chevrolet silverado Problems

chevrolet silverado 2009 Complaints

VISIBILITY

tl*the contact owns a 2009 chevrolet silverado. the contact stated that the sun visors do not block the sun adequately. he feels that this is a safety hazard because visibility is poor at sunset. the current mileage was 2,006 and the failure mileage was unknown.

Reported in: POWELL WY || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCHK63699F

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

on march 10, 2009 we purchased a brand new 2009 chevrolet silverado from nu car chevrolet in new castle, delaware. on september 25, 2009, while on vacation in ocean city, md, the vehicle caught on fire with us and our two young children (ages 2 and 5) inside, strapped in their car seats. we were able to pull them from their car seats (terrified) and get a fire extinguisher from the restaurant were we were parked to extinguish the fire. we had the vehicle towed back to nu car chevrolet on september 26, 2009 and it has remained with them ever since. the dealership and general motors determined the cause to be a defective wiring harness and has admitted fault (there was no after market wiring in the vehicle and no previous accidents). as of today, february 5, they have been unable to repair the issue and are now going back and forth with us trying to get us to pay more money for a new vehicle since they can't find a 2009 replacement model. we are refusing to pay any additional money and stated that we will accept a replacement vehicle with same features at no cost or we want a full refund of our vehicle purchase.

Reported in: WILMINGTON DE || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEC230X9G

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

engine just shuts down. no power. have to pull over and wait 5 minutes or so and then it will restart. no pattern. has happened traveling on hwy.

Reported in: FOLSOM LA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEC13C09G

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

engine just shuts down. no power. have to pull over and wait 5 minutes or so and then it will restart. no pattern. has happened traveling on hwy.

Reported in: FOLSOM LA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEC13C09G

AIR BAGS

tl* the contact owns a 2009 chevrolet silverado. the contact stated that while traveling approximately 35 mph and approaching an intersection, the vehicle abnormally veered off the road. the vehicle proceed to travel off the roadway and went airborne over and embankment before crashing into a ditch. the air bags did not deploy upon impact and the contact sustained moderate to sever injuries. the contact was transported to the hospital via ambulance and a police report was filed accordingly. the vehicle was towed to a chevrolet dealer for repairs. the failure was 13,800 updated 7/16/10 *cn updated 08/18/10

Reported in: MISSOURI VALLEY IA || Crash: Y || VIN #: 3GCEK23319G

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:ROTOR

2009 chevrolet silverado. consumer states problem with vehicle rotor *tgw three weeks after the vehicle was purchased, the vehicle had to be serviced for a front rotor problem. since then, the rotors have been turned and replaced. on august 24, 2010 they were turned again. *jb

Reported in: THOMAS WV || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEK29089Z

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

while driving 60mph on a highway, the truck suddenly lurched and two warnings came on the dash; service stabilitrac and service traction control. the truck also operated under reduced power and i had no control over the accelerator. going up hills was an adventure. this is a serious safety hazard for this to happen while driving at anytime anywhere. did extensive research online, and found this is a common problem with gm stabilitrac. brought truck to dealer for repair and they said this is the first one they had seen with this condition. truck had 37,400 miles. dealer replaced throttle control body for free under the powertrain warranty. truck currently runs fine, but the truck does not idle as well as it used to, slight vibration and stutter, dealer said gm said this is common and not a problem, it is set electronically and cannot be adjusted. do we really need all this electronic crap?

Reported in: EAST SANDWICH MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2GCEK23CX91

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

while driving 60mph on a highway, the truck suddenly lurched and two warnings came on the dash; service stabilitrac and service traction control. the truck also operated under reduced power and i had no control over the accelerator. going up hills was an adventure. this is a serious safety hazard for this to happen while driving at anytime anywhere. did extensive research online, and found this is a common problem with gm stabilitrac. brought truck to dealer for repair and they said this is the first one they had seen with this condition. truck had 37,400 miles. dealer replaced throttle control body for free under the powertrain warranty. truck currently runs fine, but the truck does not idle as well as it used to, slight vibration and stutter, dealer said gm said this is common and not a problem, it is set electronically and cannot be adjusted. do we really need all this electronic crap?

Reported in: EAST SANDWICH MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2GCEK23CX91

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

we could hear the truck making a grinding noise as we slowed for a stop sign. when we looked, the whole brake pad was missing from the drivers side rear brakes. this caused extensive damage to the rotor. we have since replaced the rear brake pads several times but the front brakes have not been replaced a single time.

