating). the car started to shake like it was going to die. as soon as i came to a stop the car started to shake and would not accelerate. an "error" messages displayed under the non working speedometer where your miles usually show". came to another stop and tried to turn onto a street and the car would not accelerate and kept "jumping" all the while the locks were still locking and unlocking and my running daytime headlights kept flickering on and off. i'm lucky that the car didn't just quit with oncoming traffic. from what i read, it's the bcm and this causes major problems regarding the safety of the vehicle. buick is aware and will not make a recall on this defective part. (a part that is supposed to last for the lifetime of the vehicle).. a part that has caused some drivers to lose power and headlights while traveling down highways! i'm taking my car into buick tomorrow for a diagnostic (which i can't afford more problems with a car that cost $40k in 2005 and only has 81k miles on it!!) when they say luxury vehicle. i think buick meant "luxury expense" just to own one! electrical issues shouldn't almost cause an accident or injury!

Reported in: CRYSTAL LAKE IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03735S

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

update: prior issues were due to bcm failure which that was my assumption based on numerous owner reviews. this part is a major safety issue if fails and buick is aware and won't recall. these should last for the life of the vehicle. occasionally one will go bad but shouldn't. the fact that many rendezvous models face this issue of failure prematurely shows that it is a defective product! many have almost dies due to this failure. car shutting off and lights going out while driving down highways/ expressways.

Reported in: CRYSTAL LAKE IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03735S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

update: prior issues were due to bcm failure which that was my assumption based on numerous owner reviews. this part is a major safety issue if fails and buick is aware and won't recall. these should last for the life of the vehicle. occasionally one will go bad but shouldn't. the fact that many rendezvous models face this issue of failure prematurely shows that it is a defective product! many have almost dies due to this failure. car shutting off and lights going out while driving down highways/ expressways.

Reported in: CRYSTAL LAKE IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03735S

ENGINE

update: prior issues were due to bcm failure which that was my assumption based on numerous owner reviews. this part is a major safety issue if fails and buick is aware and won't recall. these should last for the life of the vehicle. occasionally one will go bad but shouldn't. the fact that many rendezvous models face this issue of failure prematurely shows that it is a defective product! many have almost dies due to this failure. car shutting off and lights going out while driving down highways/ expressways.

Reported in: CRYSTAL LAKE IL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03735S

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that the speedometer failed. the failure was recurring. the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. the vin was not available. the manufacturer was not notified of the defect. the failure mileage was 76,000.

Reported in: FOX LAKE IL || Crash: N || VIN #:

STEERING

the buick was my previous vehicle and it would just stall while i was driving. it only happened a few times, but was almost the result of an accident two times. i did have it looked at and the dealership tested it several times, but never found a cause. i don't know if you need to know this information, but i thought i would share in light what has been going on and i was surprised the rendezvous wasn't listed as one of the vehicles with a problem. i know the dealership information, but i'm not sure how long they keep their records. the date i entered above is inaccurate. feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Reported in: SARATOGA SPRINGS NY || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE

when turning into my driveway the engine shuts off losing all steering. this has happened several times in the past (since 2009) usually when turning right from a stop sign or turning right into my driveway.

Reported in: BETHPAGE TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E75S

STEERING

when turning into my driveway the engine shuts off losing all steering. this has happened several times in the past (since 2009) usually when turning right from a stop sign or turning right into my driveway.

Reported in: BETHPAGE TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E75S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

when turning into my driveway the engine shuts off losing all steering. this has happened several times in the past (since 2009) usually when turning right from a stop sign or turning right into my driveway.

Reported in: BETHPAGE TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E75S

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

we have had numerous issues with the 2005 buick rendezvous. the biggest issue is the fuel loss. the car is leaking fuel. peoria kia stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle and since we purchased it used it was as is. this is very dangerous and we need to get the fuel and electrical system fixed..we have two children and it is not safe for us. i am glad that i found this recall information but i need help getting the fuel and electrical system fixed.