Reported in: TYLER TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GBJK73629F

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

tl* the contact owns a 2009 chevrolet silverado. the contact stated while driving the cruise control would not disengage. the contact depressed the brake pedal but it failed to stop the vehicle. in order to stop the vehicle he had to shift into neutral gear and turn the vehicle off. the vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. the vehicle was not repaired. the failure and current mileage was 32,500.

Reported in: LINO LAKES MN || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEK29039Z

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

at 46,487 miles had to spend $415.75 to correct engine light coming on. now door chime comes on at random times when key is not in ignition. *kb

Reported in: FRANKLIN TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEC14X99Z

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

at 46,487 miles had to spend $415.75 to correct engine light coming on. now door chime comes on at random times when key is not in ignition. *kb

Reported in: FRANKLIN TN || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEC14X99Z

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

this has been on going from day one my truck has 30900 miles on it and almost 3 years old head lights flicker or dim out for no reason along with the dash lights dealer said it was nothing they could do it was just that type of voltage regulator.

Reported in: WEST MONROE LA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEC14X99Z

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

this has been on going from day one my truck has 30900 miles on it and almost 3 years old head lights flicker or dim out for no reason along with the dash lights dealer said it was nothing they could do it was just that type of voltage regulator.

Reported in: WEST MONROE LA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEC14X99Z

AIR BAGS

tl* the contact owns a 2009 chevrolet silverado. the contact stated that while driving 55 mph, he fell asleep and lost control of the vehicle. the vehicle crashed into a cement wall and the front driver┐s air bag did not deploy. the contact suffered head injuries during the crash. the vehicle was repaired. the manufacturer investigated the failure and concluded that the air bag performed as designed. the failure mileage was 46,000 and the current mileage was 55,000.

Reported in: HERMITAGE TN || Crash: Y || VIN #: 1GCEK29069Z

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

excessive oil consumption at or above 1 quart of oil per 1,000 miles. all plugs fouled out at 39,000 miles and one plug cracked. i change oil every 3,500 miles and regularly top off oil. there is no leaking oil but it is somehow vaporizing rapidly. there was no reason for the vehicle to fail like this at this stage in its life. chevy has come to state in a bulletin concerning a tweak to the valve covers to keep the oil from vaporizing. chevy has even more recently come out with a recall as of 1/17/2012 to announce there is a legitimate issue with the oil consumption on this model chevy. this is unacceptable and gm should pay for any current damage to the truck, worn parts and all.

Reported in: CAVE CREEK AZ || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEK23MX9G

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

tl* the contact owns a 2009 chevrolet silverado. the contact stated that the vehicle would not start. the vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who advised that they needed to replace the wiring harness. the vehicle was not repaired. the manufacturer was contacted and stated that someone would returned his call later. the failure and the current mileage was 56,000.

Reported in: FRANKLIN MA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEK29J49Z

TIRES

tl* the contact owns 2009 chevrolet silverado equipped with goodyear wrangler tires, line size (235/80/r17) dot pjab35hv4109. the contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph the rear driver side tire blew out. the contact stopped the vehicle on the shoulder of the road. the tire was replaced. the contact inspected the other tires and noticed bubbles on the front and rear passenger side tires. the contact had all four tires replaced. the manufacturer was made aware of the failure stated the tires would be inspected by an engineer. the approximate failure mileage was 27,000...updated 10/22/12 *bf the consumer inspected the rear tires and discovered the inside dual had failed. three of the six tires on the ambulance proved to be defective with air bulges on them. updated 10/22/12

Reported in: RUIDOSO NM || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GBJK84679E

STRUCTURE:BODY

you cannot open the doors with the handle from inside the truck if doors are locked. pulling on handle will not unlock the door. i feel this is a major safety issue as you would not be able to until you use the unlock button. if you are in a crash your instinct would be the use the handle not to unlock it first.

Reported in: NEW LONDON NH || Crash: N || VIN #:

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

tl* the contact owns a 2009 chevrolet silverado. the contact stated that while driving 75 mph, the engine stalled and the rear differential seized, causing the vehicle skid. the contact was able to restart the vehicle and called road side assistance. the representative that was sent by the roadside assistance service advised the contact that the throttle control system malfunctioned and advised that the vehicle was not safe to drive. the contact was able to drive the vehicle to his home without further incident. the contact took the vehicle to the dealer to replace the throttle control system. the failure mileage was 62,000.

Reported in: WESLEY CHAPEL FL || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEC23J49G

ENGINE

2009 chevy silverado lost traction on highway during slippery road conditions, vehicle spun out and hit a metal roped fence head on and also went across the median and slammed the front end of vehicle into a guard rail stopping it instantly from going into on coming traffic. the vehicles damage was on the front end directly in the center causing a wedge into the radiator, engine and bent the front of the frame. the impact was very loud and solid. the impact caused the truck to stand on the front of vehicle, slamming the back end of the vehicle on the ground with great force. the airbag didn't deploy which at the speed of around 60 mph and the place the vehicle was hit in, makes me very concerned on the safety of this vehicle. my 5 year old son said his right arm was hurting after the accident and with in the hour of having the accident myself ended up in the hospital with a stiff neck and a very soar and bruised back, i was released with minor injuries and i consider myself lucky. please let me know if anything can be done about this situation and the safety of myself and my son.

Reported in: QUINCY IL || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2GCEK290291

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

2009 chevy silverado lost traction on highway during slippery road conditions, vehicle spun out and hit a metal roped fence head on and also went across the median and slammed the front end of vehicle into a guard rail stopping it instantly from going into on coming traffic. the vehicles damage was on the front end directly in the center causing a wedge into the radiator, engine and bent the front of the frame. the impact was very loud and solid. the impact caused the truck to stand on the front of vehicle, slamming the back end of the vehicle on the ground with great force. the airbag didn't deploy which at the speed of around 60 mph and the place the vehicle was hit in, makes me very concerned on the safety of this vehicle. my 5 year old son said his right arm was hurting after the accident and with in the hour of having the accident myself ended up in the hospital with a stiff neck and a very soar and bruised back, i was released with minor injuries and i consider myself lucky. please let me know if anything can be done about this situation and the safety of myself and my son.

Reported in: QUINCY IL || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2GCEK290291

AIR BAGS

2009 chevy silverado lost traction on highway during slippery road conditions, vehicle spun out and hit a metal roped fence head on and also went across the median and slammed the front end of vehicle into a guard rail stopping it instantly from going into on coming traffic. the vehicles damage was on the front end directly in the center causing a wedge into the radiator, engine and bent the front of the frame. the impact was very loud and solid. the impact caused the truck to stand on the front of vehicle, slamming the back end of the vehicle on the ground with great force. the airbag didn't deploy which at the speed of around 60 mph and the place the vehicle was hit in, makes me very concerned on the safety of this vehicle. my 5 year old son said his right arm was hurting after the accident and with in the hour of having the accident myself ended up in the hospital with a stiff neck and a very soar and bruised back, i was released with minor injuries and i consider myself lucky. please let me know if anything can be done about this situation and the safety of myself and my son.

Reported in: QUINCY IL || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2GCEK290291

STRUCTURE:BODY

2009 chevy silverado lost traction on highway during slippery road conditions, vehicle spun out and hit a metal roped fence head on and also went across the median and slammed the front end of vehicle into a guard rail stopping it instantly from going into on coming traffic. the vehicles damage was on the front end directly in the center causing a wedge into the radiator, engine and bent the front of the frame. the impact was very loud and solid. the impact caused the truck to stand on the front of vehicle, slamming the back end of the vehicle on the ground with great force. the airbag didn't deploy which at the speed of around 60 mph and the place the vehicle was hit in, makes me very concerned on the safety of this vehicle. my 5 year old son said his right arm was hurting after the accident and with in the hour of having the accident myself ended up in the hospital with a stiff neck and a very soar and bruised back, i was released with minor injuries and i consider myself lucky. please let me know if anything can be done about this situation and the safety of myself and my son.

Reported in: QUINCY IL || Crash: Y || VIN #: 2GCEK290291

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

while driving along highway i noticed the speedometer needle was on zero. upon farther investigation i found all instrument panel lights were off and directional and hazard flashers would not operate. i stopped, recycled master switch off than on, lights worked properly. event occurred again six days later. ## vin failed ##

Reported in: MIDLOTHIAN TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEC19C4 9

STRUCTURE:BODY

tl* the contact owns a 2009 chevrolet silverado. the contact stated that she had the child lock activated on the rear passenger side door. the contact attempted to open the door from the outside of the vehicle but it failed. the contact had to enter the vehicle from the other side in order to get the child out. the contact also mentioned that she was able to open the door from the inside while the child lock was activated. the vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the child lock needed to be replaced. the vehicle was repaired. the manufacturer was not notified. the failure mileage was 50,000.