Reported in: KENNESAW GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E95S

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

i was driving the car came to a complete stop at the right light, light turned green took my foot off the brake push the gas pedal, car completely cut off, could not get it to crank, service engine light came on, i had to get the car towed, took it to the dealership, i have a 50% warranty on the engine, powertrain, and transmission. then crankshaft position sensor need to be replace and the tranmission needed to be replaced. i only had this car for one week, when it started doing this, the car is still cutting off and in the middle of driving i have a young son, this issue is very serious doesn't matter where i am whiling driving the car just cuts off. please help with this.

Reported in: CHARLOTTE NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA037X5S

POWER TRAIN

i was driving the car came to a complete stop at the right light, light turned green took my foot off the brake push the gas pedal, car completely cut off, could not get it to crank, service engine light came on, i had to get the car towed, took it to the dealership, i have a 50% warranty on the engine, powertrain, and transmission. then crankshaft position sensor need to be replace and the tranmission needed to be replaced. i only had this car for one week, when it started doing this, the car is still cutting off and in the middle of driving i have a young son, this issue is very serious doesn't matter where i am whiling driving the car just cuts off. please help with this.

Reported in: CHARLOTTE NC || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA037X5S

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated while driving approximately 75 mph, there was a sudden loss of engine power as the electronic throttle control warning lamp illuminated. the vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be diagnosed. the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. the failure mileage was 97,000. the vin was not available. the current mileage was approximately 102,000.

Reported in: SUN CITY FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated while driving approximately 75 mph, there was a sudden loss of engine power as the electronic throttle control warning lamp illuminated. the vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be diagnosed. the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. the failure mileage was 97,000. the vin was not available. the current mileage was approximately 102,000.

Reported in: SUN CITY FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

tl-the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated while driving up an incline at various speeds the fuel gauge reading fluctuated. the failure only occurred when driving up or down an incline. the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the fuel gauge was replaced; however, the failure persisted. the technician stated that a baffle would need to be installed inside of the fuel tank or the fuel tank would require replacement. the vehicle was not repaired. the manufacturer was not notified of the defect. the approximate failure mileage was 34,000. rk

Reported in: JOHNSTOWN PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E75S

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that when driving various speeds, the vehicle would decelerate independently. the vehicle was taken to the dealer, who replaced the brake caliper, all wheel drive sensor and the brake pads. the failure progressively worsened and the vehicle eventually failed to accelerate intermittently. the contact took the vehicle to the dealer however, the failure was unable to be diagnosed. the vehicle was not repaired. the failure mileage was 124,453. kmj

Reported in: CAVE CITY AR || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E45S

SERVICE BRAKES

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. the contact stated that when driving various speeds, the vehicle would decelerate independently. the vehicle was taken to the dealer, who replaced the brake caliper, all wheel drive sensor and the brake pads. the failure progressively worsened and the vehicle eventually failed to accelerate intermittently. the contact took the vehicle to the dealer however, the failure was unable to be diagnosed. the vehicle was not repaired. the failure mileage was 124,453. kmj

Reported in: CAVE CITY AR || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E45S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

started vehicle and began out of driveway, security light came on, gas gauge, tach gauge, temperature gauge and odometer stopped working, car will start but not running right, i parked the car due to safety. this exact problem was recalled by gm on the 2004 model but not 2005 model, needs to be recalled

Reported in: ROCHESTER NH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03775S

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

while traveling from utah to iowa on interstate 80 with the cruise control set at roadway speed. after some time the speedometer kept climbing while the speed of the vehicle decreased. after stopping at a rest area the speedometer never moved. it was just stuck at approximately 112 mph. luckily we were given a gps with speedometer built in as a gift. leaving the rest stop, we continued our journey, and by the time we made it to iowa the speedometer gauge was facing straight down whether we were stopped or driving road speeds. we did not take it to a dealership immediately because we have three small children and after sitting in the car that long, we could not justify sitting at a dealership for hours on end. around five days after arriving in iowa, the speedometer started working again. this greatly confused me, because when something breaks on a vehicle, it tends to stay broken. on our travels back to utah the samething happened to the speedometer, so as soon as we arrived in utah, i dropped my spouse and children off at home, and took it to the dealership. i explained the problem and my situation and they came to the conclusion of a loose or broken connection deep behind the dash. here is the "kicker", according to them there was no recall for this said problem and that it would cost $600 to fix. as i am not the original owner of the vehicle it was purchased as is from a dealership in iowa. i unfortunately do not have $600 to spend to repair the vehicle. we now have 86,365 miles on a vehicle that the speedometer no longer works. i cannot see how it is not a safety recall, but i am not in big business. so i feel i am taking the appropriate steps to fix the problem for not only myself, but all the others' comments that i have read.