Reported in: SHENANDOAH VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEK23359G

WHEELS

the american general 245/70/17 tires on 2009 wore out down to the tires wear bars 2/32 at 16,000miles there was heavy edge wear chuncking pieces of tread . tire were rotated every 5000 and alignment checked. took to local chevy dealer and they found a recall or technical service bulletin from american tire and all four tires were replaced free of charge. however they were replaced with american general grabber h/t which also have to soft of a rubber compound and are wearing out quickly the truck has 26150 miles on it now and the new tires are down to 7/32 with less than 10000 miles on them. start putting bridgestone tires back on the trucks chevrolet.

Reported in: VIRGINIA BEACH VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2GCEC19C191

TIRES

the american general 245/70/17 tires on 2009 wore out down to the tires wear bars 2/32 at 16,000miles there was heavy edge wear chuncking pieces of tread . tire were rotated every 5000 and alignment checked. took to local chevy dealer and they found a recall or technical service bulletin from american tire and all four tires were replaced free of charge. however they were replaced with american general grabber h/t which also have to soft of a rubber compound and are wearing out quickly the truck has 26150 miles on it now and the new tires are down to 7/32 with less than 10000 miles on them. start putting bridgestone tires back on the trucks chevrolet.

Reported in: VIRGINIA BEACH VA || Crash: N || VIN #: 2GCEC19C191

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

tl* the contact owns a 2009 chevrolet silverado. the contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the engine power reduced significantly. the vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection, who stated that the throttle position sensor needed to be replaced. the vehicle was repaired. the manufacturer was notified. the failure mileage was 22,302. ...updated 07-10-13 *bf

Reported in: UTICA NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEK19J29Z

STRUCTURE

cpsc:i13b0038a. 2009 chevrolet silverado. consumer stated the dashboard recently cracked after a recent cold snap of weather. *ln gm offered the consumer a 50% discount, off the $1,000 it would cost to repair it. however, thy would not admit it was a design flaw.

Reported in: INDIANAPOLIS IN || Crash: N || VIN #:

STRUCTURE:BODY

on 6/23/13 my father was making a left turn over a 4 lane street. he was hit by a 2008 nissan rouge going between 37-40mph on the drivers side door. my fathers truck was in motion at 4-6mph. the truck suffered extensive damage, and my dad passed away hours later at the hospital due to internal bleeding of pelvic area. the trucks drive shaft was cut in a half. the truck has a 5 star side crash safety rating, i do not understand how a car that was not even speeding crumpled the truck that badly. the frame of the truck was pushed so far back the gas and brake pedal were one.

Reported in: CORAL SPRINGS FL || Crash: Y || VIN #: IGCEC19X692

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

on 6/23/13 my father was making a left turn over a 4 lane street. he was hit by a 2008 nissan rouge going between 37-40mph on the drivers side door. my fathers truck was in motion at 4-6mph. the truck suffered extensive damage, and my dad passed away hours later at the hospital due to internal bleeding of pelvic area. the trucks drive shaft was cut in a half. the truck has a 5 star side crash safety rating, i do not understand how a car that was not even speeding crumpled the truck that badly. the frame of the truck was pushed so far back the gas and brake pedal were one.

Reported in: CORAL SPRINGS FL || Crash: Y || VIN #: IGCEC19X692

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

after unlocking the manual door lock on the truck the interior door handle would not open the door. the lock was disconnected from the interior locking mechanism, effectively trapping me in my vehicle. at this time i unrolled the window and used the key in the outside door to try to unlock the door, but the lock was jammed and i was unable to leave my vehicle using either the inside or the outside handle or locks or the driver door. i was forced to exit the vehicle from the passenger side door. this is a recurring problem and seems to occur most often after rainfall or a car wash. this is a serious safety concern in the event of a collision, car fire or water crash or other emergency that could potentially be fatal and should be recalled to protect people from being trapped in their vehicles. it is also notable that consumer reports has listed "locks and latches" as a common problem area for a 2009 silverado. i contacted a chevrolet dealership and they refused fully cover the repair cost, which was well over $250 and they stated that the "door lock actuator was defective". the corporate gm phone call center was not helpful and told me it would not be fully covered because my vehicle was just out of bumper to bumper warranty. i believe this should be recalled to protect consumers.

Reported in: NORTH TONAWANDA NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEC14C99Z

STRUCTURE:BODY

after unlocking the manual door lock on the truck the interior door handle would not open the door. the lock was disconnected from the interior locking mechanism, effectively trapping me in my vehicle. at this time i unrolled the window and used the key in the outside door to try to unlock the door, but the lock was jammed and i was unable to leave my vehicle using either the inside or the outside handle or locks or the driver door. i was forced to exit the vehicle from the passenger side door. this is a recurring problem and seems to occur most often after rainfall or a car wash. this is a serious safety concern in the event of a collision, car fire or water crash or other emergency that could potentially be fatal and should be recalled to protect people from being trapped in their vehicles. it is also notable that consumer reports has listed "locks and latches" as a common problem area for a 2009 silverado. i contacted a chevrolet dealership and they refused fully cover the repair cost, which was well over $250 and they stated that the "door lock actuator was defective". the corporate gm phone call center was not helpful and told me it would not be fully covered because my vehicle was just out of bumper to bumper warranty. i believe this should be recalled to protect consumers.

Reported in: NORTH TONAWANDA NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEC14C99Z

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

driving down highway, check engine light pops up, tractions control indicator light, along with digital display saying several things. such as, engine reduced power, service traction control soon..........pulled over, had a very rough idle. made it to parts store and have the truck scanned. turns out it need the throttle positioning sensor needs replaced. had them clear the code, drove few more miles and all happens again.

Reported in: LEBANON MO || Crash: N || VIN #:

ENGINE

driving down highway, check engine light pops up, tractions control indicator light, along with digital display saying several things. such as, engine reduced power, service traction control soon..........pulled over, had a very rough idle. made it to parts store and have the truck scanned. turns out it need the throttle positioning sensor needs replaced. had them clear the code, drove few more miles and all happens again.

Reported in: LEBANON MO || Crash: N || VIN #:

SERVICE BRAKES

driving down highway, check engine light pops up, tractions control indicator light, along with digital display saying several things. such as, engine reduced power, service traction control soon..........pulled over, had a very rough idle. made it to parts store and have the truck scanned. turns out it need the throttle positioning sensor needs replaced. had them clear the code, drove few more miles and all happens again.

Reported in: LEBANON MO || Crash: N || VIN #:

STRUCTURE:BODY

dashboard is cracked in several places, from airbags to windshield, and in front of instrument cluster. all on top of dash. it is crumbling and i fear for my safety if i am in a collision.

Reported in: DENHAM SPRINGS LA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEC23J09G

AIR BAGS

dashboard is cracked in several places, from airbags to windshield, and in front of instrument cluster. all on top of dash. it is crumbling and i fear for my safety if i am in a collision.

Reported in: DENHAM SPRINGS LA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEC23J09G

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

after hearing about the recalls on chevrolet cars about the ignition i had to tell you that the same thing happened to my truck. there was a sudden jarring & the truck shut down & would not start back up.

Reported in: PRINCETON TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEC14C49Z

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

truck comes to scretching haltwith motor running but wont go, door locks and all gagues going up and down a 100 mile an hour. sometimes everything dead and all of a sudden it comes back on. air comes and goes. all lights flash. those uprandom codes. no warning its going to happen. radio will start playing very load cant shut off. when it does this it sometimes lunges forward aboit twenty feet and may run fine or do it again. went to dealer truck stayed 2 months. said they fixed. few months later started again, next dealer said they couldnt find anything. contacted gm on both incidents. nothing happened.

Reported in: WOODWARD OK || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEK233X9G

STEERING

truck comes to scretching haltwith motor running but wont go, door locks and all gagues going up and down a 100 mile an hour. sometimes everything dead and all of a sudden it comes back on. air comes and goes. all lights flash. those uprandom codes. no warning its going to happen. radio will start playing very load cant shut off. when it does this it sometimes lunges forward aboit twenty feet and may run fine or do it again. went to dealer truck stayed 2 months. said they fixed. few months later started again, next dealer said they couldnt find anything. contacted gm on both incidents. nothing happened.