Reported in: HILL AFB UT || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E45S

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

while traveling from utah to iowa on interstate 80 with the cruise control set at roadway speed. after some time the speedometer kept climbing while the speed of the vehicle decreased. after stopping at a rest area the speedometer never moved. it was just stuck at approximately 112 mph. luckily we were given a gps with speedometer built in as a gift. leaving the rest stop, we continued our journey, and by the time we made it to iowa the speedometer gauge was facing straight down whether we were stopped or driving road speeds. we did not take it to a dealership immediately because we have three small children and after sitting in the car that long, we could not justify sitting at a dealership for hours on end. around five days after arriving in iowa, the speedometer started working again. this greatly confused me, because when something breaks on a vehicle, it tends to stay broken. on our travels back to utah the samething happened to the speedometer, so as soon as we arrived in utah, i dropped my spouse and children off at home, and took it to the dealership. i explained the problem and my situation and they came to the conclusion of a loose or broken connection deep behind the dash. here is the "kicker", according to them there was no recall for this said problem and that it would cost $600 to fix. as i am not the original owner of the vehicle it was purchased as is from a dealership in iowa. i unfortunately do not have $600 to spend to repair the vehicle. we now have 86,365 miles on a vehicle that the speedometer no longer works. i cannot see how it is not a safety recall, but i am not in big business. so i feel i am taking the appropriate steps to fix the problem for not only myself, but all the others' comments that i have read.

Reported in: HILL AFB UT || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E45S

STEERING

when i would start my car in the morning, i would get a overwhelming gas smell in my to point of me thinking gas was leaking underneath my and i would get out and check and nothing. i took it to a mechanic and asked him if the car was leaking gas and he said no. i'm constantly adding power steering fluid to my vehicle at least twice a month . and recently my speedometer needle has started sticking and sometimes not working at all. ironically my gas needle is always fluctuating throughout my car trips. i'm so nervous when i drive because i think i'm about to run out of gas even though i may have recently added gas to the car. this may sound simple but the gas fumes are making me sick and my two kids especially since all of us suffer from asthma. please provide a resolution or fix for these unhealthy incidents.

Reported in: ATLANTA GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E75S

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

when i would start my car in the morning, i would get a overwhelming gas smell in my to point of me thinking gas was leaking underneath my and i would get out and check and nothing. i took it to a mechanic and asked him if the car was leaking gas and he said no. i'm constantly adding power steering fluid to my vehicle at least twice a month . and recently my speedometer needle has started sticking and sometimes not working at all. ironically my gas needle is always fluctuating throughout my car trips. i'm so nervous when i drive because i think i'm about to run out of gas even though i may have recently added gas to the car. this may sound simple but the gas fumes are making me sick and my two kids especially since all of us suffer from asthma. please provide a resolution or fix for these unhealthy incidents.

Reported in: ATLANTA GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E75S

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

when i would start my car in the morning, i would get a overwhelming gas smell in my to point of me thinking gas was leaking underneath my and i would get out and check and nothing. i took it to a mechanic and asked him if the car was leaking gas and he said no. i'm constantly adding power steering fluid to my vehicle at least twice a month . and recently my speedometer needle has started sticking and sometimes not working at all. ironically my gas needle is always fluctuating throughout my car trips. i'm so nervous when i drive because i think i'm about to run out of gas even though i may have recently added gas to the car. this may sound simple but the gas fumes are making me sick and my two kids especially since all of us suffer from asthma. please provide a resolution or fix for these unhealthy incidents.