Reported in: WOODWARD OK || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEK233X9G

POWER TRAIN

truck comes to scretching haltwith motor running but wont go, door locks and all gagues going up and down a 100 mile an hour. sometimes everything dead and all of a sudden it comes back on. air comes and goes. all lights flash. those uprandom codes. no warning its going to happen. radio will start playing very load cant shut off. when it does this it sometimes lunges forward aboit twenty feet and may run fine or do it again. went to dealer truck stayed 2 months. said they fixed. few months later started again, next dealer said they couldnt find anything. contacted gm on both incidents. nothing happened.

Reported in: WOODWARD OK || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEK233X9G

ENGINE

driving on i10 heading to houston, the entire truck completely shut down, and then turned back on, this again happened 02/2014....the whole truck shut down , thank god the wheels did not lock up or we would have been killed both times. it is at the dealers ...freedom chevy san antonio tx....something is bad on the truck...like playing with a light switch...the dash, every instrument shut off both times, now i am worried that it will happen again, and i can not afford another truck. i thought that the 1st time was just a fluke, but when it did it again, i know now something is not right and is very dangerous for me and my little girl...please reply if a human really reads this.

Reported in: SAN ANTONIO TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEC29J69Z

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

driving on i10 heading to houston, the entire truck completely shut down, and then turned back on, this again happened 02/2014....the whole truck shut down , thank god the wheels did not lock up or we would have been killed both times. it is at the dealers ...freedom chevy san antonio tx....something is bad on the truck...like playing with a light switch...the dash, every instrument shut off both times, now i am worried that it will happen again, and i can not afford another truck. i thought that the 1st time was just a fluke, but when it did it again, i know now something is not right and is very dangerous for me and my little girl...please reply if a human really reads this.

Reported in: SAN ANTONIO TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEC29J69Z

STEERING

driving on i10 heading to houston, the entire truck completely shut down, and then turned back on, this again happened 02/2014....the whole truck shut down , thank god the wheels did not lock up or we would have been killed both times. it is at the dealers ...freedom chevy san antonio tx....something is bad on the truck...like playing with a light switch...the dash, every instrument shut off both times, now i am worried that it will happen again, and i can not afford another truck. i thought that the 1st time was just a fluke, but when it did it again, i know now something is not right and is very dangerous for me and my little girl...please reply if a human really reads this.

Reported in: SAN ANTONIO TX || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEC29J69Z

AIR BAGS

i have a 2009 chevy silverado 1500. the service airbag light came on when i started the car. i noticed there was a recall on this exact thing in the year and make of my vehicle. my vin number was not included in the recall. after talking to a chevy representative they indicated the best way to solve this problem was to make a claim because it is the same problem seen in other 2009 chevy silverados, and my vin may be accepted through the claim. the vehicle was previously registered in missouri, a state that under the recall of some of these vehicles qualified.

Reported in: KEARNEY NE || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEK39J49Z

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

used the truck and parked the truck with no problems. then the truck sat for 1day and had heavy rain storms come through the area. then went to use the truck and when i went to start it up the truck would not turn over dead and had a strong smell plastic burning with the cargo light staying on .check the circuit board under the hood and found that some of the fuses had melted .no other problem with the truck until now.

Reported in: ISLIP TERRACE NY || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEK23C19G

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

several times while driving at various speeds the stability control warning light would flash, the door locks would cycle and the gauges would stop working. after a few seconds the warning light would go off and the truck would return to normal. i took the vehicle to the dealer and i was informed that both battery cables had high resistance and needed to be replaced. it is ridiculous that battery cables need to be replaced at 62000 miles. the service adviser made a comment that this was a common problem but it usually happens while the vehicle is still under warranty.

Reported in: BELLEVUE NE || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEK29099Z

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

several times while driving at various speeds the stability control warning light would flash, the door locks would cycle and the gauges would stop working. after a few seconds the warning light would go off and the truck would return to normal. i took the vehicle to the dealer and i was informed that both battery cables had high resistance and needed to be replaced. it is ridiculous that battery cables need to be replaced at 62000 miles. the service adviser made a comment that this was a common problem but it usually happens while the vehicle is still under warranty.

Reported in: BELLEVUE NE || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEK29099Z

SERVICE BRAKES

used the vehicle for vacation in 2011 as it was just 1 year old. very little brake ped left going down hill. going down hill and step on the brake and there was a bad vibration and growling noise from the brakes. i had it checked and the dealer ground the brake rotors. this never solved the problem, so they replaced the rotors. this solved the problem for the warped rotors for a while. now the problem started again with 23000 miles and only growls and vibrates when going down hill where you have to step down a little harder. had it checked out again and they say the rotors are warped again. i replaced the rotors and put new brake pads on and the problem is still there. i do not drive the vehicle hard and only about 4000 miles per year. whats causing the brake rotors to keep warping.

Reported in: EAST WENATCHEE WA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEK19089Z

SERVICE BRAKES

extreme chattering of the rear brakes upon application was observed by the owner/driver, including lock-up of the rear wheels (even though abs equipped). the vehicle was taken to the autonation chevrolet superstition springs dealership (6330 e. superstition springs blvd, mesa, arizona 85206) for inspection and repair (selling dealer). the dealership informed the owner that both rear brake slave cylinders had failed and leaked hydraulic fluid onto the linings. this leakage had caused the sticking of the linings to the brake drums and resulting chattering/lockup of the brakes. post repair, there have been no further issues in the last 3000 miles of use. the repair was at the expense of the customer. as this occurred at 36094 miles and four years of service in residential use, i consider this a product failure due to some form of manufacturing and/or installation defect with the brake slave cylinders. in 40+ years of automobile ownership of many brands with mileages into the 140k+ range, i have never had a slave cylinder failure, nor have i ever heard of a dual failure. this was the same comment by the service technician at the dealer. please investigate, or at a minimum, add this to your watch list database. i reviewed the nshta's website list of defects, but found nothing regarding this type of incident. the fact that it was a dual component failure and could have resulted in an accident if hard braking had been required by the operator, the manufacturer should be made aware of the issue. i attempted to do so personally, but found the experience unsatisfactory.

Reported in: GILBERT AZ || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEC29C19Z

AIR BAGS

the problem; service air bag illuminates and shows up in the message center. went to chevrolet dealer and they tried to clear the code with the reader and no luck. they don't know where to start, it could be anything they said. i don't want to dump thousands of dollars to research a problem they don't know if they can cure. has anyone else experienced this issue? 2009 chevrolet 2500hd diesel.

Reported in: FOUNTAIN VALLEY CA || Crash: N || VIN #:

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

on three separate occasions the fuel gauge on my 2009 silverado read full, when it was actually near empty. the first time was driving through the desert on hwy 395 in california. the outside temperature was over 100 degrees. i knew i had driven too far for the gauge the be correct. there are very few gas stations on that road. the second time it happened was on the same road a year later driving through the desert. i finally realized the problem was the heat, when it happened at my home town in jamul, ca when it was over 100 degrees. the low fuel warning never came on and the gauge said full. i turned the truck on and off and it still said full. the gauge corrected after i added fuel. i inquired at the dealer if there were any recalls and they said there was not.

Reported in: JAMUL CA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCFC290197

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

while driving down the highway, heard a noise and then noticed the dash above the airbag had developed an obvious crack that is approximately 1 inch long. upon closer inspection of the dash, noticed that there is also a hairline crack in the dash above the airbag approximately 4 inches to the right of the first noticed crack.

Reported in: BELLE CHASSE LA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCEC29C09Z

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

key comes out of the ignition while truck is running

Reported in: PICTURE ROCKS PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCHK44K39E

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

key comes out of the ignition while truck is running

Reported in: PICTURE ROCKS PA || Crash: N || VIN #: 1GCHK44K39E

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

my chevy truck is a c1500.i also have a crack in the dash above my passenger side air bag on the dash.i noticed it when my truck only had 10,000 miles on it. it's not from the sun because my truck stays in the garage.it seems there are many of us that has this issue.

Reported in: LAKE CHARLES LA || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEC23029G

AIR BAGS

dash board cracked at passenger side airbag, concerned about safety of passenger if bag deploys improperly due to this compromised dash

Reported in: MESA AZ || Crash: N || VIN #: 3GCEC33J79G

AIR BAGS

tl- the contact was operating a 2009 chevrolet silverado 2500 hd. the contact stated that the company vehicle was stationary when a second vehicle crashed into the rear causing the vehicle to crash into the rear of a third vehicle that was ahead. during the crash the front end of the vehicle was severely damaged but the air bags did not deploy. the contact indicated that the display messaged indicated that the air bags had deployed. during the incident the driver and 3 passengers in the vehicle all suffered various head, back and neck injuries. a police report was taken at the scene. no further information was available. the failure mileage was 68,000.

Reported in: WARRIOR RUN PA || Crash: Y || VIN #: 1GCHC49KX9E