Reported in: ATLANTA GA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DA03E75S

STEERING

we have been plagued with a steering wheel column problem for over 18 months. this problem started at 50,000 miles. it made a loud squealing noise when the steering wheel was turned and over the numerous visits to various gmc dealers, we were repeatedly told there was nothing wrong and it was safe to drive. after contacting gmc itself, they sent us to a dealer who at first again said there was nothing wrong. then two hours after being challenged they retested and ┬┐┐discovered┬┐Ł what they described as wear and tear. we were charged $1,250 and given a 1 year warranty. they denied this was a recalled component. i still do not trust the results nor this car, but i cannot afford getting another car.

Reported in: NORTHWOOD OH || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03755S

STEERING

letter from senator nelson on behalf of constituent re 2005 buick rendezvous defects. *smd the consumer stated a bolt in the steering broke. after she paid to have it fixed, a recall was issued six months later. *jb

Reported in: ORLANDO FL || Crash: N || VIN #:

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

tl* the contact owns a 2005 buick rendezvous. while driving approximately 50 mph, the contact smelled fuel inside the vehicle. it was discovered that fuel was leaking beneath the vehicle on the driver side. the dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. the vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. the approximate failure mileage was 250,000.

Reported in: AURORA MO || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DB03E15S

SERVICE BRAKES

i was coming to a stop to make a turn and my brake pedal fought back at me and i had to put all my strength to get the car to stop. i finally got it to stop but i'm worried one day it will not stop and i'll get into a wreck. i don't know if this has to do with the brake system or something more severe.

Reported in: EVANSVILLE IN || Crash: N || VIN #: 3G5DBO3EX5S

ENGINE

the car stopped automatically at a stop light on a major hwy. i thought quickly and put it in neutral thank you jesus it started. i could have been rear ended. that is a major problem it does it periodically. i never know when its going to do it... i have replaced the wheel hub assembly on the rear 5 times and 2 on the front.. my gas gauge goes crazy or doesnt work at all. my speedometer has quit working and the other gauges work when they feel like it. it seems. i have had people check the vehicle out no one seems to know exactly what is wrong they say the cluster is out because of the gauges i dont have 900.00 to fix it. i am always putting wheel hub assembly on it. that gets very expensive..

Reported in: HARTVILLE MO || Crash: N || VIN #:

WHEELS

the car stopped automatically at a stop light on a major hwy. i thought quickly and put it in neutral thank you jesus it started. i could have been rear ended. that is a major problem it does it periodically. i never know when its going to do it... i have replaced the wheel hub assembly on the rear 5 times and 2 on the front.. my gas gauge goes crazy or doesnt work at all. my speedometer has quit working and the other gauges work when they feel like it. it seems. i have had people check the vehicle out no one seems to know exactly what is wrong they say the cluster is out because of the gauges i dont have 900.00 to fix it. i am always putting wheel hub assembly on it. that gets very expensive..

Reported in: HARTVILLE MO || Crash: N || VIN #:

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

the car stopped automatically at a stop light on a major hwy. i thought quickly and put it in neutral thank you jesus it started. i could have been rear ended. that is a major problem it does it periodically. i never know when its going to do it... i have replaced the wheel hub assembly on the rear 5 times and 2 on the front.. my gas gauge goes crazy or doesnt work at all. my speedometer has quit working and the other gauges work when they feel like it. it seems. i have had people check the vehicle out no one seems to know exactly what is wrong they say the cluster is out because of the gauges i dont have 900.00 to fix it. i am always putting wheel hub assembly on it. that gets very expensive..

Reported in: HARTVILLE MO || Crash: N || VIN #:

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

i was driving and my headlights flickered then i lost low beams .. parked and went back out to go to the store and i had no lights low beams wouldn't work fog light stop working and high beams stopped working look in fuse box to see if a fuse blew and 6 fuses blew and shot sparks out of the fuse box under the hood.

Reported in: INDEPENDENCE WV || Crash: N || VIN #:

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

i was driving and my headlights flickered then i lost low beams .. parked and went back out to go to the store and i had no lights low beams wouldn't work fog light stop working and high beams stopped working look in fuse box to see if a fuse blew and 6 fuses blew and shot sparks out of the fuse box under the hood.

Reported in: INDEPENDENCE WV || Crash: N || VIN #: